Six on Saturday: Keeping Busy

Busy Lizzies continue to amaze me every year with their flower power – those above have been flowering since the beginning of June and show no sign of stopping, despite a large degree of neglect by the gardener; however, a dose of frost would quickly send them packing.

Despite an acceptance that it is autumn and a gradual loss of leaves by some trees, with October remaining mild until this weekend, there is little in the way of colour change yet. The witch hazels are often the first to relent, and Wednesday’s post showed Hamamelis ‘Arnold Promise’ well into the process of colour change and leaf loss. H ‘Jelena’ never fails to disappoint in the autumn, and has just begun to turn, starting at the extremities:

I was well pleased yesterday to find my recent sowing of early sweet peas ‘Winter Sunshine’ was already paying dividends, with nearly half the seeds germinating in just over a week; sown in the greenhouse, they usually take a fortnight to germinate, so this was surprisingly quick and bodes well for next year’s early blooms:

I was equally pleased (but not surprised, as I had been checking periodically for a week or two), to find autumn flowering snowdrops emerging under the foliage of ferns in the entrance border. This one is Galanthus Reginaeolgae ‘Cambridge’, always the first of mine to appear (I couldn’t manage to get both scapes in focus!). It still seems strange to have snowdrops in bloom when there is so much else going on in the garden, but it’s an exciting foretaste of what’s to come a few months down the line!

Having shown a jar of tomatoes that I was fermenting recently, I did say I would provide some follow up, as it was all new to me. I was rather alarmed to find them covered in white mould, until a friend of mine knows better tells me it is a yeast called ‘kham’ and is fine; however, having not tasted fermented foods before, and seeing this mould that isn’t mould, I must confess to feeling a little reluctant to try the tomatoes. However, for the purposes of reporting back, I tried one and hmm, it tastes ‘fizzy’ perhaps? A curious taste, but not unpleasant – I will have to be braver!

Finally, I have been really excited this week because I have the stream running again! With dry and very warm weather forecast last weekend, I was determined to get to the point where the new liner was in place before we had the wet weather forecast for later. I have had the liner for over a month but have put the job off for much longer than that because it is not the most straightforward of tasks. However, the ‘hole’ was fully emptied and extended a little, the underlay cut and installed and the liner lifted into place. The reservoir was then filled, the pump connected and switched on and -whahay! – the stream was running! The job is far from complete though, as the rocks need to be replaced, which will be a very fiddly and difficult three dimensional jigsaw – but the hardest part was starting the job, and I have done that! It’s SO lovely to have the sound of running water again…

That’s my six for today’s Saturday meme, hosted by Jim of Garden Ruminations. Please visit his website for his own Saturday six and links to many others.

This entry was posted in Autumn, container & basket plants, Gardening, Gardens, projects, seasonal tasks, seed sowing, Six on Saturday, snowdrops. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Six on Saturday: Keeping Busy

  1. Rosie Amber says:

    Well done wit the stream. Hope the tomatoes become an acquired taste.

    • Cathy says:

      I have bee really smiley all week when walking past the stream! And I suppose I should say ‘And me too…’ regarding the tomatoes…🤣

  2. pbmgarden says:

    The sweet sound of running water, nicely done. I’m not sold on the tomatoes but am curious.

    • Cathy says:

      We need to get the flow right on the stream, but other than that it’s ready to have the rocks replaced. I suspect I won’t be repeating the fermented tomatoes trial…! 😁

  3. Pauline says:

    Your Busy Lizzie has certainly earned her space, looking good for so long. I think I would have ditched the tomatoes, no matter what anyone says!

  4. Going Batty in Wales says:

    I know that putting off of tricky jobs – so daunting until you start. I treid fermenting tomatoes and decided I was not keen on the taste but I offered some to a friend who loved them so gave her the jar!

    • Cathy says:

      I may do the same – or just compost them! Did you get the white yeast?

      • Going Batty in Wales says:

        Ni I didn’t and I have no idea why! But I have tried several times to start sourdough starter or keep one I have been given and every time I very quickly get something smelling like teenage boy’s socks so I think I have a rather weird selection of micro-organisms in my kitchen!

        • Cathy says:

          Good to hear about other people’s experiences. I have been OK with sourdough starter, although my now very elderly starter has been sitting in the fridge unused for a year or two, but I have some confidence that it could be revived… 🤞 I used James Morton’s Brilliant Bread for my starter and some of his recipes too

          • Going Batty in Wales says:

            I have given up on sourdough but regularly make my own bread with dried yeast

          • Cathy says:

            Sourdough does seem to be on the wane, doesn’t it? I used to make bread weekly but have got out of the habit and only do it occasionally now – but that needs to change!

  5. Yeah…I’m also not sold on fuzzy tomatoes… but congrats on the running water!!! And the sweet peas!

  6. Oh the first snowdrops of a new season is cause for celebration indeed Cathy! Good news on the sweet pea front. I was amazed to see signs of germination today from some of my sweet peas sown on the 10th October. Must be a record. May be the tomatoes will improve with time 🤞

    • Cathy says:

      I am pleased you have sweet pea germination too, Anna – but no autumn snowdrops yet? I need to move this clump of Cambridge over a bit, as it is now overshadowed by a fern which has belatedly put on growth

  7. tonytomeo says:

    Ew! I would be reluctant to try those tomatoes also. My sauerkraut got a similar ‘crud’, but I doubt that it could be the same, since cabbage is a very different type of vegetable. Tomato is one of the acid vegetables, that does not sustain the same sorts of . . . organisms.

  8. Cathy says:

    Oh, good news about the stream Cathy. I would also not be keen on the tomatoes, but I do keep hearing how fermented food is so good for us. We occasionally eat sauerkraut but I have to be in the mood! LOL! Witch hazel colour is fab here too. 😃

  9. Angela says:

    “Fizzy” is the most fascinating description I’ve heard in a while, and I’m admittedly very curious now! Shall have to look up some recipes to experiment with this winter. Do your sweet peas just stay in the greenhouse all winter?

    • Cathy says:

      I think I would rather have tried somebody else’s successful fermented veg before, to pepare me for what to expect… And yes, these sweet peas will stay in the greenhouse and be planted in the greenhouse border probably in January. They are designed to grow in low light levels but need to stay in the g/h and will be flowering before the end of April

  10. Rick says:

    I really like the persicarias because they are late in flower, have you tried Persicaria microcephala ‘Red Dragon’? It sprawls a bit but the foliage is very striking.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Rick, I really like persicaria too, and and must have a dozen or so different varieties, including Red Dragon – and shared cuttings of the latter with several blogging friends too!

Comments are closed.