Alternative Tuesday View

Some fellow garden bloggers choose to post a the view from one point in their garden every week on a Tuesday, not a meme I usually participate in and I would certainly not be posting a picture from this spot every week if I did! However, I am more than happy to be showing this picture of the gable wall of our extension because I have just completed repainting it, not that anyone other than the Golfer and myself would know as it is exactly the same shade of pink as before – well, perhaps it does look a bit fresher and there are a few evidential splashes of paint on the ground and a few less wisteria flower buds. Clambering up and down the scaffolding made for good exercise but the job was certainly much easier once my feet were back on the ground and I was not having to paint between/around/behind wisteria stems – and at least this priority wall has now been completed leaving the others to be done at our leisure, whatever that is.

A much more interesting and attractive Tuesday view might be of the clematis colonnade which is really beginning to make an impact, especially at this time of year. With 2 or 3 clematis on each post in theory there could be clematis in bloom for most months of the year, and it is the C alpina which are the early stars. There are buds on all eight of them, but those on the south facing side are more forward than the others. The highlight is ‘Constance’ on the second pillar from the right, but she is the old woman of the group at 7 or 8 whereas the others were planted a mere three years ago. On the far left ‘Pamela Jackman is a mass of buds, not yet open, whilst the paler Rosy Pagoda on the right requires a closer look to appreciate her attributes. Joining them for good measure is Clematis cirrhosa ‘Jingle Bells’ which, like ‘Freckles’, flowers when it chooses which is pretty much any time. All-in-all a most pleasurable stop on my daily rambles.

Lower picture, clockwise from top left: Jingle Bells, Constance, Rosy Pagoda, Pamela Jackman

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Alternative Tuesday View

  1. D > Really, these Clematis are in flower NOW?

    • Cathy says:

      Yup – but this is pretty normal for this type of clematis. They are gorgeous and so reliable and prolific once they have settled in

  2. I can really tell the difference with the paint job. It looks great. A lot of patient painting to get this job done. Your clematis bower is looking good. Beautiful blooms. I am happy to have leaves on my clematis. It won’t be long though and we will have some blooms too.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Lisa – I am not sure how patiently the painting was done, just diligently! It was really ‘thick’ (it provides 15 years protection for walls) so not very easy to brush on. Lots more walls to do, but at least we have made a start 😉 These clematis are real stars of the early spring garden, aren’t they? Hope you are not waiting too long for yours

  3. A wonderful post! The clematis flowers are pretty — all of them; your wisteria vine against the wall must be delightful in bloom (and given my history with wisteria, the fact there are flower buds is much to be praised), and your wall is pink, with green and white trim. The childhood home that I loved, was pink with green trim. So your post is a gift to me today, Cathy!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cynthia – how nice that it brought back memories for you. I used to drive past a house with a pretty garden on my way to and from work a few years ago and one day I found it had been painted pink – and I knew immediately I wanted to paint ours pink! It makes the house easy to recognise, if nothing else, and I really like the fact that it is ‘different’

  4. johnvic8 says:

    I do like your collonade. Those clematis are just lovely.

  5. Jess T. says:

    I’ve always wanted to meet someone with a pink house!

  6. Christina says:

    Well done getting the painting done before the wisteria blooms, I realise I should treat the pergola beams next winter! The Clematis are all lovely, I have always likes the Alpinas as a group, such lovely colours and early in the year.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – there were so few days over winter when it would have been mild enough to begin painting. Wood preservative may be OK at lower temperatures – but it’s the motivation that’s needed too! Yes, the alpinas are so obliging – generous with their blooms and not requiring pruning either

  7. G.F. says:

    clematis colonnade !!!!!
    I want one. Now. Today 🙂
    How ab fab. Even when they are not inflower this looks so inviting and mysterious. What a gorgeous feature and so beautifully executed, with the cobbles and the trellis blocks.

    • Cathy says:

      It was a good excuse to have a lot of clematis and much of this feature was created by recycling elements from elsewhere in the garden, which is always a good thing. The clematis are not all fully established yet and some pillars work better than others in terms of the combination of clematis. I have been trying to establish a carpet of different geranium underneath but the soil is fairly dry and doesn’t suit some of them so I tried to step up the watering last year which should benefit the clematis too.

  8. Brian Skeys says:

    You must be pleased to get the wall painted. The spring flowering clematis are so delicately beautiful.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh I am, Brian. It took about 6 hours altogether but wasn’t as daunting as it might have been, especially with having the scaffolding to work from

  9. Anna says:

    Job well done Cathy! ‘Constance’ is a striking colour and is really dripping profusely now. Your post reminds me that my only alpina has sadly bit the dust so a replacement is in order and maybe some friends for company too.

    • Cathy says:

      I love to see the alpinas, Anna, and so far they have been doing better than most of my later clematis, although I am adding some more vitcella ones which have a long flowering season so once they settle in they should prove pretty useful too

  10. Wall painting ” at our leisure” hmm Cathy I think perhaps painting on this scale is never associated with leisure, certainly not when scaffold is involved! Your clematis are absolutely gorgeous, they look very happy rambling around your garden pergola.

    • Cathy says:

      It was a tongue in cheek comment, Dorris, although apart front the front gable (which is much higher) the rest of the house will seem a doddle

  11. rickii says:

    Just getting into Clematis. Now I want a collonade!

Comments are closed.