No Dragons

IMG_7248There be dragons
A friend feared,
Contemplating retirement;
I, however,
Had fewer fears
And ventured
Into the unknown,
The wide open space
Inviting me,
Coaxing me,
To step
Into the void.
Eyes closed,
I jumped –
And immediately
Was lighter,
Lifted by unseen hands
Into another dimension –
Not a void at all
But layer
Upon layer
Of life.

I did not participate in last week’s haiku and photo challenges because of my impending floral activities so was looking forward to new words to tackle this week. However, Ronovan’s Haiku Challenge words ‘dragon‘ and ‘invite‘ and Sandra of Wild Daffodil’s photo challenge word ‘layer‘ were just not willing to be contained in seventeen syllables and quickly built up like layers of bricks into the poem above. The photo of the wall (supporting rambling rose ‘Snow Goose’) was an afterthought – but in hindsight I realise that life is indeed rather like a brick wall, built of interconnecting facets, each layer adding more depth to what has already been built and making a structure which, if laid on a strong foundation, will stand firm in stormy weather. For me, retirement has added many further layers to my wall of life – mostly in fancy brickwork too – and there is definitely no sign of any dragons…

Thank you to both Ronovan and Sandra for throwing down the weekly gauntlet and also to Sandra’s young protégé Miss E who provided Ronovan with his challenge words this week.

This entry was posted in Gardens, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to No Dragons

  1. I love the way you picked up those words and ran with them, creating a tip top meaningful poem – beautiful. Sage words on the ‘meaning of life’. xx

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sandra – I think I knew along it would go this way as I know several people for whom retirement is a big fear but I also recognise that not everyone will be as fulfilled as I am

  2. Beautiful poem. You did very well with the prompt words this week. Nice picture too. 🙂

  3. Cathy says:

    Lovely words, and a very apt comparison to a wall, which can seem foreboding or like a barrier to some, and simply layers of single bricks to others.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy and, thinking about what you said, the laying of the bricks in both a wall and life will of course be seen differently by each of us…and thus the analogy continues…

  4. AnnetteM says:

    I agree entirely about retirement – it is wonderful. Just got to get the Traveller to join me now.

    • Cathy says:

      Here, the Golfer got there first, but he wasn’t looking forward to it in the first instance – no regrets now though!

      • AnnetteM says:

        The Traveller did retire from his main work, but then started a business with a few others. He is going to do one more year – or so he says.

  5. Janice says:

    Glad you allowed this poem to emerge. Letting go of work routine, identity, and pay is a dragon for many people.

  6. Christina says:

    Love these words and think all are true and not just put in to make the poem! Very well done – I’m in awe!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – at the time, most of my colleagues would have said they can hardly wait for retirement, which is why this comment took me surprise and made me look at things differently

  7. Denis1950 says:

    Beautiful poem Cathy and soon the wall will be covered by new growth

  8. So clever Cathy.

  9. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round-Up: Layer | Wild Daffodil

  10. Pingback: Garden of the Year Competition | My Aberdeen Garden

Comments are closed.