Vintage Knots

IMG_6596For some time I have been promising Sandra of Wild Daffodil that I will join her in writing a haiku (5-7-5 syllable poem) for Ronovan Writes’ weekly challenge, so when she and a group of fellow bloggers introduced a weekly photo challenge that she linked with her haiku I felt the gauntlet had well and truly been thrown down. Nearly there last week with the haiku challenge words of  ‘crystal’ and ‘hope’, I struggled to bring in the photo challenge ‘happy’ and thus failed…

For this week’s ‘vintage’ photo Sandra uses some lovely vintage fabric, making me realise that the double challenge of synchronising haiku and photo words was more of a triple challenge as mine would need  to sit comfortably within the ethos of my blog, a blog about plants and gardens and nurturing my soul amongst them. Dorris had a similar thought when she posted her ‘vintage’ photo earlier today.

My first effort is therefore rather tangled, with the vintage garden roller added as an afterthought and not linked to the haiku. The roller was an auction lot from several years ago that no-one else wanted and which has sat patiently in the garden ever since, the handle tied together with non-vintage insulating tape. Being extraordinarily heavy it would take a lot of muscle power to use it for its original purpose but I have occasionally moved it a little way around the paved area when I needed to access the roses and clematis growing through it. This is my first entry for the photo challenge, Sandra!

In the haiku I was intending to show that classic favourite plants will stand the test of time and always be around, despite the freshness and novelty of new plants. If I made it a 4-fold challenge and linked it to my Vase on Monday I could of course have photographed a fresh new bloom in a vintage vase, but I shall pass on that exciting opportunity and just re-post a photograph of the Poet’s Wife, a new rose which will in time become a vintage classic as she is so beautiful. Untangling the knots, here at last is my first entry to Ronovan’s haiku challenge, the challenge words being ‘style’ and ‘fresh’:

IMG_6552Fresh designs flaunted
On the seasonal catwalk
Vintage style endures

Fresh designs flaunted on the seasonal catwalk
On the seasonal catwalk vintage style endures

 

This entry was posted in Gardens, haiku, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Vintage Knots

  1. Oh my goodness! You have no idea how happy this post is making me feel!!!!! What a beautiful way to link the challenges. Your haiku can relate to so many things, so many situations. It was Melissa of Aran Artisan who first suggested to me to combine the two challenges and I too started by creating separate haiku and photos, in the same post, for a few weeks and then suddenly they seemed to fall in step with each other – not quite sure how that happened, it just did. Anyway I’m delighted you are with us and excited that there are now three of the Vase on Monday Posse together in the Photo Challenge!!!! I’m dancing round my VASE in delight!!!!! Happy days! ❤

    • Cathy says:

      You are easily pleased 😉 Hopefully haiku and photos will slot into place together more easily in future – would make it easier if we knew haiku words in advance, or perhaps they are mentioned at the end of the round up…?

  2. I love haiku. I will have to follow this to see what happens. I might get brave enough to join in on the fun.

  3. How lovely both, flower and haiku!

  4. rickii says:

    Your talents keep expanding.

  5. Renee says:

    How wonderful and creative! I can’t wait to see what you come up with in future weeks!

  6. Cathy, thanks so much for getting the word out about this challenge. I think I will enjoy doing this. Love your photo here. Interesting object. I like your haiku too. I also did it literally this time. It seemed to fit.

  7. Chloris says:

    Well done on your lovely haiku. The Pianist and I make up haikus on long car journeys .Sometimes we make up limericks too, but they are not suitable for sharing.

    • Cathy says:

      That would be better than Eddie Stobart spotting…. Not sure what the Golfer would think about haikus although when I remember what they are called we sometimes indulge in wordplay of the ‘ “I’ll put this one in a gilded frame” said the painter, artfully’ sort – Tom something or others they are called, named after a journalist who was always using them. I am sure you will know what I mean… 😉

  8. The garden image and your haikus is such a perfect way to start the day.

  9. Superb. You played both the prompts well

  10. Roz Hill says:

    Very creative link to photo and Haiku❤️

  11. Ronovan says:

    Loved it. I always like seeing interesting photography and stories attached along with the Haiku. It makes no difference to me if the Haiku is down the list of focus. I like learning. 🙂

  12. Pingback: RonovanWrites 80th #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Review | ronovanwrites

  13. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Vintage Review | Wild Daffodil

  14. Judy Martin says:

    What a beautiful rose, and the haiku too 🙂

  15. Olga says:

    Love your haiku. Nicely written. I’m a fan of creative spirits who use original photography to enhance their poetry. Welcome to our haiku community.

  16. Beautiful haiku and photos.

Comments are closed.