In a Vase on Monday: Oh Sno’ Simple

IMG_6577Like much of the UK we have now seen some snow – only a couple of inches here at the most and now largely gone – starting on Saturday evening and resulting in a blindingly bright Sunday morning. My vases are prepared on Sunday and scheduled to post on Monday morning so the necessary picking and photographing were kept brief!

IMG_6566

As there were further blooms on the Paperwhite narcissi I used a few weeks ago these were my first port of call for this vase. Planting in mid October and keeping them in the greenhouse until just after Christmas when they were brought into the house has certainly proved a more manageable result than planting at 2 week intervals over a period of 3 months – this way will have provided a small handful of blooms every week for a month unlike last year’s excesses. Keeping the vase simple the only additional material was a single branched stem of Cornus sanguinea ‘Midwinter Fire’ and 2 curly stems of twisted hazel Corylus avellana ‘Contorta’.

InaVase.vaseWhen removing Christmas bits and pieces after Twelfth Night I was reminded of the beautiful Caithness Glass vases on the mantelpiece from the Ebony ‘art nouveau’ range which I bought around 15-20 years ago directly from the factory shop that was in Oban at the time. They came in various sizes and shapes (and a red ‘lacquer’ version) and although on first glance they look as they if are pottery when you pick them up you can clearly see from the mouth that they are indeed glass. I find them very tactile and the black interior and cream exterior with stylised bud pattern and black speckled base is most appealing – and yet I had all but forgotten their existence as potential vases for Monday! The photo shows the rim of the vase more closely on the left and on the right a better idea of the overall pattern on one of the others in the collection. The one I used is about 7″ or 18cm tall and is probably the smallest of the group. The only prop for today is the snow!

I wonder what weather other Monday vase-fillers will be facing…? Hearing from bloggers in different parts of the globe about their weather and seasons and different blooms is one of the joys of the meme, so do share it all with us as well as your vases by posting links to and from this post as usual. It is good to know that even those who have been unable to fill their own vases for whatever reason still get pleasure from seeing everybody else’s – so thank you to everyone for visiting, with or without a vase.

IMG_6581

 

 

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Oh Sno’ Simple

  1. Oh wow this was a treat to see your garden in snow too! We have another big storm coming off one of our Great Lakes that is NW so we are battening down the hatches here. I love the simple paperwhites with a bit of red against the snow. Mine were just planted so I could have blooms for sometime in February and March. The vase is perfect too with its dark interior.

    I went out to the meadow for my vase, as that is the area I am highlighting this week. Hope you enjoy it Cathy!

    http://gardenseyeview.com/2016/01/18/stuck-foot-january-2016/

    • Cathy says:

      The snow had gone here before the day was out, so nothing like the ‘big storm’ that you are anticipating. I suppose for you it is all relative as you had months of snow last year…or does it not seem that way?

      • It is the norm for us Cathy….months of snow although this year those months may be only a few….but driving in it, that never is a favorite thing. So I am glad I now usually have a choice not to drive when we get a big storm. We are supposed to get another foot or more which is also normal for a lake effect snow storm.

  2. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – fun with red |

  3. Christina says:

    That looks quite a lot of snow to me, I’m glad it has mostly gone now. No snow here but very cold, I’m glad I picked my Iris, but I also found some other treats to surprise you. The Paperwhites are, as always, lovely and perfect with the Cornus stem. My post is here: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-monday-fun-with-red/

    • Cathy says:

      Even though it was a really simple vase I like it a lot – the cornus stems are so useful at this time of year, aren’t they? I noticed from the email alert I had that you have something red in your vase – what could it be…?

  4. Hannah says:

    We had one brief snowfall as well but now back to our usual rain and warmer temperatures. I’m having to rely on my houseplants for my blooms today. I admire your paperwhites and red bark, Cathy, I can’t claim any forced bulbs but some Alliums that aren’t coming up. The Caithness glass vases with black interiors are so lovely, it would be fascinating to see how they are made.

  5. Annette says:

    Beautiful arrangement and I love the fact you shot in the snowy garden, Cathy. I’m waiting for my Paperwhites to flower, planted them a bit late but no harm. Here’s my humble contribution to your meme: https://personaleden.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-a-monday-simplicity/ Have a fab week 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – I have some other varieties of narcissus that I was VERY late planting too! Glad you have gone for simplicity too… ps hope you missed my original typo when I clicked on the wrong comment and thought I was replying to someone else!

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Such an interesting post Cathy. The paperwhites are gorgeous in the Caithness vase and your garden looks lovely all covered in snow.
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-monday-wintertide-pair/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – it’s always exciting to see and walk in the garden when it’s covered in pristine snow, particularly as it is becoming rarer.

  7. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday | acoastalplot

  8. Sam says:

    OOh, snow! How lovely. We’ve not had any but it is flipping cold. My offering today is: https://acoastalplot.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-monday-2/
    Love these paperwhites and the Cornus, and your vases.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I was excited to see it snowing and there was more on the ground in the morning than I expected 🙂 Not quite as flippinng cold here today…

  9. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: A Study in Green | Words and Herbs

  10. Cathy says:

    The Paperwhites are a treasure indeed Cathy, and look lovely in the snow. In fact your garden looks very pretty altogether in its white dress! We have got snow too, not much but it is hanging around and is icy cold today. But I have still managed to post today! Here’s the link: https://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-study-in-green/
    Many thanks!

  11. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Such a nice surprise to see a vase with narcissi at this time of the year! We have been under heavy snow for a few days (I have posted some photos on my blog) and it has been quite a challenge to arrange a vase today, but in the end I have made it, here it is: http://timpingradina.blogspot.ro/2016/01/in-vase-on-monday-knitted-winter-one.html

  12. Noelle says:

    How brave of you to go out and photograph in the snow…it have given you some great light. The arrangement vase and flowers included is really beautiful. I stayed inside yesterday , and ventured today out to see what was left after the layer of snow melted, and came up with a small and dainty vase: http://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2016/01/in-vase-on-monday-small-can-be-beautiful.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Noelle. I love the brightness that the snow gives when it first falls – it’s such a rarity and it would have been a shame not to have it as the backdrop. Off to see your small and dainty vase now…

  13. Pingback: Vase on Monday: Honeysuckle?! | Wild Daffodil

  14. No snow here just persistent rain. Those vases are truly beautiful. I like the white narcissi the best – wonderful scent. Here’s my post – another unseasonal surprise: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/vase-on-monday-honeysuckle/

  15. Wow, a white out! The snow and the vase are lovely and so pristine. My favorite thing about snow is the quiet.
    Isn’t it wonderful to find something you forgot about and really enjoy, the simplicity of the vase is what makes it beautiful.
    Here is my vase, from South Florida. https://theshrubqueen.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-wildflower-blues

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, the quiet is something else. I could tell before I got out of bed on Sunday morning that there would be a layer of snow – by the quietness.

  16. Seeing snow in your garden makes it feel like we don’t live halfway around the world from each other. But it was a shock to see that image appear on the computer screen. Beautiful vase and you are right that one would not think it was glass just looking at it from afar. I am still making displays but there’s nothing much in the garden to use except evergreens which seem a bit boring after the holidays. We have a little snow cover — much less than usual at this point in the season — and it is much colder than usual as well. Temp was -10 degrees F. when we got up around 7 a.m. (-22.77 C.). My “vase” is here: http://eachlittleworld.typepad.com/each_little_world/2016/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-red-and-the-black.html

    • Cathy says:

      -22.77 C…? My goodness, that is cold! Are houses in your locailty really well insulated to keep the heat in if this is the norm for your winters? Our thin layer was nothing in comparison and had gone before the day was out – but just as you saw our garden on your computer screen it was a shock to see it in real life here, even though it had started snowing before we went to bed. We just don’t see it very often these days – as a child I remember 2 or 3 months of snow every winter… It must make you look at evergreens in a different way knowing you want to put a vase together most weeks whatever the weather

  17. We had a bit of snow here too yesterday — enough to cover the grass but still leave some tufts showing through. It’s very cold today (23F as I type this at almost 10:30 am and not likely to get any warmer) with a brisk wind that makes it feel like only 9F! Luckily I have a new long winter coat that will get its first trial run when I do errands a bit later.

  18. Oh those vases, they are just gorgeous! Thank you for including the second photo so we could better see the detail at the bottom. Also – the paperwhites are the perfect compliment!

    In my post today I mentioned how much I appreciate this meme, but I wanted to make sure I thank you here too. I have always enjoyed bringing cuttings from my garden inside the house but your weekly meme has given me a reason to up my game, thank you so much!

    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/01/in-vase-on-monday-something-new-to.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments Loree – I had no idea that it would prove so popular when I began posting my vases, but it has certainly achieved what I hoped it would: encouraging me to pick regularly from my garden and bring my pickings inside. It just shows we all needed that bit of encouragement and the incentive of sharing it with others has really empowered us all.

  19. Brian Skeys says:

    We haven’t had any snow here, I think I perfer to see it on someone else’s garden!

  20. Kris P says:

    It’s a lovely vase, Cathy. Snow always looks so pretty in pictures but I imagine the challenge of dealing with it is something else. I also added some Narcissus to my vase this week but mine was growing outside so I guess that’s another indication of just how different our two climates are. We think it’s cold here but clearly we don’t know COLD! Here’s my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/01/in-vase-on-monday-shy-grevillea.html

    • Cathy says:

      Low single figure C temperatures are probably the norm for January here – but there have been some daffodils blooming outside in parts of the UK and I have a few in bud which I have never had at this time of year before. I wouldn’t fancy months of snow although that’s we had as children – seemed like fun then until your hands and feet got wet and then you really felt the cold!

  21. Peter/Outlaw says:

    What interesting and beautiful vases! Your arrangement is simple but elegant and your snow prop is magnificent. Our weather on Sunday was mostly overcast with a few showers. This Monday morning has begun with a little sun streaming through the windows but looking up, the gray clouds seem to be winning the battle. I’ve the day off and hope to get even more of the Christmas decorations put away. However, that sun is tempting me to go outside. My vase is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/01/in-vase-on-monady.html/ Thanks so much for hosting this fun meme!

  22. I love your thoughtful staging for your weekly photo, really gorgeous.

  23. Cath says:

    What a beautiful vase, and the Paperwhites must smell like Spring. I love how you have picked up the yellow centers of the flowers with the vase colour and the limited colour palette. I’ve gone in the opposite direction with my vases this week: http://absentgardener.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-monday-lots-of-flowers/

  24. Pingback: Monday Flowers – The Herald’s of Spring – Peonies & Posies

  25. Julie says:

    Lovely to see your garden under a blanket of snow Cathy – we did have snow but it has all melted now so I am back to muddy dogs again! Your Paperwhites are beautiful!!

    My flowers this week are at: http://peoniesandposies.com/2016/01/18/monday-flowers-heralds-of-spring/.

    • Cathy says:

      The photographs were taken on Sunday Julie and all our snow had gone before Monday too! No muddy dogs here though, just a few muddy chicken feet…

  26. Pingback: in a vase | sprig to twig

  27. rickii says:

    Nothing stops you…an inspiration to us all. Your vase is so beautiful it hardly needs flowers…but I never object to gilding the lily.
    Herre’s my humble little offering: http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5185

  28. johnvic8 says:

    Very special. We had a fluggy yesterday morning, but by afternoon a lovely sunny day.
    https://johnsviccellio.wordpress.com/2016/01/18/in-a-vase-on-monday-rubra/

  29. Those Paperwhites look wonderful with the full snow background. Snow here too. No offerings this week but still enjoying reading everyone elses.

  30. Elizabeth says:

    I love the simplicity of your arrangement today, Cathy. The paperwhites look exquisite in the snow. The hazel and cornus the perfect accompaniments. I’ve never seen Caithness glass vases like yours before, they are really very different and rather lovely. My offering this week is quite different – http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2016/01/in-vase-on-monday-signs-of-spring.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Elizabeth – in a way it was a bit of a cop out as it didn’t involve much thought, but in retrospect I am more than happy with its simplicity. I had to Google to remind myself what this range of Caithness Glass was called!

  31. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – violas, primula and pelagoniums in the snow | Views from my garden bench

  32. Renee says:

    Very nice! And a great use of your greenhouse to get such snow white blooms to go with your snowy garden.

    Our weather was dry and ~50 deg F. No snow or rain (sadly!)

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Renee – I have been rather late planting most of my indoor bulbs, but at least I have got them to look forward to! I wonder what your average annual rainfall is…? In our part of the UK Midlands it is probably about 27 or 28 inches or so.

  33. Bec says:

    The paper whites are great and I love the little vase – spring is definitely on it’s way. – . You had a lot more snow than me here in Salford. Here’s my vase with flowers that shouldn’t really be here. Have a lovely week love bec xx
    https://viewsfrommygardenbench.wordpress.com/2016/01/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-violas-primula-and-pelagoniums-in-the-snow/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Bec – the snow was very variable here, 3-4 inches a few miles in one direction and almost nothing a mile in the other direction. Unexpected blooms are even more welcome, aren’t they?

  34. Amy says:

    Lovely combination with the paperwhites and the very woody stems! I put my paperwhite bulbs in the ground last autumn as they should be a good choice where there is little freezing weather; the leaves are above ground, but I can’t say much more! Yours look just wonderful with the snow all around 🙂 And the vase is beautiful – will hope to see more of it 😉
    Definitely a different sort of season is supplying my vase this week: http://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2016/01/monday-vase-very-desert.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Amy – they all chose themselves really! It has been bitterly cold all day here and a blast of desert air would be most welcome to warm things up a bit!

Something to say after reading this?

