In a Vase on Monday: Lace and Fineness

lace&finenessAs in recent weeks, in this period of floral abundance, the decision on what to include in today’s vase was made some days ago although there was still the choice of rose to make this morning. The title was there as well, a more subtle ‘earworm’* than some, but I did make a pencilled note in case it disappeared from my head as quickly as it arrived.

IMG_2227So, today’s ‘ageless, timeless’ vase contains the simple beauty and elegance of Rose ‘Zéphirine Drouhin’ and a single head of Hydrangea petiolaris, the climbing hydrangea. I had spotted the latter only last week as a potential contender for future vases, both in flower as it is now and the spent dry flowerheads for winter vases. The view from above, shown in the first picture, shows how pretty and lacey the flower is. As for the roses, I made a beeline for these just because of the colour, but then wondered if I should have gone for the deep red ‘Guinée’ instead – or a mixture of the two – but I think I have made the right decision. But then how many? In bud or in full bloom? This is something I will learn for future vases, how to get the balance right or at least satisfactory.

IMG_2220The flowers were placed in a small lead crystal bowl, a car boot bargain that had a deep scratch on one side but which is irrelevant when it is being used like this, and were held in place with a pin holder or ‘frog’ with sphagnum moss packed around the stems to hide the metal holder. I believe the mat is Spanish lace, given to me many years ago, and the other props are blue lace agate crystals which fortuitously tie in nicely with the blue carpet tiles on the treads of our stairs where the vase was photographed, another position which gets the light at this time of day, although as I write this the sky has darkened and rain is beckoning.

I think this vase has achieved the brief I had in mind and I shall enjoy looking at it during the week, although I shall not be stepping over it every time I go upstairs (too may ‘I’s in that sentence – sorry!). The allium in last week’s vase still looks fresh and the geranium lasted almost a week too, but the others were gradually removed over the week – a good advertisement for cutting the former two though. If you would like to join in this increasingly popular meme and get the same buzz as those of us who already fill a vase on Monday, then please do, either regularly or occasionally. The idea is that it will be something found in our own gardens or thereabouts, and thinking out of the box is actively encouraged! Just post as usual, with a link to this post and a link back to yours from a comment on this post – that we way we can all share, encourage and inspire each other. Hurrah! It’s Monday!

* Rod Stewart ‘You’re in My Heart’

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Lace and Fineness

  1. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday: A Bunch of Sunshine | Words and Herbs

  2. Cathy says:

    The hydrangea flower reminds me of elderflower, which is just opening here, and it goes so well with the lace mat. Very elegant! Here’s my post for this week: http://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-bunch-of-sunshine/
    Thanks Cathy!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I have realised that too and have noticed elderflower in a nearby hedge, so will investigate it’s qualities as well. Look forward to seeing your bunch of sunshine!

  3. Chloris says:

    And there is your lovely Zephirine Drouhin, isn’t she lovely? A rose without thorns. It goes beautifully with the Hydrangea. I love it. It really does look just like lace.I can’t imagine why I don’t grow it.
    I am joining in with your lovely meme today, Cathy. here is my link.
    thebloominggarden.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-ginger/

  4. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – Original pickings | Duver Diary

  5. jenhumm116 says:

    Hi Cathy – really interesting to use of the lacy Hydrangea petiolaris (and cleverly matched with the mat). I have the same hydrangea, but it’s not very old and don’t actually think it’s flowered yet. I’ll definitely remember it as potential cutting material now, And such a beautiful rose….

    Here’s my effort for today (also ‘rosy’) and thanks again for hosting

    In a vase on Monday – Original pickings

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks ‘Jenhumm’ (sorry, don’t know your name yet…) – I am not sure how long the hydrangea will last in a vase so will need to monitor that. I am growing to like to like the plant now I realise how pretty the flowers are – I had almost been regretting putting it in. Look forward to seeing what roses you have used 🙂

  6. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Summer indoors | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  7. Christina says:

    Roses and the lace of the hydrangea are perfect together and the colour of the rose is good on its own I think. Here’s my link: http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-summer-indoors/

  8. johnvic8 says:

    Greetings, Cathy. I am delighted to join your meme with today’s gleanings from my garden.
    http://johnsviccellio.wordpress.com

    • Cathy says:

      Hi John – I mislaid your comment somehow so apologies for not replying sooner. I look forward to popping over and seeing your gleanings – oh, and I have added http:// to your link so people can click on it and it should take them straight to your blog.

  9. Annette says:

    How graceful and elegant…worthy of a bride! 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – no brides in sight though, although you have just sown a seed as Younger Daughter and I were discussing a future wedding only yesterday….

  10. Kris P says:

    I love the color of that rose. Your composition was created with a song in mind while mine was governed by a waste management adage – surely that says something about each of us! Thanks, as always, for hosting, Cathy. Here’s a link to my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2014/06/in-vase-on-monday-rinse-recycle-reuse.html

    • Cathy says:

      Recycling – how wonderful! Just up my street so I am really curious, even if it is only plant material from last week’s vase. With this rose it always surprises me how many different shades of pink it gores through from first opening to maturity

  11. croftgarden says:

    This one is definitely “pretty in pink” and the lacey Hydrangea is so delicate.
    I have managed a contribution this week, a little quirky as usual – http://croftgarden.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-irises/

  12. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Lily of the Valley |

  13. I love the lacy hydrangea. I have never seen it before and it fits just perfectly with your roses and fancy vase. So delicate and lady like… is that what you are too?
    here is my first contribution!! Very simple:

    In a Vase on Monday: Lily of the Valley

  14. pbmgarden says:

    Lovely arrangement Cathy. Hope you’ll show us Guinée another time but today the color of Zéphirine Drouhin is perfect. I appreciate your hosting our vases. My contribution this week is http://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-cottage-garden-bouquet/
    Susie

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – and I will indeed show Guinée another time. It’s lovely to have those fragrant roses inside too!

  15. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – Bowl of Beauty & Duchess De Nemours | Peonies & Posies

  16. Julie says:

    How I love your rose Cathy – she is definitely on my wish list, as is your climbing hydrangea. I keep thinking about getting one but never quite get round to doing it – now that I have seen how lovely it oohs in a vase I really must get on with it. I think your crystal and lace looks perfect with this elegant arrangement!

    Better late than never with my contribution – you can find it at: http://peoniesandposies.com/2014/06/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-bowl-of-beauty-duchess-de-nemours/

    Thank you again for hosting this lovely meme Cathy.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thanks Julie – the hydrangea does have a mind of its own and will romp if it likes where it is, so think about where you might put it, but I have certainly grown to enjoy mine and yet I was once thinking of taking it out. Unfortunately I have had to replace the sprig I cut yesterday already althought the one I tried out during last week was fine for more than a few days so I must have damaged yesterday’s somehow. I wasn’t sure about doing ‘elegance’, but this is simple elegance which is fine!

  17. Anna says:

    “Ooh ooh ooh Miss Grace
    Satin and perfume and lace”
    – a most attractive arrangement Cathy.

  18. janeykate says:

    Please can i join In a vase Monday, I love the idea!
    Jane x

    • Cathy says:

      Of course you can, Jane. I wanted to get in the habit of picking for indoors, so suggesting that others joined in made sure that I stuck to my own personal challenge. There is certainly no pressure for bigger and better – it is essentially for your own pleasure.

  19. That’s a lovely combination Cathy, and the climbing hydrangea is a cracking plant for vases. I’ve been caught up in madness preparing for a big family get together that we are hosting, so failed to join in, but our guests are enjoying vases of phaecelia, which lasts for ages, as does astrantia. I will try aquilegia in one for Saturday’s guests, and some sambucus flowers, perfect, as my other umbles are either over or not yet flowering.

    • Cathy says:

      Hope you enjoy your weekend with your family, Janet – is it an anniversary or big birthday? How many family members will be there? Well done for your vases – great to be having occasions to put them together 🙂 You could always take some photos to show us…

  20. Pingback: In A Vase on Monday : Sweet Smelling Stocks | Retirement and beyond

  21. joanfrankham says:

    I love this challenge, here is mine for this week

    In A Vase on Monday : Sweet Smelling Stocks

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Joan – thanks for joining in again. Unfortunately you have linked to a post from a previous week so other people might not find your post from my blog. This week’s is ‘Fire in the Belly’. Off to have a look at your stocks now!

Comments are closed.