Art in the Garden

IMG_2191A few people have asked about the gallery fence shown in the background of a recent post and although an image of me has never appeared on this blog I think I might get away with the one below, as it was from a few years ago and I have changed considerably since then (less green…) and the Golfer has had a nose job….

IMG_2192The fence was constructed (out of pallets) as a kind of architectural full stop and cried out for something on it, which developed into the concept of a gallery fence. Now, I am no artist – the only time I was awarded more than 30% in an art exam was when we had to build a scale model, which I loved doing, and I have long since realised that there is a lot more to ‘art’ than painting and drawing. However, despite my limited painting skills, the pictures on the gallery fence worked well and add colour and interest to the garden throughout the year. Above is ‘Interior with Man and Woman’ (after Picasso), copied from a drawing by Elder Daughter (who is artistically inclined) and painted on exterior MDF with acrylic paints and then given three coats of varnish.

Below is ‘The Artist’s Garden’ (after Manet) an impressionist view of the garden prior to the most recent revamp, and below that is ‘Composition with Green, Purple and Pink’ (after Mondrian). We could all paint a Mondrian!

IMG_2193IMG_2194The paintings have survived a number of years outside in all weathers (certainly more than five) and are just one of a number of concepts I have used to supplement plants in the garden. There are also several quotations in different mediums like the one at the beginning of the post, simple sculptural ideas like the spider’s web, supports painted in bright colours, or quirky things from antique fairs or car boots (like the head, a deconstructed iron bed end or an urn with a huge hole in the back) looking out for which has become second nature. Vintage garden equipment is something else to be watched out for – all at bargain prices of course as not everyone wants an old mower or roller.

selfies1selfies2selfies3It’s just a matter of thinking out of the box – do try it, if you haven’t already done so because….

IMG_2190

 

This entry was posted in Art, Being Creative, Gardening, Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Art in the Garden

  1. Christina says:

    Fun, I’m glad you’re not so green anymore, could have been off putting!

  2. Annette says:

    How quirky, you make me laugh! I did spot your artwork the other day but forgot to ask about it. The portrait of you and the golfer is magical. I have some artwork coming up soon…watch out for it πŸ˜‰

  3. Chloris says:

    I like the idea of artwork in the garden.
    I had no idea that you looked like that. That’s just not how I imagined you. So green, and so, well to be frank; cross eyed. And your poor shoulder. Sorry, I hope I haven’ t hurt your feelings. I’ m sure you are much less green now.

  4. Thank you for sharing your gallery with us! I love to see these unusual additions to a garden. It’s what makes gardens so personal and unique. As for the “self portrait”, well, so glad you’ve changed, otherwise you’d have been instantly recognisable! πŸ˜‰ My attempts at art in the garden have been to re-use “objets trouves” in a decorative way. I’ve never attempted “original works”! I could try a Mondrian!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, objets trouves are a good source of ‘decoration’ in the garden – and sometimes the more unexpected the better! ps I am glad to have come out of the closet πŸ™‚

  5. croftgarden says:

    For once words fail me – you’ll have to make do with a smile.

  6. Kris P says:

    I’m glad you wrote about your garden art collection. I noticed it in one of your other posts and neglected to ask about it. It adds a note of fun to the garden and, as the oft-run advertisements say, that’s priceless.

  7. laflor5233 says:

    I love art in the garden, but mine is just stuff I buy, but maybe I can get inspired to do something original.

  8. I think I would have been a little shocked if you had turned up at the door looking that green Cathy, but the art wall is a wonderfully bonkers idea, it works really well. I admire your creativity, I’ve yet to get beyond the plants. Give me time… I’ve always fancied a wind sculpture having seen them in the US, and we do get a lot of wind here…

    • Cathy says:

      And would you have turned us away if I had arrived looking ‘that green’, Janet? Hmm, prejudices against little green people…. πŸ˜‰ There was a stunning ‘wind sculpture’ at the Hill House on the Clyde, although perhaps it was more of a perpetual motion thing – can’t quite remember, but I did take a photo with a view to trying to work out a simpler version. The downside is our garden is fairly sheltered from the wind 😦 but you would be OK I guess, with the wind blowing in off the sea

  9. Anna says:

    Oh what a fine couple you are Cathy …… from a distance πŸ™‚ I’ve enjoyed reading about how these masterpieces came about. What fun you must have had in creating them and they really add a unique touch to your garden.

  10. LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS, particularly the last quote!!

  11. Kay Wilson says:

    Hi Cathy, what a lovely haven you have! I have been following you from a distance, but took a closer look today and it is gorgeous, restful and so many other words I stumble over, like your garden, what a fun place to come back more often!!

Something to say after reading this?

