Six Seasonal Stars on Saturday

The garden is full of seasonal stars at the moment, so picking out just six was not easy – but let’s start with the most asked about plant on our garden open days, Clematis texensis ‘Princess Diana’ (above). Almost every plant in the garden is labelled, something I like to see when I visit a garden myself, but very few visitors seemed to take the trouble to look, preferring to ask the gardener or the dogsbody: fortunately, Princess Diana is one variety that the dogsbody/Golfer knows! Smothered in blooms, it deserved all the attention it got, and is possibly flowering better than ever before, despite the issues with several of my other clematis. This variety was the first clematis I actually sought out after seeing it performing so spectacularly in a garden more than 20 years ago; up till then, I had only bought whatever clematis were available at my local garden centre. The current plant, however, is a replacement for the original, which suffered when moved to the clematis colonnade.

There are some lovely combinations in the two bold borders, helping to create an overall degree of boldness of colour: Lychnis chalcedonica and Veronica ‘Marietta’ in one, and Veronica ‘First Love’ and Clematis ‘Arabella’ in the other. Veronicas and veronicastrum have become firm favourites of mine in the last year or two, appreciating them for their reliability and impact.

Also adding boldness to these borders are pots of Asiatic lilies in ‘hot’ colours. They may not have a fragrance, but these lilies, in at least their fifth year, continue to make a great display from early June and into July – this variety is ‘Yellow County’. After an initial onslaught from lily beetles at the tail end of the fritillary season, the lilies have remained largely beetle free, although admittedly I was pretty vigilant when they were in evidence. I bring the pots into the greenhouse over winter, more to protect the pots than the lilies, I suppose, and partially replenish or feed the compost before they go outside again in late spring. Note to self: order more bulbs for future seasons!

Not a plant that really stands out, but one that still makes a subtle impact, is the very underrated ornamental clover, Trifolium rubens. Tolerant of drought and poor soil, it is an easy perennial to grow from seed and flowers from June/July until September, especially if deadheaded. This one is ‘White Feathers’ but there is also a ‘red’ variety, which I also have, both grown from seed. As you can see from the centaurea in the picture, the flower heads are much bigger than wild clover.

Finally, a real star in its own right, and surprising me by seemingly appearing from nowhere, is ‘yellow star jasmine’ Trachelospermum asiaticum. Planted at the end of 2012, this has gradually clothed the wall that encloses part of the blue & white borders with attractive glossy evergreen leaves with an occasional hint of red over winter. Most summers there has been a sprinkling of blooms, but this year it took tendrils overhanging the other side of the wall to alert me to its current performance; even so, I was not prepared for what I found on the other side…

…almost the whole wall smothered in blooms, fragrant blooms at that…

I can’t follow that, so am off now to check out Garden Ruminations, the blog of our Six on Saturday host, Jim: why don’t you do the same?

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, clematis, Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials, open gardens, seasonal interest, seed sowing, Six on Saturday, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Six Seasonal Stars on Saturday

  1. bcparkison says:

    Only in my dreams will Mt garden match yours..Just beautiful .

  2. Wonderful Clematis and I love your colour combinations in the bold borders. I’m intrigued by the pictures on your wall.

  3. Anna says:

    Oh ‘Princess Diana’ is a shining star indeed Cathy! I imagine that you and The Golfer received many queries about her identity. I like labels too although they sometimes can be obtrusive. Your post has reminded me that I used to have ‘Arabella’ planted in a large pot many moons ago but she sadly died. I think that I unsuccessfully tried to move her. I always planned to replace her but still haven’t 😢

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, isn’t she wonderful?! Arabella has proved to be a really good do-er, but niw needs a stronger obelisk to base herself on, as she keeps pulling the existing one over

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Your Trachelospermum is amazing, and I love the Clematis texensis, a stunning display!

  5. tonytomeo says:

    Trifolium rubens is an ornamental?! Goodness! It is a weed in some regions here, although it still is a component of erosion control seed mix. It was a cover crop in orchards years ago, and likely still is where there are still orchards. That might be why it continues to be a weed elsewhere. Some grew at work, and because I thought it was pretty, I did not remove it. I hope that I do not regret it. I do not think that it has anywhere hospitable to go from where it is now.

    • Cathy says:

      It is a ‘cultivated’ variety that I grow – the flowers are much bigger than the wild type and the leaves are different. It doesn’t spread the same way either!

  6. What a great surprise – to discover the jasmine!!

  7. Wow, your star jasmine is impressive! Love Princess Diana, I’ve tried to take cuttings from this clematis in the past and failed every time. I’m sure your visitors were very impressed by your garden, it is looking lovely.

  8. Pauline says:

    Lots of lovely colour in your garden, Princess Diana is doing really well as is your Trachelospermum, are the roots in your garden or has it come through from next door?

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline – I love June in the garden (well, any month really!)! The trachelospermum is all in our garden as the wall is an internal one, partially enclosing one of the borders

  9. Heyjude says:

    You have some lovely combinations, I love the Veronica ‘First Love’ and Clematis ‘Arabella’ The Trachelospermum obviously has loved all the rain!

  10. krispeterson100 says:

    It looks like you’re off to a great summer season, Cathy! I love that orange and purple-blue combination.

  11. Noelle says:

    The Jasmine is just amazing, and the scent for all your neighbours must be wonderful.

    • Cathy says:

      Actually, the way our boundaries are, our neighbours probably don’t get any of our scent – and the wall with the trachelospermum is an internal wall, so we have both sides of it!

  12. What a treat that was! I shall watch again of course. I love the density of your planting. I find here, it is often more common for plants to stand alone and be surrounded by space. It must be my U.K. upbringing that loves the closeness and intermingling beauty of gardens like yours. I am with you on the white and it was coincidence that one of my earlier creations this week was green and white again! I love that Cosmos – don’t know if I can find it here but will look. Thank you for the tour.

    • Cathy says:

      Aw, thank you 😊 Perhaps in the US people have more space in their gardens? To me, an empty space is a waste of a planting space, and I am always on the lookout for how can I fit more plants into the garden! 😉

Something to say after reading this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.