In a Vase on Monday: Measure for Measure

Like last week, I hadn’t a clue where to begin when I began my hunt for the contents of today’s IAVOM, but was prompted by the arabis shown on yesterday’s Six on Saturday, one clump of which grows close to the back door. The arabis firmly fixed the scale of the vase as ‘small’, making the rest of the task suddenly easier, as I cut unnamed pulmonaria and Cyclamen coum blooms, adding slightly reddish sprigs from Nandina domestica ‘Obsessed’ and an unlabelled heather that had been included in baskets at the front of the house to provide some height.

Today’s title refers not to the contents, but to the vase itself , a vintage Pyrex glass measure, and the prop of two small brass weights – I wonder if Noelle can conjure up a domino link with her vase from these…?!

If you would like to join us on IAVOM with something you have found in your garden or foraged nearby that you have popped in a vase or other receptacle (with or without a prop), then we would love to see you, so please leave links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in early spring, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Measure for Measure

  1. karen says:

    I love the little arabis. Mum has some in a raised container surrounded by some pretty little pink grape hyacinths and miniature daffodils. Karen

  2. karen says:

    Forgot to add my ‘vase’. Here it is https://bramblegarden.com/2024/03/03/willow-weaving-course-at-task-academy/. Have a good week Cathy. Karen x

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Pretty little flowers. Arabis is new to me but looks quite lovely and useful. I like the vintage bottle and I would very much like to pick up the brass weights and feel them in my hand. Thanks for hosting us. https://pbmgarden.blog/2024/03/04/in-a-vase-on-monday-sunshine-and-shade/

    • Cathy says:

      Strangely, I bought the arabis years ago to make up a 4 for £10 sort of offer, without really wanting it, but learned that it really deserves its place. One of the weights is marked as 1oz but is slightly hollwed out and I suspect the other will be the same

  4. Noelle says:

    I like that little vase with all its spring blooms. I noticed some Arabis out when peering over the walls on a recent walk. I like their bright white clusters of blooms. Since I only read your post after having composed mine, I may well link up with your theme in a loose sort of way next week. This week I followed on from your ‘Mustard’ post: https: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2024/03/in-vase-on-monday-continuing-mustard.html

  5. Donna Donabella says:

    Such a sweet little posy that I hope I can make soon as the 16 inches of snow from Thursday melted in a few days as we warmed. Bulbs are growing like wildfire and I hope by next week to have a proper spring vase from my garden. If not likely the week after. I love vintage and the vase is perfect. https://gardenseyeview.com/2024/03/04/whats-in-your-creative-container/

    • Cathy says:

      Can’t remember the last time I saw 16″ of snow here – well, probably never here, but mabe in Edinburgh in my early childhood…!😉 I hope your bulbs continue to grow rapidly, Donna

      • Donna Donabella says:

        They are surprising me with warm weather now urging them on. We will cool down again.

  6. I always love you flowers and props. Thank you.

  7. krispeterson100 says:

    Your arrangement may be small but it packs a punch for its size. Spring has arrived in my part of the world and its pace is noticeably accelerating on a daily basis so the issue for me this week was restricting my choices: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2024/03/in-vase-on-monday-spring-is-off-to.html

    Thanks as always for hosting, Cathy!

  8. I enjoy having little posies like this around my kitchen sink. I like the repurposed container with a pretty spring combo of colors. I am not familiar with Arabis and am trying to think what it reminds me of, still thinking.. I thought the weights were chess pieces at first, do you know what they are for? Thanks for hosting, https://theshrubqueen.com/2024/03/04/in-a-vase-on-monday-tropical-spring-roll/

    • Cathy says:

      My kitchen sink posies tend to be leftovers and accidents, Amelia! The weights would have been used with balance scales for all sorts of things, from groceries and postal services to medicines and other chemicals. I suppose the arabis is a bit like allysum, another low growing ‘rockery’ plant

      • Oh well. My kitchen sink also has become a propagation area! I remember those scales now, my parents had one. I know Alyssum, it may be I have never lived far enough north for Arabis.

  9. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Lovely Ladies | Words and Herbs

  10. bcparkison says:

    Beautiful..I am impressed you have that much to share,,,Not much here,,,even the early yellow is long gone.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Beverley – I know when I started IAVOM I thought I would struggle in winter, but that hasn’t been the case, and I have learned to look at the garden in a different way too

  11. Not only a colourful display of flowers above water Cathy but also colourful stems below the water level too. That’s probably the most attractive item of Pyrex I’ve ever seen. No vase from me today – I’ve been making use of a rare dry day (two in a row!) to fill the green bin up before it’s emptied tomorrow. Hope to be back next week 😀

    • Cathy says:

      I fully understand the close relationship you have with your green bin, Anna! 🤣 I was really surprised how long the cyclamen stems were – and had to trim some of them down

  12. Cathy says:

    I noticed the Arabis in your post yesterday – lovely that it flowers almost non-stop for you. The cyclamen stems are nice and long, although I do realize the vase is small. And the Pulmonaria is a pretty colour. All in all a very pleasing ‘vase’ Cathy! Here is mine for today, with thanks as always:

    In a Vase on Monday: Lovely Ladies

    • Cathy says:

      I don’t think I have ever cut cyclamen before and was really surprised how long the stems were. I think the pulmonaria originated from some I brought from my teenage family home. They bought the house in 1963 and I expect the pulmonaria would have been there before then

  13. Pingback: IAVOM – Terrarium | Eliza Waters

  14. Eliza Waters says:

    Such a lovely springtime bouquet, Cathy. The pink adds a delicious pop of colour. Things are thawing out here, but only a few snowdrop spears have pushed through so far. While I wait for more, I decided to offer this entry today: https://wp.me/p3O3z4-3bO

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Eliza – when there are more substantial blooms, it can be easy to overlook the smaller ones, so I am glad I chose these ones for this week

  15. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday ~ Heritage – In My World

  16. Joanne says:

    I knew you would have some very cheerful flowers to share today, Cathy, after seeing your February roundup of the garden. 🙂 Between rain showers, I brought in a few flowers for two vases this week ~ https://homelifeonlineblog.com/2024/03/04/in-a-vase-on-monday-heritage/

  17. tonytomeo says:

    It took me a minute to figure out what Arabis is. I am unfamiliar with it. Cyclamen coum is pretty. I think of it as a flower that is too small for cutting.

    • Cathy says:

      I don’t think I have ever cut cyclamen for a vase before, Tony, but it was as small as the other contents and worked well in this week’s vase

  18. smallsunnygarden says:

    I always love the tiny vases, Cathy! Lovely to have one small enough for jaunty little Cyclamen coum. And now I’m wondering just how small the Pyrex measure actually is! And what was it for, with its narrow mouth?

    I have a wispy, partly wildflower vase for this week: Wisps of Spring (Oh my, this link is done differently now here on WP!)

    The garden is just getting into stride for the new season, but hasn’t quite got going yet… 😉

    • Cathy says:

      I had to try out several other little vases or containers to find one that suited the scle of the blooms. With you mentioning the narrow neck, it made me realise how odd that was, as it was clearly designed for measuring liquids but the narrow neck could make pouring awkward…

  19. What a pretty arrangement! I have flowers blooming now (very early for us), so I need to remember to join in on Mondays. Happy March!

Comments are closed.