In a Vase on Monday: Sprigs and Twigs

Some quick snipping and plonking brings us sprigs and twigs of Sarcoccus humilis and Prunus mume ‘Beni Chidori’, in bud not not yet in bloom and therefore not included in yesterday’s bloom count. I picked some of the prunus a week or two ago to see if they would open in water, which they are now just on the point of doing; that twig, however, was a bit

on the ungainly side so smaller sideshoots were cut for today’s vase instead, which also includes foliage from the wonderfully supportive Arum italicum ‘Marmoratum’. In anticipation of the buds opening in due course, today’s prop is my 5 year garden diary from Avon Bulbs, now containing a three year record of what is happening in the garden and my involvement in it, providing a handy guide on when to anticipate the appearance of its inhabitants.

If you have time to pop into your garden today and snip a few things to plonk into a vase, please share them with us by leaving the usual links.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Winter, winter interest. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Sprigs and Twigs

  1. Some nice snips and plonks. The Arum is a favorite of mine – of course it won’t survive in my garden..Garden diaries are amazingly helpful. Mine is in a python skin book a friend brought back from Africa! Thanks for hosting https://theshrubqueen.com/2021/12/27/in-a-vase-on-monday-sharing-sunshine/

    • Cathy says:

      Real python skin…? I probably don’t include as much details in my garden diary as would be helpful. Sadly, the photo doesn’t really do the sprigs and twigs justice

  2. Noelle says:

    I do like it that you have this diary in which to keep a record of what is going on in the garden. What a great idea, I bet your is packed with many snippets of first and last bloom etc. I think between you and I we could play poo sticks, but of course not with our specially selelcted twigs. Here is my contribution; https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2021/12/in-vase-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      Sadly I am not as consistent as I could be with recording firsts and lasts, but I do try and what I have recorded has proved to be a big help. I also record the weather, including temperatures and rainfall. Yes, every footbridge deserves a game of Poohsticks 👍

  3. pbmgarden says:

    This has a look of topsy-turvy with the dark rich greenery and the colorful underlayer of the garden diary. Love seeing your arum, Cathy. Mine has disappeared totally after 20 years! I was searching for it to use for today’s vase, then had to shift gears. Thank you for hosting. I think I managed a vase each week this year, perhaps only the second time. https://pbmgarden.blog/2021/12/27/in-a-vase-on-monday-gardenia-hips/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie, I cut the spigs and twigs on Christmas Day but yesterday cut similar ones to take with me to my voluntary work yesterday, but included some ivy berries and leaves too, and it really added another dimension. I certain miss the arum foliage when it disappears during the summer, and I am sorry yours seems to have gone permanently

  4. Kris P says:

    I do love that Arum but I suspect it would find my climate challenging. I had some difficulty finding blooms that weren’t soggy yesterday but then that’s actually a good thing as we’ve had more rain. Thanks for hosting and here’s my contribution this week: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2021/12/in-vase-on-monday-nothing-new.html

    • Cathy says:

      Things are pretty soggy here too, Kris, with light drizzle most of the way through a very grey December. I know how much you value your rain though! 😁

  5. smallsunnygarden says:

    This one has a very elegant effect, and the arum foliage is exquisite. I can only hope that someday I will be organized enough to keep a garden diary. Truth to tell, I have used my blog for that, but it doesn’t necessarily contain the right information sometimes. 😉
    Violas are back in my post today as they are still providing me with some bloom, along with an explanation of why wild foliage doesn’t yet figure in my vases… https://smallsunnygarden.substack.com/p/in-a-vase-lavender-and-lace

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Amy. I agree blogs are really helpful for keeping records too, nd the search facility can be useful, but sometimes it can be easier to flick through the diary to check something specific. Neither have all the information I would sometimes like though! 😁

  6. tonytomeo says:

    Even in the mild climate here, it seems early to force apricot bloom. Of course, I have not actually tried it.

    • Cathy says:

      This one is just ornamental, Tony, and possibly flowers before fruiting ones?

      • tonytomeo says:

        Oh, of course, I should have remembered that. They are rare here, perhaps because fruiting apricots used to be a primary orchard crop, but the few that I remember bloomed before the rainy season finished . . . which might be another reason for their rarity.

  7. Chloris says:

    Lovely Beni wil be opening up very soon and delighting us. I am intrigued to see if it opens in water. A garden diary is a great idea and a blog is a useful record too.

    • Cathy says:

      Like may things in the garden Beni was ‘early’ last year, and with our Feb opening still 6 weeks away I am not in a hurry for it to open outside yet! I tried bringing some of the pink pussy willow inside too, which has sprouted leaves but the pink pussies still haven’t fully developed yet

  8. Anna says:

    The arum is a brilliant foliage plant Cathy and so fresh looking on these grey drab December days. My Christmas box isn’t quite there yet. Interesting to see that the Avon five year diary has a completely different cover to the one I had. My recording sadly fell by the wayside before the five years was up – it could have been so useful!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I always miss the arum when it goes to ground. I really must check whether the sarcococca is humilis, as I have just assumed all this time, and not one of the others! I think I am well enough into the habit of it now, and of course there is not space to write a lot so it is not to onerous when you get into it. I am now trying to remember to include how long I have spent in the garden, as people do ask me that question!

  9. Cathy says:

    Lovely Arum foliage. I always admire it and really must try growing it myself one day.

Comments are closed.