In a Vase on Monday: Sugar Rush

With sugary colours in mind, centred on Rhododendron ‘Christmas Cheer’, I was contemplating including a rogue wallflower which I think was from a batch grown from seed some years ago. I remembered growing ‘Sugar Rush Purple’ and possibly others from this series (and could consult my seed sowing list to find out), but on Googling this it was clearly not the purple strain as the wallflower I now have is more of an ordinary blood red – and not in fact sweet enough to work well enough with the rhododendron anyway.

Instead, I plucked complementary Fritillaria meleagris, slightly past-it blooms of Hellebore ‘Dorothy’s Dawn’, ex-Coop hyacinth ‘Woodstock’, blooms from a new Erysimum ‘Bowles’ Mauve which I will try hard to keep perky and prim rather than letting it become old and woody, pretty leaves of Geranium palmatum (I think!) and a sprig of foliage from Pittosporum ‘Tom Thumb’. A sugar bowl from a child’s toy tea set (IKEA) and a toy spoon are the props for today, and the vase is a caged glass cylinder that came to me with a potted hyacinth or other bulb some years ago.

I haven’t cropped the bird’s eye view photo below, as the sunlight was casting some interesting shadows – no orbs this week though!

There were several routes that could have been followed for a vase today, and I suspect this will now be the case for many, many months – ‘hurrah for spring!’ I was going to say, but here there have been ‘hurrahs’ throughout the winter months, and I am very grateful to our garden for all the seasonal joys they produced.

Are there any seasonal joys to be found in your garden at the moment that you would be willing to pick and pop in a vase, where I am sure they would still bring you pleasure? If there are, please consider sharing them with us by leaving links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Sugar Rush

  1. Noelle M says:

    What a sweet arrangement, and so nicely counterbalanced by the container. It reminded my of fishnet stockings, many years ago, at the same time as high white boots were in fashion: I had a white pair but never the black. The rhododendron certainly wins pride of place, only just elbowing out the other pretties. Here is my ‘wild flower posy’ this week: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2021/04/in-vase-on-monday-somewhere-these-are.html

    • Cathy says:

      Hmm, fishnet stockings? I never had a pair, either black or white – but I did have a pair of above knee length green boots with platforms which I was very fond of….perhaps circa 1973?

  2. The rhodo is what caught my eye, but it’s the Fritillarias that keep my eyes glued to this vase. Love the purple!!

    In a Vase, on Monday – Here a Daff, There a Daff

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Perfect in every way. The colors of the flowers work together lovingly and your photos are terrific. The Rhododendron is a good focal point for the rest of your flowers. I had Sugar Rush Purple but it hasn’t come back. Thanks for hosting Cathy!
    Irises don’t last well in a vase but I couldn’t resist this week:

    In A Vase On Monday – Iris With Birch

  4. Joanne says:

    Sugar Rush indeed! A lovely display. 🙂

  5. This is a Dutch Masters painting vase…love the colors, I could not imagine what the Rhodo was when I opened the post, one would think Christmas Cheer would be red…very sweet. Here is my vase, thank you for hosting https://theshrubqueen.com/2021/04/12/in-a-vase-on-monday-notorious-rbg/

  6. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Assurances | A Walk in the Garden

  7. Kris P says:

    I love the color mix, Cathy. Beautiful as the rhododendron is, it was the Frittillaria that immediately caught my eye. Regrettably, neither plant would grow in my climate, which seems to become warmer and drier with each passing year. But then I can’t claim there’s any shortage of flowers in my garden either. Thanks for hosting and here’s my contribution: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2021/04/in-vase-on-monday-pretty-in-peach-and.html

    • Cathy says:

      The fritillary seems to be many people’s favourite today, Kris. I think we all accept to a degree that some things just would not grow in our gardens

  8. The rhododendron is the star of the vase, it is a beauty. I love all the flowers in the vase, especially Fritillarias, Erysum and the Geranium palmatum leaves. The vase with the white lattice is ideal for these colors and these flowers: they are magnificent, wonderful, divine, I love them. The little sugar bowl and little spoon accessory from the IKEA children’s tea set is adorable, I love it. The photos are magnificent. Cathy I don’t know if the confinement restrictions have been lifted in your area and you can go out and see family and friends like Karen from Bramble Garden. If so, congratulations, if not, a little more patience and hope, that everything comes sooner or later. Take good care of the golfer and you. Have a great week. Very affectionate greetings from Margarita.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you Margarita. Yes, we are going to see my elder daughter later this week, but it will be some time before we get to see my Mum, as it would mean staying for a few days because of the distance

      • Cathy, I’m so glad you’re seeing your oldest daughter this week. Your Mother, living far from her, will have to wait: but I am sure that you will see her soon. Keep taking good care of yourself and the golfer, because Covid is very dangerous. My mother has already received the first dose of vaccine and the second of hers is given at the end of the month. I get the first dose on May 10th. Cathy hopefully you and the golfer are already vaccinated, as are your oldest daughter and your mother. My best wishes. Very affectionate greetings from Margarita.

  9. tonytomeo says:

    It’s still going! This must be why our clients like Christmas Cheer so much. It would have been nice if it looked so good on the farm where we grew them.
    Isn’t it funny that there is a flower that actually succumbs to rainy weather more here than in other regions?! We do not get much rain, but it happens all at the same time. I really do not know why Christmas Cheer performs so poorly here. For all I know, it could be a combination of rain mixed with warm and dry weather in between.

  10. the running wave says:

    Oh my goodness what a delicious collection of colours – and therefore flowers! They are positively sumptuous and I just love all of it. How can a fritillary possible fail to please – so intricate and interesting, not to mention wonderful colours. No vase from me this week as we have taken delivery of all our stuff out of store. The less said about that the better. Maybe next week I will have been able to unpack a vase, large or small, and pop something in it. Right now I have a mountain of cardboard to climb! Thank you for a gorgeous vase Cathy. Lovely. Amanda

    • Cathy says:

      I thought of you yesterday, knowing it was your moving day – hope all went well and youare gradually able to scale your cardboard mountain!

      • the running wave says:

        Thank you Cathy! The mountain (and it really is a mountain) is slowly diminishing but an awful long way to go. I don’t think I quite have the hang of downsizing. The real challenge is the kitchen stuff! I can barely squeeze through to the kitchen sink let alone access the fridge! However, onwards and upwards! A

  11. Eliza Waters says:

    Lovely combination of jewel-tone colours, Cathy. I esp. love the fritillary and hyacinth.

  12. Anna says:

    Beautiful soft and sumptuous shades Cathy . I love the fritillaria – who doesn’t but also the more vivid ‘Woodstock’ hyacinth too.

  13. Cathy says:

    That’s a lovely collection of pinks, and makes for a very pretty overall effect. Especially with the sunshine in your photos. ☀️😃

Comments are closed.