Nearlies and Almosts

The delightful and knowledgeable Chloris of The Blooming Garden invites us to share our top ten blooms at around this time every month, so do visit her blog to see all sorts of interesting and often unusual plants.

Here, it is very much a case of nearlies, almosts and not quites. Another few weeks will see the hellebores and the snowdrops at their peak, but at the moment there are only a few hellebores where the buds have begun to open, like the lovely big clump of H ‘Harvington Double White’ above, new acquisition H ‘Cheryl’s Shine’ (below left) and a single yellow:

There are an odd few native snowdrops in bloom, but again their full impact will be not be seen for another few weeks, but at least the earlier special named varieties are beginning to demonstrate their subtle differences to those who are interested – ‘Ailwyn’ (top left) has a distinctive pair of dots on the inner perianth segments (top right), whereas G ‘Sandersii’ sports a bright yellow ovary and ‘Trumps’ has splayed sepals which become more obvious as the buds open:

I am thrilled to have (nearly!) a bloom on my young Daphne bholua ‘Jacqueline Postill’ and pretty pleased to have embryonic blooms on an even newer purchase, Ribes laurifolium, which I had first seen on Chloris’ blog:

There are some far more ordinary blooms providing pleasure in January, like the simple native primrose and the dependable Sarcococca (“too many ‘c’s”, as Chloris says!) humilis and its teasing perfume:

Another reliable January flowerer is Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’, putting on new flushes of blooms over a period of months although sadly retaining the browned-off remains of the earlier ones; nevertheless, she is fragrant, especially on milder days, and always welcome:

Typical ‘not quites’ are the single Cyclamen coum and Crocus tommasinianus that were encountered as I rambled with my camera today:

I couldn’t show off my January blooms without including any witch hazels, so here are Hamamelis ‘Strawberries and Cream’, H ‘Arnold Promise’ and the one I have the softest spot for, H ‘Harry’. The latter is pretty much the view I have from one of the kitchen windows, where I can admire Harry from a distance of a couple of feet whatever the weather – he is particularly fine this year and the dark ivy is ideal to show off his handsome features, so there is a lot of gazing to be done!

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nearlies and Almosts

  1. Chloris says:

    Thank you for sharing your fabulous January blooms Cathy and for your very kind mention. I am so glad you found a Jacqueline Postill, I hope it will give you joy for years to come. Your winter garden is so full of interest I wish I could see it in person. It is so exciting watching the snowdrops come into bloom, they seem early this year. Harry looks amazing,, I agree the dark ivy is the perfect backdrop.

  2. jacqueline says:

    Bonjour Cathy
    Cela sent le printemps chez toi !

  3. Anna says:

    Yes indeed it’s that almost quite time of the year Cathy when it comes to both flowers and daylight hours. Isn’t ‘Trumps’ one of the most appealing of flowers. You have found the perfect spot for ‘Harry’ so that you can gaze upon him to your heart’s content.

  4. Anna says:

    I meant to say ” Yes indeed it’s that almost but not quite time of the year Cathy when it comes to both flowers and daylight hours. Isn’t ‘Trumps’ one of the most appealing of snowdrops? You have found the perfect spot for ‘Harry’ so that you can gaze upon him to your heart’s content.”
    – My previous comment was a second attempt and my fingers were too quick for my brain 😂

    • Cathy says:

      Teehee – I am much quicker (but still with only a few fingers!) on my laptop these days and am frequently surprised by what my fingers have written – not the same thing as my brain was thinking! 😉 I agree about Trumps – and this year I found Ailwyn quite perfect too. She must be feeling more at home now.

Comments are closed.