In a Vase on Monday: Daisies and an Infiltrator

Seed-sown Rudbeckia ‘Prairie Glow’ is joined in today’s vase by Anthemis tinctora ‘Kelwayi’, Helianthus ‘Lemon Queen’, a couple of struggling stems of Calendula ‘Orange Prince’ and an infiltrator, an unidentifiable bright orange crocosmia which has no label because I thought I had removed all of it.

Sadly, the photographs of today’s vase of daisies do not really do them justice – in real life they are far more vibrant and pick out the bright coloured bands of the lighthouse-shaped vase, bought from a local pottery in the Scilly Isles when we visited a couple of years back. The prop is another daisy, sunflower ‘Italian White’, which has performed very poorly this year, especially when compared to its queenly neighbour.

I may be a little late responding to comments this week, but don’t let that deter you from posting your own vase. Late summer is still providing plenty of picking material here and I look forward to seeing what you can find in your own gardens: just leave the usual links so we can share in the pleasure your Monday vase brings you.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Daisies and an Infiltrator

  1. the running wave says:

    There is little doubt, from the glowing colours in your vase today, that we have moved seamlessly into early Autumn! I love the colours at this time of year. They reflect the change in the light and herald a new season. One of the joys of living in this part of the world. Seasons! Great vase Cathy, thank you! I have a bit of mix this week! Amanda https://therunningwave.blogspot.com/2019/09/in-flat-vase-on-monday-and-afterthought.html

  2. GREAT CONTRASTS ON A GREAT PHOTOGRAPH, CHINA

  3. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Daisies and an Infiltrator – LIVING THE DREAM

  4. Noelle says:

    Love your daisies…in all shapes and colours of golden autumnal shades….I can tell that there are only, ‘she loves me, she loves me, she loves me’….and on and on, and no ‘she loves me not’. Had a great morning plant hunting at the Bishop’s Palace with Alison yesterday: Here is my contribution this week: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2019/09/in-vase-on-monday-in-garden-and-kitchen.html

  5. Don’t you love self-sown flowers? They do so much for the garden planting themselves places you’d never think of and always looking so natural. Not to mention how nice they are on the budget.
    Lovely brilliant fall vase! Definitely a sign of colors to come in the next few weeks.

    this week’s bouquet

    • Cathy says:

      Not all self-sown flowers, I am afraid Cindy!! Yes, there will indeed be more autumnal colours creeping in, although my dahlias are all bright and summery so I might stick with them!

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Sneaky crocosmia, (It grows readily in this area except in my garden.) Glad you put it to work celebrrating daisy forms. Your vase lovingly reflects the shifting of seasons. I”m hanging on tigthly to summer. Thanks for hosting Cathy.

    In A Vase On Monday – Late Summer In A Basket

    • Cathy says:

      I have given up on crocosmia as it hasn’t flowered properly for years, despite regular splitting, which is why I took it out – doesn’t seem to be a problem elsewhere so I can sympathise with you on that score!

  7. Hi Cathy, your arrangement is, indeed, vibrant and cheerful. I love the yellows and oranges of the daisy blooms and they do pick up the colours in that lovely vase. Late summer has brought some unexpected delights up here too, especially as just a couple of weeks ago I was thinking we were going to skip autumn and go straight into winter. Here’s the link to my offering this week: https://silverscrappers.blogspot.com/2019/09/in-vase-on-monday-september-blooms.html

    • Cathy says:

      Straight into winter? Gosh, have you had a cold snap, Elizabeth? Pleased to hear you have still had some unexpected delights too

  8. Pingback: In a Vase on A Monday: Ukiyo – Annettes Garten / Annette's Garden

  9. Annette says:

    Oh, such a sunny and cheerful vase, Cathy, it makes me even happier now that I see that I’m not the only one who likes yellow. Daisies are sweet, uplifting and always welcome. Got Rudbeckia ‘Cherry Brandy’ for the first time this year, lovely colours too. Here’s my own sunny contribution: https://personaleden.wordpress.com/2019/09/09/in-a-vase-on-a-monday-ukiyo/ Happy September days 🙂

  10. Lovely, light filled colours for a late summer vase! I kinda like the white sunflower, with its hints of yellow near the centre… Here;s mine this week, mostly non-cultivated blooms, also yellow and white.

    In a Vase, on Monday – late summer white and yellow (and reds)

  11. I used to scoff about daisies – now I love them more and more every year. Fresh as a Daisy says it all. That is a bright tribute to late summer. Here is my vase http://theshrubqueen.com/2019/09/09/in-a-vase-on-monday-love-hate-relationships/

  12. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Antiquity | Words and Herbs

  13. Cathy says:

    Another lovely vase Cathy. I wish I had the problem of Crocosmia being difficult to get rid of – I haven’t managed to get any established in any of my German gardens yet! (I’m still trying though!)
    I love the shape and colours of your vase. You say late summer, but there is definitely an autumny feel to your flowers today. Prairie Glow is gorgeous isn’t it! Here is my link for today. Have a great week! https://wordsandherbs.com/2019/09/09/in-a-vase-on-monday-antiquity/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy. My Prairie Glow has grown really tall and very sturdy, far more so than the last time I grew it. I shall try to remember to mulch it over winter though

  14. AlisonC says:

    A vase full of summer sunshine to lift the spirits. Damp and dreary here today but the plants love it, of course. I have various things growing which I thought I’d got rid of! Here is my link:
    https://ablogaboutcompost.blogspot.com/2019/09/just-dahlias-in-vase-on-monday.html

  15. Kris P says:

    “Infiltrator” seems a harsh way to describe the pretty Crocosmia – did you dig them out because they were thugs? After seeing how well they did in my local botanic garden, I planted some for the first time here back in the spring but I haven’t seen a sign of them and now can’t even remember exactly where I put the bulbs. Along with dahlias, I’ve got some daisies today too, a few mutants among them: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2019/09/in-vase-on-monday-divas-and-mutants.html

    As always, thanks for hosting, Cathy.

  16. Still looks good to me. Just needed some sunshine to do the sunny colours justice. Here’s mine: https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com

  17. Cathy I am very sad and that is why I have been absent and maybe I will be again. But seeing your magnificent vase of daisies full of color I have encouraged. I love the Rudbeckia and the other flowers. It is a wonderful vase with strong and precious colors: I love it. Take care. Greetings from Margarita x

  18. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: – September 09, 2019 – Chasing the Blooms

  19. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – A very important visitor! | Duver Diary

  20. jenhumm116 says:

    Hi Cathy
    What a lovely vase! Have to confess my seed grown ‘Prarie Glows’ are still sulking in 9cm pots and consequently nowhere near flowering. Silly me!
    Please see mine below. I had a Very Important Visitor this week 😉
    https://duverdiary.wordpress.com/2019/09/09/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-very-important-visitor/

  21. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – 9th September 2019 | Bramble Garden

  22. Chloris says:

    Lovely seasonal colours. You can never get rid of crocosmias. I love them though and don’t mind how often they pop up. I even grow them from seed to get variations. I hope you enjoyed your trip.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – I don’t mind the odd crocosmia if it pops up and flowers, but clumps of non-flowering ones were a different matter… 😝

  23. Pingback: Clearing Out the Greenhouse & Taking Pelargonium Cuttings – Sunday September 15 | Bramble Garden

  24. karen says:

    A bit early for Monday, or late for last Monday 🙂💕http://bramblegarden.com/2019/09/15/clearing-out-the-greenhouse-taking-pelargonium-cuttings-sunday-september-15/

  25. tonytomeo says:

    Italian White sunflower was one that I grew years ago until a neighbor had me grow varieties that were more orange and yellow. The soft white just did not go with the landscape and home very well. Italian White seems variable. Mose people really like it, and get large flowers. Some get small flowers with small centers. Mine were sort of in between.

  26. Pingback: this week’s bouquet – in my spare time

Comments are closed.