In a Vase on Monday: Think Pink

It could so easily have been in-your-face brights in my Vase on Monday today as the dahlias are shouting out to be picked; however, they will be there for many more weeks whereas the clarkia that triggered the final choice will not.

This is the first year I have successfully grown clarkia since I was a young teenager (will leave you to work out how many years ago that was) when it was one of my regular choices from the limited range available back then, along with mesembryanthemum and clary sage. The pack of ‘Double Mixed’ seeds produced healthy stocky seedlings that were planted out less than 8 weeks after sowing and have made a lovely clump in the cutting beds; a second sowing has recently been planted out to fill a gap where oriental poppies have been cut back. Although mixed, they seem to be flowering in only two shades, magenta and salmony-pink, and as the flowers open from the bottom upwards the lengthy flower spikes told a tale of two halves, so in the end I nipped the not-yet-flowering ends from some of the chosen spikes to reduce the height of the potential vase.

Joining the clarkia are Dahlia Happy Single Juliet’, clary sage ‘Pink Sundae’, Cosmos ‘Double Click Cranberry’, Helichrysum ‘Silvery Rose’ and dangly Amaranthus caudatus. The latter has not grown as tall as usual this year nor are the dangly bits as long and dangly, but I will check my seed source when I come to plan seeds for next year as they may be from an elderly packet. All except the dahlia are seed sown and all are picked from the cutting beds which are now fully productive and looking glorious. Just gazing at the abundance and colour will forever remain one of the unexpected benefits of dedicated cutting beds which are to be highly recommended, however small they might be.

The clarkia were a little droopy when first picked but seem to have picked up again, thankfully; however, looking at the vase now I can see there is somewhat of a gap on the left, perhaps where one of the amaranthus stems has drooped, so I will tweak it in due course for my own satisfaction but you will have to put up with it as it is in the photographs! The blooms were popped into a simple white vase proclaiming their origin, ‘handpicked with love’, whereas the vase itself was given to me, no doubt with a degree of affection, by dear blogging friend Anna. The props are a Caithness Glass perfume bottle and a single head of last year’s Helichrysum ‘Bright Rose’ which has been sitting on a shelf in the kitchen since last year, as bright and rosy as ever and just as pretty.

I know some of you are too busy in your gardens to post a vase of blooms or other material, or are suffering along with your gardens in the enervating heat prevalent in some parts of the world this July, but if you are able to pop only a single bloom in a vase please try to do so, even if just for your own pleasure. If you do then have time to add it to your blog and link it to and from this post so we can share your pleasure, then so much the better.

This entry was posted in cutting beds, dahlias, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, seed sowing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Think Pink

  1. We’re both thinking in pink this week Cathy! I had never heard of Clarkia before – and was (pleasantly) surprised, upon doing the google thing, to read it was native to the west coast of this continent! I’ll have to keep an eye out for some seeds.
    Here’s my vase this week.:

    In a Vase, On Monday – Ikebana – maybe?

  2. We’re both enjoying out cosmos this week but my pink ones, ‘Dazzler’, are proving slow to flower. Your pink vaseful is lovely – I like the clarkia and clary in particular and I’m just a teeny bit jealous of your dahlias – wish I was better at growing them. Here’s my offerings this week: https://silverscrappers.blogspot.com/2019/07/in-vase-on-monday-not-one-but-two.html

    • Cathy says:

      My cosmos has been flowering for a number of weeks but the plants have not been very tall – they seem to be putting on a growth spurt now, though. I have had far better success with dahlias since I grew them in the cutting beds or big pits, away from other foliage. I am really enjoying the clary – such an easy plant and such good value as it flowers for ages

  3. I think of myself as not a pink person, but then I love pink flowers and have them in my garden. A wonderful selection you have there. I also had to work out what the Clarkia is in the vase. Would love to see them in the wild now. Your strawflower is holding its color amazingly well. I am definitely jealous of your Dahlias! Here is my vase this week.http://theshrubqueen.com/2019/07/14/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-wrath-of-grapes/

  4. the running wave says:

    Fabulous, glamorous pink! I grew clarkia when I was a young girl. It is the plant I first remember as being something to grow! All your pinks sit so happily together! Lovely. Amanda https://therunningwave.blogspot.com/2019/07/three-vases-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      We are quite possibly talking of a similar time, Amanda… đŸ˜‰ I am sure I remember them being more double than these though, with more abundant petals…

  5. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday | Wild Daffodil

  6. I have a lot of pink in my garden which I love – but none of the ones you have – yippee, I can get more.
    I’ve gone wild this week: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2019/07/15/in-a-vase-on-monday-8/

  7. Kris P says:

    I love Clarkia but I haven’t been successful growing it in my current garden. What really makes me envious when it comes to your selection this week, though, is the Amaranthus. Last year I swore I was going to try growing it from seed as the plants are almost impossible to find in nurseries and garden centers here but I failed to make a timely purchase of seeds. I suspect it’s too late to plant them now but I may try anyway.

    Thanks as always for hosting, Cathy. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2019/07/in-vase-on-monday-bloom-day-mash-up.html . It’s once again a mash-up with my mid-month Bloom Day post but this time I put my vase front and center.

  8. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – 15th July 2019 | Bramble Garden

  9. karen says:

    Beautiful! I love pink. Mine are all pinks and purples today https://bramblegarden.com/2019/07/15/in-a-vase-on-monday-15th-july-2019/

  10. Cathy your vase in pink flowers is incredible, fantastic, I love it. I did not know the Clarkia and I looked for it and it’s wonderful, I like it a lot. Your Dahlias are a beauty, I love them. The wise clary is divine like the Cosmos. I really like the Amaranthus caudatus. It is to think of so many magnificent flowers in pink: it does not surprise me that you are so proud of your beds of court having these wonders planted. Greetings from Margarita.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Margarita – I am so pleased to have these cutting beds now, which previously were half-heartedly used to grow vegetables

  11. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Dinnerplates with Friends – July 15, 2019 | Chasing the Blooms

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    Pretty in pink! The drooping Amaranthus is esp. nice, as is your lovely perfume bottle.
    My vase this week: https://wp.me/p3O3z4-2lG

  13. Lovely pinks Cathy, which is my favorite color in flowers. Perfect arrangement for that sweet vase.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks, it’s good to be able to use an assortment of blooms of different forms but from the same range of shades

  14. Alisonc says:

    Truly bright but why not in the middle of summer? It sounds as though your cutting breeds are abundant and give you lots of joy. My amaranthus is shortish so far but I’m hoping it will get taller in time (and with some rain). I picked a vase but did not get it posted this week. A few dahlias which have been earwigged.

    • Alisonc says:

      I mean cutting beds!

    • Cathy says:

      I am guessing that the clarkia’s flowering season will not be especially long, and that was what the original vase was based on – but all the other contents I know will flower for ages. Perhaps I will be wrong about the clarkia…. Some years the amaranthus doesn’t seem to grow as tall or as ‘chunky’ but some of my other annuals like cosmos and antirrhinums have put on a spurt recently so perhaps it is a timing issue as much as watering. Sorry to hear about your earwigs – it has never been a problem here. Do they damage yours?

  15. Nice to hear – and see – your cutting garden is flourishing! Well done!

  16. Anna says:

    Oh that is a striking vase of flowers Cathy. I’ve never grown clarkia and must try it in the future. You must have started your seed sowing journey early in life. I can remember pottering in the garden as a child and teenager but can’t remember sowing seeds, although I may well have done so. Will have to consult The Oracle aka my sister who informed me last week that we watched the moon landing together although I can’t remember her presence. Interesting comments about the size of amaranthus – mine remain on the small side but allotment neighbours have been almost as tall as me! Will have to ask him what he does. No vase from me this week as I am on the lookout for dolphins. Will email you soon đŸ˜˜

    • Cathy says:

      Oh I wonder which part of the country you are dolphin-watching in – Moray Firth? My teenage seed sowing must have been about age 13/14 – I was going to take my Brownie gardening badge, I think. We were on a family holiday in SW Scotland for the moon landings so didn’t see them but remember people talking about them…doesn’t really seem very long ago… đŸ˜‰

  17. Very pretty–no one can argue with the beauty of pink. That glass perfume bottle is the perfect touch!

  18. tonytomeo says:

    Native clarkias are supposed to be easy here. They have not done well for me. Yet, I see them growing wild along roadways now. I think there are more of them now than there used to be. I so want them outside the garden, along with California poppies and sky lupine.

Comments are closed.