In a Vase on Monday: Snow in Summer

The photograph doesn’t do today’s blooms justice as in reality they look like one big fluffy snowball – and having omitted to take an overhead shot you will have to just form your own impression of their snowy whiteness.

The inspiration for the vase has been in my mind for a couple of weeks, with a very unexpected and unseasonal  bloom – can you see what it is? Yes, it’s a hippeastrum/amaryllis – blooming (outside) in August! This was the bulb that thrilled me in March last year when it produced not one or two but FOUR flower stems with very double white blooms and a hint of green at the throat, variety ‘Alfresco’. Along with other bulbs from previous years I hope for more flowers this last winter, but not having leaves let alone flowers was ready to throw the bulbs out and cease trying to get them to flower again – but was instead persuaded by Joanna to put all the used bulbs in one pot to make watering and aftercare easier. Finding an emerging flower spike a few weeks ago was certainly not anything I had anticipated!

Even though the stem was immediately earmarked for a vase it wasn’t until vase preparation day that its companions were chosen and I had no preconceived ideas for these – but the glorious white purity of Dahlias ‘Snowflake’ and ‘Karma Serena’ easily won the day, ably assisted by equally white and pure Phlox ‘Rembrandt’ and Cosmos ‘Purity’. Spent heads of Daucus carota for green contrast and texture were rejected as just not in keeping with the white frothiness of the blooms, the weight of which required a solid based vase. This sage green jug seemed to do the trick and cosmos petals hinted at newly fallen snow.

Whether containing the unexpected or not, a vase on Monday is a great way to start the week, bringing simple and subtle pleasures, so why not join us by finding material from your garden to pop into a vase or jam jar today and share it if you like by leaving the usual links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Snow in Summer

  1. Pingback: In a Mandala on Monday | Wild Daffodil

  2. Beautiful, white flowers are just wonderful. I have an Amaryllis coming into flower again! but mine is inside – I’m wondering now if I could pop it outside. Here’s my Monday offering: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2017/08/07/in-a-mandala-on-monday/

    • Cathy says:

      How exciting for you – it will be fine outside for the summer although mine didn’t take kindly to the heavy rain we had on Saturday which broke the stem

  3. Het Bloeiende Buitenleven says:

    So beautiful, love this ‘fluffy snowball’.

  4. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Buttons | Words and Herbs

  5. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Great idea on such a hot weather! I love white flowers and yours look great, Cathy! My vase today: https://timpingradina.blogspot.ro/2017/08/in-vase-on-monday-august-pom-poms.html

  6. Cathy says:

    Beautiful, and what a lovely surprise! I planted an Amaryllis out one year and it flowered in August again, but then unfortunately the bulb got too wet in summer showers and rotted away before I thought to remove it. Good luck with getting the others to flower for you next winter. The other white flowers are also gorgeous – I love colourful flowers but white is so refreshing in the middle of summer. Here is my vase for today. Thanks, and have a good week! https://wordsandherbs.com/2017/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-buttons/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – I thought I would give overwintering them another chance! Yes, with so many colourful blooms around I was alittle reluctant to have an all white vase 😉

  7. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – Cool Green and White – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  8. oh i love the pure white of these flowers together! it is my favorite combination whichnis why i chose an all white bouquet and flowers for my wedding two years ago!

    Today I’m sharing one imperfectly perfect bloom: https://pitchforkandpistil.com/blog/2017/8/6/in-my-vase-monday

  9. pbmgarden says:

    White flowers bring an unparalleled impact and yours are pristine. The Amaryllis an exciting addition to the garden. Lovely effect Cathy. Thanks for hosting.

    In A Vase On Monday – Patchwork

    • Cathy says:

      It’s the pureness of colour of white blooms that always impresses me, Susie. Oh, and the hippeastrum was only in the garden for the summer, as these ones are normally winter flowering indoor plants!!

  10. Christina says:

    That’s really beautiful Cathy; the Amaryllis that was very late flowers for me still has it’s green leaves, I thought it should be resting now! I also have white flowers today! https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2017/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-cool-green-and-white/
    Thanks for hosting

  11. Joanna says:

    How beautiful! I love white flowers and someday would like to have a white garden! The amrylis is very impressive! I decided to join in this week. Here’s my link…it’s just a bunch of old-fashioned flavorites…:) http://heirloomcottagegarden.weebly.com/blog/in-a-vase-on-monday-cottage-garden-bouquet

  12. Solitaire says:

    They are beautiful indeed!🌻

  13. This is the kind of snow to have during summer. It is cooling just looking at this collection of white blooms. Happy IAVOM.

  14. How appropriate that H. ‘Alfresco’ should oblige with a bloom while spending time al fresco. The purity of white flowers never gets old and the vase is just perfect to display them to best effect. Here is a link to my vase: https://edinburghgardendiary.com/2017/08/07/now-they-only-block-the-sun/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Joanna – I was originally looking at a tall slim white vase, but knew that the hippeastrum would be too top heavy. I hadn’t thought of Alfresco being al fresco!!! 🙂

  15. Pingback: In a Vase on a Monday: Wild thing(s) | Annettes Garten / Annette's Garden

  16. Annette says:

    That’s the only snow I like, Cathy, truly gorgeous and a most unusual combination as one doesn’t come across Hippeastrum at this time of year. Did you know there’s a most beautiful climbing rose called ‘Snow in summer’? I’ve seen it at Le Manoir d’Eyrignac (THE best formal garden in France), where it was skilfully trained on a barn wall. Happy Monday…I’m a bit wild today 😉 : https://personaleden.wordpress.com/2017/08/07/in-a-vase-on-a-monday-wild-things/

    • Cathy says:

      Haven’t heard of that rose before, Annette, but will look out your reference ps I suspect you enjoy being a bit wild anyway…! 🙂

      • Annette says:

        Mea culpa, Cathy, the rose is called ‘Neige d’avril’ which means ‘snow in April’… similar, sometimes I get mixed up with the different languages I speak. Still worth checking out 🙂

  17. I recognized the blossom right away and wondered about it, so thanks for the explanation. What an unexpected August pleasure. My vase is here: http://www.lindabrazill.com/each_little_world/2017/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-summer-abundance.html

    • Cathy says:

      The stem with a bud first appeared about 3 weeks ago and I have been watching its gradual progess since – no idea why it is so out of sync with its normal season 😉

  18. Very cooling and I love the sage jug. The textures are amazing and don’t really need the Daucus at all. The Amaryllis live outside here year round bloom in Spring and Summer. I have some in the garden, but after five years, only foliage. Hope springs eternal. Here is my vase http://theshrubqueen.com/2017/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-gardening-with-armadillos/

  19. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – a Mixed Bag of Weather and Flowers – Absent Gardener

  20. Cath says:

    What a great selection of white flowers! I love the jug too. If you need further cooling
    I have flowers drenched in cold rain for you 🙂 https://absentgardener.com/2017/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-mixed-bag-of-weather-and-flowers/

    • Cathy says:

      We have had mixed weather here recently, with only the occasional burst of hot sunshine and its mainland Europe that needs the cooling down. Nights are definitely cooler here too – single figures in the greenhouse the other night for the first time in months!

  21. I cannot believe your amaryllis, amazing. I love all white flowers together and am seriously thinking about a white border after reading Rachel de Thame in the Sunday papers yesterday. My bunch are all of the same kind today. https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com

    • Cathy says:

      I have just read that article too, Dorris!! As Monty said recently, the only downside is that when white flowers go over they tend to look particularly unattractive so perhaps they need a sprinkling of green too. My snowdrop border is essentially a white and green border in summer too, but nothing too big or thuggish as it would affect the sleeping snowdrops 😉

  22. Joanna says:

    How beautiful! I love white flowers and gardens! I decided to join in this week, but I don’t think my comment got through. I’m trying again without the link, but you should be able to get it by clicking on my name. 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Both other comments had gone into spam, Joanna, but I have rescued one of them so the link will be there for others. Wonder why this one was OK though?

      • Joanna says:

        Thank you! I had a feeling that it wouldn’t post the comment because the link I shared wasn’t WordPress, so that’s when I tried without the link and it worked right away. 🙂

  23. Peter Herpst says:

    What a delightful summer surprise! Your arrangement is a refreshing antidote to the heat of summer. My contribution is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2017/08/in-vase-on-monday.html

  24. Kris P says:

    That’s the second time I’ve heard of a Hippeastrum blooming in summer – what’s up with that? Regrettably, none of mine, all planted in the ground, bloomed this year, in season or out. I enjoyed your stunning collection of white blooms. For my part, I continued my tale of Eustoma/Dahlia conflict this week, although this may be the end of that: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/08/in-vase-on-monday-drama-continues.html

  25. Cathy loves white flowers and her bouquet is a marvel of white textures. The Amaryllis is really beautiful. The different varieties of Dahlias are precious. The Phlox and the Cosmos very beautiful. Greetings from Margarita.

  26. Lindy Le Coq says:

    What a lovely flower — I’ll need to do some research to see where it might fit into my gardens! Here is today’s posy from the Pacific Northwest where the temps will be in the mid 90’s (~35 c) this week!
    https://lindylecoq.wordpress.com/2017/08/07/carolyns-tiny-roses-in-a-vase-on-monday/

    • Cathy says:

      This hippeastrum is an indoor winter flowering bulb in the UK Lindy!! Not as hot here as it is with you, I am glad to say 😉

    • Cathy says:

      Oh and your link was incorrect (and last week too..) – I have edited it and it links to your vase post now. Not to worry, it’s easily done

  27. mithriluna says:

    Cathy – Such a beautiful bouquet. The amaryllis is just wow. I am not sure I am going to get my vase and flowers together today. I am working on a Daily Post photo challenge instead but seeing your IAVOM brightened my day.
    Mar

  28. We’re entering our second week of a heatwave (although at least we won’t be over 100F this week), your vase is refreshingly cool. Here’s my simple vase this week: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/08/in-vase-on-monday-finally-zinnias.html

  29. Eliza Waters says:

    What a pleasure – with all this hot weather, a little snow is welcome! Such a beautiful and refreshing arrangement you’ve created, Cathy. My vase this week is rather ‘hot’ in comparison: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-1RS

  30. Pingback: In a vase on Monday: pink in purple – enclos*ure

  31. White is a relief in late summer when all the flowers seem to be yellow. My arrangement today is mostly pink (but from the supermarket): https://enclosuretakerefuge.com/2017/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-pink-in-purple/

  32. Noelle says:

    Some really lovely blooms…and perfect despite the rain we have been having. That pale green jug is the perfect vase. Just a simple affair from me this week: https://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2017/08/in-vase-on-monday-pink-to-make-boys-wink.html

    • Cathy says:

      I am thrilled with the unexpected hippeastrum, Noelle, but also with these perfect dahlias – even my neighbour who like me never used to like dahlias is really appreciating them having seen mine and will grow his own next year

  33. Alison C says:

    What a surprise! But a lovely one. I failed to get any bulbs last year but aim to do better this year. All the whites are lovely together, so fresh and pretty. I’m pleased to see your white flowers have survived the showers. Here is my link: http://ablogaboutcompost.blogspot.co.uk/2017/08/in-vase-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you – I have to say that Saturday’s thinderstorm did snap the stem on the hippeastrum so it was picked a day earlier than it otherwise would have been and the same storm broke the stem of a dahlia that hadn’t been staked – but everything else was OK, just wet! You have reminded me that I didn’t include a hippeastrum in my Peter Nyssen order – need to remedy that!

  34. Hi Cathy,
    There’s something so lovely about white flowers. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a white Dahlia…..gorgeous! Your arrangement is beautiful.
    My vase is a reflection of what’s growing in the garden.

    https://mynewenglandflowerbeds.blogspot.com/

    Happy Gardening!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sally – I have grown Karma Serena before but lost the tuber overwinter and bought a new one, but Snowflake is new to me. I love the smallness of its ball shape – its much smaller than the pompom ones

  35. Peggy Riccio says:

    Love the white flowers and snow in summer theme. Here are my summer flowers from my Virginia garden, can you spot the herb tucked inside?

  36. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Snow in Summer — Rambling in the Garden | Site Title

  37. smallsunnygarden says:

    An all-white selection – oh, I do love it! My favorite Hippeastrum (Naranja, the deep orange one) also bloomed recently, very much to my surprise. None of my others are showing any interest in flowering right now… I hope this is promising as to the vigor of next year’s bloom for both Alfresco and Naranja!
    I started with white flowers myself this week, but other colors managed to work their way in 😉 : https://www.smallsunnygarden.com/2017/08/08/in-a-vase-a-jasmine-posy/

  38. Anna says:

    Oh the flowering ‘Al Fresco’ must have made your heart leap with joy Cathy. A most elegant and refreshing arrangement and that vase is just right. No vase from me this week. I’ve was struck down by a most nasty tummy bug in the early hours of yesterday morning and have not ventured out of the house since 😦 If today’s rain ever stops I might have a reccie later but in the meantime will visit other vases of flowers to cheer me up.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, once I got over the shock of finding the bud in the first place! So sorry to hear about your tummy bug, Anna, and I hope it didn’t last too long 😐 Better to have it when the weather’s really wet though and not during good gardening weather… 😉

  39. LisaDay says:

    Wow. The photo in the vase is spectacular so if I doesn’t do it justice…

  40. Sharon says:

    More wedding practice vases from me. Loving the amaryllis in August. https://lifeonalondonplot.com/2017/08/21/in-a-vase-on-monday-more-wedding-practice/

  41. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – more wedding practice – Allotment Life

  42. karen says:

    How gorgeous! What a treat to have amaryllis flowering in summer! I’ll look out for that variety. It is so beautiful .

Comments are closed.