Wordless Wednesday: Does Size Matter?

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Does Size Matter?

  1. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Oh my…impressive!

  2. Joanna says:

    I love this flower! Mine got quite long last year, too. This year I planted them too late and they are just now starting to bloom, Yours look so perfect hanging out over the path! 🙂

  3. Love Lies Bleeding is what they are called here. I think that is enough to best size mattering.

  4. Peach6972 says:

    Wowww😍😍beautiful

  5. Christina says:

    The problem is that the stems are shorter than the flower head so making them difficult in a vase! I have the same problem with my green one. BTW they dry for winter arrangements.

    • Cathy says:

      Indeed, especially as I never have really tall arrangements and probably wouldn’t have a suitable vase anyway. I have always had them draped at the front of a vase, I suppose. Drying them sounds a good idea – what is the recommended way?

  6. I have never seen these plants growing in a garden. I have only seen pictures of them or as artificial flowers. They seem other worldly to me. An unusual and beautiful plant. I think in this case size matters and these are amazing.

  7. Cathy are magnificent. They are very long and precious. Wonderful color. I love. Greetings from Margarita.

  8. Heyjude says:

    Blimey! Do you stake them? I planted some dark red ones years and years ago and the flowers just trailed on the soil.

    • Cathy says:

      This is probably the longest one I have had Jude – it’s amazing, isn’t it?! So tactile too. There is a rope tied between two metal stakes which is holding the clump back, and the cutting beds are slighty raised which just about keeps them from trailing on the ground as they are overhanging the path rather than the soil

      • Heyjude says:

        I think I need a rope and some stakes for my Japanese meadowsweet (Spirea Japonica). I know it is a ‘wild flower/weed’ but it does so attract the bees and butterflies, though this year there seem to be an inordinate number of green flies on it!

  9. Brian Skeys says:

    What have you been feeding them on?

  10. Anna says:

    They are definitely big boys Cathy. Is that string I see to prevent them from dangling on the ground?

    • Cathy says:

      Well it’s rope actually, which I use with my specially made (by a local metal working company) metal stakes with a ring at the top – I have them in several different lengths and use them singly or in 2s or 3s. Here I have used 2 to stop them flopping onto the path

  11. rickii says:

    Mighty impressive!

  12. Stunning. Can you dry them, Cathy?

  13. Noelle says:

    For a vase placed on a high shelf….

Something to say after reading this?

