In a vase on Monday: One in a Thousand

thousandToday is my 1000th post, and in the absence not only of me from home but of 1000 different vases instead you can see a small selection of the vases I do have, mostly acquired since the start of the In a Vase meme. I have briefly toyed with the idea of challenging myself to use a different vase each week but every Monday finds me having to choose a vase to match the contents which can be a challenge in itself, so I will make do with showing many of them for the first time today. Each contains the same sprigs of wallflower and leucojum and is photographed in the same location. The scale, however, may be deceptive as the stems were progressively cut shorter to suit, the tallest vase being around 6″ (15cm) tall and the smallest about 1½” (4cm).

I may not be at home but the meme continues in my absence! Please post comments as usual with links to and from your own Monday vases and I will try and read them when possible but may not be able to comment – you, however, can visit other people’s blogs and check out their vases as normal.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to In a vase on Monday: One in a Thousand

  1. lindachilton says:

    Hi Cathy, I have posted my own vase on Monday, and hope to carry on doing so, its a great idea. I love this collection of vessels.

  2. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Watering Cans | Words and Herbs

  3. Cathy says:

    What a wonderful selection of little vases! And congratulations on 1000 posts! Keep on blogging, and enjoy your break Cathy!
    Here’s my link for today: https://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/in-a-vase-on-monday-watering-cans/

  4. Annette says:

    I’m impressed both by your assortment of vases and your blogging energy – congrats and well done! Keep up the good work 🙂

  5. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – Spring and Summer | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  6. Christina says:

    Congratulations! 1000 posts is quite an achievement. The vases are a lovely idea and interesting to see how the same flowers look in different vases. Here’s my link: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/in-a-vase-on-monday-spring-and-summer/

  7. rusty duck says:

    Many congratulations on your 1000th! x

  8. Congrats on 1000 posts..wow! I love how you used several vases with the same flowers…nice idea and a great way to see the vases….I am trying to use more than one vase at a time with the abundance of spring bulb blooms, and I can put more flowers throughout the house. So here is my post and safe travels!

    Dear Friend and Gardener-Early Veg Garden Begins

  9. pbmgarden says:

    Cathy, you’ve done it again! What a clever idea to highlight your vases this way. Congratulations on reaching the 1000th post.
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/in-a-vase-on-monday-anemones-and-may-night/

  10. Chloris says:

    Congratulations on 1000 posts, what an achievement. I like all your vases and the mossy stone background. I hope you are having a wonderful time and enjoying lots of gardens.
    My contribution to the meme this week: thebloominggarden.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/in-a-vase-on-m…e-spring-again/

  11. Monica says:

    Fantastic idea Cathy! Your right about the vase issue. I have some I rarely use because they “require” a certain look or color to match well. Others? Use them all the time because they are so neutral. So funny! I never realized others had that problem. I thought it was my skill (or more correctly lack of hahahaha)
    Here’s my link…have a good time where ever you are! http://dancingfarmerflowers.com/2015/04/27/monday-in-a-vase-and-outside/

  12. I am a vase junkie! So I love seeing others’ collections. Matching flowers and vase is not always as easy as one would assume. My vase is here: http://eachlittleworld.typepad.com/each_little_world/2015/04/in-a-bowl-on-sunday.html

  13. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – A Dainty Posy | The Patient Gardener's Weblog

  14. Bec says:

    Hope you’re having a lovely holiday and the sun is shining.
    Those vases are lovely Cathy – such a lovely collection esp the blue and green one. How do you clean the small necked ones though.
    Here’s my vase – tulips again as they’re looking great at the moment 🙂

    Raspberry ripple tulips, blossom and holidays! In a vase on Monday

  15. AnnetteM says:

    Congratulation on your 1000th post. That is quite an achievement. You have a wonderful selection of vases. I would love to have more, but am not allowed to buy more stuff until I have cleared out all the junk we have in the house. I suppose that should be an incentive!

  16. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post and many more to come! Your collection of vases is impressive and thanks to the Vase on Monday idea mine is also growing! This is my vase: http://gradinameasialtefermecatorii.blogspot.ro/2015/04/in-vase-on-monday-unforgettable.html

  17. Kris P says:

    Interesting presentation, Cathy. My favorites are the ones on the 2nd left in the 2nd row and the one on the far right in the 3rd row – both red containers so I share your desire to link the flower color to the vase. Congratulations on your 1000th post! I hope you’re enjoying your trip too. Here’s my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/04/in-vase-monday-morning-blues.html

  18. lovely collage of vases in some striking colours! Congratuations on your 1000th post – such an achievement. Here is my link: http://www.suffolkpebbles.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/in-vase-on-mondaypale-shades.html

  19. gardenfancyblog says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post! It’s an accomplishment you can be proud of. Lovely vase selection you have too. -Beth

  20. 1000 posts, such an amazing milestone…Congratulations on your achievement.

  21. johnvic8 says:

    Congratulations, Cathy, on a remarkable achievement. 1000!!! Wow! Your vase collection is also remarkable. Thank you so much for sharing and for this idea.
    https://johnsviccellio.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/in-a-vase-on-monday-irises/

  22. Congratulations on 1) 1000 posts 2) one trillion extremely pretty vases. I am inspired to go vase shopping right away, or would be if the shops weren’t closed. Anyway, thank you for this meme, which keeps me entertained every Monday even though I don’t have any flowers to put in vases myself.

  23. Congratulations on 1,000 posts- that’s some going! Nice to see the emphasis on the vases for once. I’m sure, though, that it’s not luck, but good judgement, that the choice of blooms seem to work well with all of them! Enjoy your holiday!

  24. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – Sweet Pea Success!! | Peonies & Posies

  25. Elizabeth says:

    Congratulations on you 1000 posts – that’s a lot of flower arranging 🙂 And what a fabulous selection vases too. I love the unusual colour of the wallflowers, makes a nice change from the yellows, oranges and browns we have in bloom at the moment. Have a wonderful holiday – I hope the weather stays fine for you. Here’s the link to my vase for this week but don’t worry if you are unable to leave a comment:

    http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/in-vase-on-monday-sunlovers.html

  26. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday | Gwirrel's Garden

  27. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    52 vases??? Now that does sound crazy!!! However, thinking about it… I must be well on my way to having at least 10, so in reality it isn’t really that many.
    Or am I insane?

    Guess what I found the other day???? A little tray of 5 bottles!!! Just like my own, but way cheaper than my original. From B&Q. I bought one for my mum after her mentioning she wish she’d got one. But I’m very tempted to keep it for myself. I went back to see if they had restocked but alas. Maybe I’ll try again next weekend and hope they have more.

  28. Julie says:

    Well done Cathy – 1000 posts is a lot of blogging!! I hope you are having a great break away & I loved the idea of showing all these different vessels with the same content. I think we have both got bulging cupboards as a result of this meme.

    My post this week is at: http://peoniesandposies.com/2015/04/27/in-a-vase-on-monday-sweet-pea-success/

  29. Julie says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post Cathy and I hope you are having a wonderful trip.

  30. rickii says:

    The search for containers; rummaging through dusty shelves or even dustier second hand shops, has been one of the bonus delights of In a Vase.

  31. Eliza Waters says:

    Congrats on your 1000th! Now that is a milestone! Do you post every day? Admirable.
    It was great seeing your vase collection. My garden is starting to come alive, so I hope to be joining your meme soon. Enjoy your holiday!

  32. Amy says:

    Oh, how to choose! No wonder pairing flowers and vase is such a fun thing each week 🙂 Congratulations on 1000 posts – I look forward to reading many more!
    Here is my vase for today (because it is still today here 😉 http://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2015/04/monday-vase-little-serendipity.html

  33. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday | Cosmos and Cleome

  34. What a nice collection of vases you have! And, congratulations on the 1000th post! What commitment! Thank you so much for giving us this forum every week.

    At last, I have Hellobores! And Squill! https://cosmosandcleome.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/in-a-vase-on-monday/

  35. Congrats on 1000th post on a great blog that never disappoints. Thanks for all the hard work it takes to create something worth reading and following!

  36. Anna says:

    Many congratulations on your 1,000 post Cathy. That takes some doing 🙂 Interesting to see the same flowers displayed in a variety of vases. Third from left on the top row just jumps out of the page at me.

  37. bittster says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post! I admire your energy and commitment and it’s always fun to see where blogging takes us. Have a great trip!

  38. Pingback: In A Vase on May Day | Forest Garden

  39. Congratulation on your 1000th post, Cathy! May there be at least 10,000 more! They are spots of happiness for all of us who visit. I hope you are enjoying your trip as much as I enjoyed mine. Home again, I’m offering a tardy vase post with a beautiful little pot I purchased while away. https://forestgardenblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/01/in-a-vase-on-may-day/ Wishing you safe travels and gentle landings! WG

Comments are closed.