We Have the Blues…

IMG_4733

… the grey blue of the slate that lies at the heart of the island where my Mum lives and where we are for a few days before heading further north, the scraps of blue (only enough to make a handkerchief or two for a sailor) between the clouds of the sky, the greeny blue of the ever present sea and the sunnier sky blue of the tiny speck that is the hull of a lone yachtsman sailing on it, and the lavender blue of this unexpected little periwinkle. Seeing the blues – yes, feeling the blues – no 🙂

IMG_4734IMG_4737

This entry was posted in Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to We Have the Blues…

  1. croftgarden says:

    Definitely sun shine and showers, except it’s hail and sleet in the far north. There is a promise of improvement even so I’d pack your thermals!
    It might be more grey than blue, but what a stunning range of hues.

  2. Pauline says:

    Lovely, blue is my favourite colour!

  3. AnnetteM says:

    I am glad you are not feeling the Blues. I agree with Croftgarden – bring your warm clothes. It is very cold here at the moment. Supposed to be -1 tonight! How far up the country are you coming?

  4. Blue is my favorite too! And what a beautifully wild coastal scene. 🙂

  5. Amy says:

    I love blue! Enjoy your trip 🙂

  6. Cathy, you have such a wonderful way with words, I always enjoy your blog. You’ve written about blue beautifully. As my favorite color, I tried to write about blue–using every adjective I could think of–in a post about my favorite deep blue hydrangeas. Terrific post. Happy traveling!

  7. How beautiful, Cathy! I’m remembering my childhood story of enough blue sky to make a pair of sailor’s trousers! Have a lovely trip!

  8. Lovely blues and safe travels.

  9. We’ve got snow at the moment in central Scotland, brrrrrr. I’m envious of your trip and I’ve just come back from the islands, but I love it there, have a great time 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

