In a Vase on Monday: Keeping it Simple

IMG_1035Today’s vase was definitely a case of ‘plonking’, although I did have to wash the dust off the four little inkwells before I used them – we have such a lot of what some people might call ‘clutter’ that it will be a long time before I run out of different props to use, now that my imagination is waking up!

Even though Helleborus niger ‘Christmas Carol’ย  was recently lifted a little higher in the soil the flowers, despite trying very hard, are still not achieving more than around two or at the very most 3 inches of stem. When I say flower, I mean ‘bud’, and this shortness of stature means not only are they still smothered by those lusciously healthy leaves they are also spattered with soil as the rain redistributes the surface of the species snowdrop border within which it is planted. None of the buds have opened yet, so at least by cutting these four musketeers and plonking them in a vase on Monday they will be appreciated at close quarters and may well overcome their shyness and say hello.

There are a few of us now joining in this Monday meme, sharing our finds in what is not in the least a competitive way. If you would like to join us, post your own vase on Monday (occasionally or regularly), add a link to this postย  and also leave a comment here with a link to your post so we can share your offering. For those of us in the northern hemisphere, starting at this time of year has added a certain piquancy to the challenge!

This entry was posted in Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Keeping it Simple

  1. Annette says:

    I do hope that these demure creatures will soon lift their little heads and start filling your home with happiness, dear Cathy ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Chloris says:

    I am joining you in this In a Vase on Monday Meme Cathy, I think it’s a great idea. I love your little Helleborus niger looking so fresh and lovely in ink wells.
    (see Chloris’s vase at http://thebloominggarden.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/in-a-vase-on-monday/ )

    • Cathy says:

      Hurrah – look forward to seeing your ‘vase’, Chloris! The hellebores do indeed look fresh and lovely as I look at them now – demonstrating one of the pleasures of taking on this challenge ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Cracking idea. An army of people doing a little but in synch each week. Love it

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Ben – not quite an army yet, but at least a press gang hasn’t been required and there is a slow dribble of eager recruits! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: A Vase on Monday โ€“ Needs Must | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  5. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday | Peonies & Posies

  6. Hi Cathy,
    It looks like we both opted for an easy week! I love your little bottles and I am a great believer in clutter! Have a look at my offering at http://www.peoniesandposies.com. I am glad to be back!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Julie – and good news about the clutter! I shall have the whole house dusted soon at this rate ๐Ÿ™‚ … that’ll be the day….!

  7. I love your vase selections, I have been aggressively hunting through the vintage shops to have such choices. Have a wonderful day.

  8. Sarah says:

    Love the inkwells Cathy. I too am a bit of a “hoarder”!! We had to get packers to pack our house up to move to NZ (lots of restrictions about what you can and can’t bring to NZ!) and at the end they said they’d never packed up a house with so many “small items” before! Ie my little treasures ๐Ÿ™‚ sorry I didn’t get my vase organised this time….will be back next week ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Cathy says:

      My kitchen is full of chicken things, Sarah, and other vintage kitchenalia but at least I am not adding to my ‘collections’ any more – apart from plants, that is!

Comments are closed.