Six on Saturday: Ballerinas, Bells and Beautiful Blooms

Oriental poppies in any shade may look dramatic when in bloom, but don’t flower for long, flop unattractively and certainly don’t die back well. Somehow they still merit space in a border, but if they start thinking they can take over the world then they are OUT, although removing them is never as easy as one would like it to be. I have a basic fiery scarlet one, pale coral pink Papaver ‘Princess Victoria Louise’ and the more recent acquisition above, ‘Royal Wedding’. The blooms on this one seem particularly large, especially when the petals are splayed out like a frilly tutu – no doubt they will be gone by tomorrow!

I mentioned in my review of May that I was increasingly happy with the borders. The blue & white borders, home to the ‘Royal Wedding’ poppies, were the most recent to get an overhaul and are certainly full of blue and white plants, albeit with many of those on the blue spectrum being sprawling geraniums. As plants establish, those less worthy may be removed, like these blue and campanula (C persicifolia?) which are useful fillers but have a tendency to spread themselves around.

It is a wonderful time of year for roses, and with plenty of sunny periods of late their fragrance is present throughout the garden. The Golfer has already extended the horizontals of the arch supporting ‘Strawberry Hill’, but it is so floriferous and the stems so heavy that they have been known to break under their weight, and a further rethink might be required. With its strawberry pink colour and  strong, sweet fragrance (myrrh and honey, according to David Austin), it quickly became one of my favourite roses. Close by, on an arch at the back of the clematis colonnade, R ‘Wollerton Old Hall’ just cannot compare, although ‘Strawberry Hill’ had a couple of years’ start.

 

 

 

 

 

Sticking with roses, I must be able to see about eight or nine different roses from the kitchen window, so there has been much staring done recently. ‘Gertrude Jekyll’ has been starring on a fence at the back of the shrub border for a few weeks, but matching her pinkness this last week has been the smaller blooms of ‘Harlow Carr’ (below) at the front of the shrub border, not yet leggy as she has a tendency to become later in the season.

Most staring, however, has been at ‘Rural England’, clambering through the apple trees. Shown on Wordless Wednesday recently, she has just got better and better in recent years, exceeding any expectations I might have had – which did not include a long haul trip upwards into the apples. A repeat flowering rambler from Peter Beales, it receives minimal attention, merely any deadheading and cutting back dead side shoots that can be achieved from ground level, and a bit of rose fertiliser each year. A photo like this just does not do it justice and you would have to see it in person to fully appreciate how stunning it is – or, hmm, perhaps I could do a video one of these days…

With many thanks to Jim, the genial host of this Six on Saturday meme – why not check out his website at Garden Ruminations for more garden highlights from around the world?

This entry was posted in borders, Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials, roses, Six on Saturday. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Six on Saturday: Ballerinas, Bells and Beautiful Blooms

  1. Chloris says:

    Yes, oriental poppies flop about, but you forgive them because they shout out ‘June’! And that is why I love them. And they come in lovely colours. Campanula persicifolia is always welcome because it seeds around so generously in shades of blue and white. I haven’t come across Strawberry Hill, it certainly looks like one to look out for, although goodness knows whers I could fit it in.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh certainly, and I so love the brazenness of the red ones! I must try again with Patty’s Plum, which I have never managed to grow đŸ˜¢

      • Chloris says:

        I love the bright red ‘The Beauty of Livermere’ because my father always grew it. It brightens up the garden but doesn’t sit well with June pastels.

        • Cathy says:

          I grew mine from seed some years ago and I can’t remember what variety it was , although I will have a record of what/when, and it it may well still have got its label anyway…

  2. Heyjude says:

    Your roses are gorgeous.

  3. krispeterson100 says:

    Your roses are glorious, Cathy.

  4. Pauline says:

    June is certainly the time for roses, especially the ones with a beautiful perfume. Your Strawberry Hill is certainly beautiful. The campanula seeds very gently round my garden, I’m very pleased to see it wherever it pops up.

  5. Catherine says:

    Your Rosa ‘Strawberry Hill’ is beautiful on the arch. You have a lovely collection of plants that must give you a lot of enjoyment.

  6. I’m about to remove my ‘Patty’s Plum’ once she has flowered but your mention of oriental poppies not being as easy to remove as you would like them to be has got me wondering. Is that because they leave roots behind? Patty is a stunning beauty for about a week or so each year so time to be ruthless methinks. Your ‘Princess Victoria Louise’ really caught my eye when I saw her flowering in your garden Cathy. You must be heading to peak rose time soon and the colour and scent coming from them will be providing you with much pleasure đŸ˜€

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, like Japanese anemones you think you have got all the root, but you never do… đŸ˜‰ I think I would agree that a week is definitely not enough to validate a space – I perhaps get about 3 weeks from my poppies, excluding the seedheads. I could really smell the roses in the air today as there were bright spells and a gentle breeze

  7. IT is interesting to see you have also added a mirror to your garden. I love this idea … and am now wondering if I have a shady corder where I can add one.

    • Cathy says:

      There a few mirrors in the garden, the others probably more discrete than this one, I think it was a thin sheet of mirror on a flexible backing that we placed behind a window taken out of a friend’s door!

  8. That should be corner not corder LoL

  9. The roses look wonderful rising to the heavens on their beautiful structure,
    The Golfer? Good frameworks certainly enhance a garden and the third dimension is such an asset. Love the white poppy.

    • Cathy says:

      ‘The Golfer’ is my partner’s pseudonym on this blog! He is very good at putting my plans for wooden structures into practice – as long as he takes note of the details and doesn’t rush straight into it, as aesthetics are not really his strong point! đŸ¤£

  10. tonytomeo says:

    Those Campanula are nice. An unidentified species of Campanula appeared within one of our landscapes a few years ago, and has been rather prolific since then, but without becoming invasive. I would like to find some of it blooming white. The few species of Campanula that I have encountered commonly produce white blooming progeny, or if they bloom white, they commonly produce blue blooming progeny. Actually, many blue flowers do that, and some, such as lily of the Nile, can fluctuate between blue and white. Jacaranda, plumbago and various lupine that bloom famously blue commonly bloom white also.

  11. Cathy says:

    Even your photo is impressive, so I can only imagine how wondrful that rose really is in real life. I like that white Oriental poppy – I have a lot in various colours dotted around the garden and find they provide colour for weeks as each plant produces dozens of flowers. They must like it here, and I will be looking out for a white one now!

Something to say after reading this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.