Remembering February

February has been an almost surreal month in many ways, so it comes as a surprise that I have remembered that today sees the end of it, allowing me to post a timely review of that garden – not a detailed review, I hasten to add, but just a quick romp round, so please excuse its brevity. We start, as always, with the view from behind the house (above) and of the adjacent streamside and shrub border, the latter from both directions.

The woodland, the view from the bothy at the end of the woodland and from the back of the shed:

The woodland edge from both directions:

Grass border, two bold borders, inside the working greenhouse:

The blue and white borders, rose garden, main borders:

The ‘path less travelled’ in the woodland, obelisk border and view towards the back of the house:

Finally, inside the Coop and the Coop Corner beyond it:

In some ways, it feels as if little has changed over the month, but I know this isn’t the case as each day at this time of year brings subtle new growth – I wonder what is most noticeable to those reading this post?

This entry was posted in End of Month View, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Remembering February

  1. bcparkison says:

    Slow transformation until time to pop.. It always is amazing.

  2. Rosie Amber says:

    It all looks ready to burst forth.

  3. Heyjude says:

    How are your Heucheras? All of mine are looking very ropey. I know they often recover in spring, but I fear some are past saving.

  4. tonytomeo says:

    Actually, I sort of notice the fences and walls. I know I should not, but I do. I dislike fences, but these seem to be well constructed. You know, although cinder block walls are somewhat common in Southern California, brick walls are rare because they fall over during earthquakes.

  5. WordPress has a feature that allows you to show photos side by side with a slider. It might be fun to try that with some of your end of the month photos.

  6. Joanne says:

    I see far more greenery in your garden than last month, Cathy, and is that new growth I see beginning on the almost-bare branches of your roses? And hellebores! I would love as many in my garden in flower as you have in yours. 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I realised later that that is going to be the most obvious thing – and the roses have been producing new shoots for a number of weeks now, starting soon in the New Year, I think

  7. I love the way your garden is divided into rooms. The colour of the trellis is perfect! And your greenhouse … filled with promise.

  8. Cathy says:

    Lovely! I couldn’t say what a main difference is. It just seems to generally be coming to life Cathy and you have so much to look at even in winter. 😃

Comments are closed.