In a Vase on Monday: Keeping Watch at Twilight

I had no preconceived ideas of what I might pick for today’s vase but wanted to avoid hellebores and snowdrops, which would have been the easy option. I don’t have many summer snowflakes, Leucojum aestivum, but the first stems were in bud so I cut three as a starting point, keeping the stems long.

Visualising them in a tall slim vase with some simple foliage, I became distracted in the Coop Corner by Nandina domestica ‘Twilight’, recognising that its mottled green and white foliage would make an ideal partner for the leucojum. The nandina, however, is only a small shrub so the ‘tall slim vase’ idea was now a dead duck, but the adjacent Clematis armandi generously offered up its pretty scented blooms and changed the nature of the vase entirely. The latter’s huge leathery leaves would have looked completely out of scale so were snipped off and replaced with a similarly dark green element in the form of aromatic Choisya ternyata ‘White Dazzler’, which seemed to pull the other snippets together – and if the dazzling white blooms choose to open in the vase then that will be a bonus.

A black matte vase was selected to hold the chosen stems, with the leucojum stems cut to about half their original length to match their counterparts. Utilising the twilight moniker of the nandina as a handle to choose an appropriate title, I remembered the frequent reminders given by several of Noelle’s Monday vases, which have been accompanied by small replica figures of the Terracotta Army, and used one from my own version of the same thing – thanks for the prompts, Noelle! If you would like to join Noelle and myself and several others by finding material from your garden or nearby and popping them into some sort of receptacle, then please do so by using the usual links.

This entry was posted in clematis, early spring, foliage, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Keeping Watch at Twilight

  1. pbmgarden says:

    This is delightful, Cathy. It was fun reading how this vase was conceived and took shape. The foliage choice brings it all together and the dark vase and figure add some evening intrigue. Thanks once again for your loyal hosting efforts. https://pbmgarden.blog/2024/02/26/in-a-vase-on-monday-black-vase-with-iris-garden/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – I am aware my vases in recent weeks have been relatively’simple’ and my IAVOM posts shorter, as I balance all the things going on here. I still say its a privilege to be hosting it anyway 👍

  2. I agree about the variegated foliage – perfect for the Clematis and Leucojum! Hoping the white dazzler opens…

    In a Vase, On Monday – Cutting Back

  3. Donna Donabella says:

    So much blooming for you. Gorgeous white and green against that black vase. Love the spring look. Here everything is tight in the bud due to our recent cold and snow. But we are getting early spring weather this week. So I am hopeful bulbs will actually bloom. Still not sure if we are actually going into a real spring or just a tempting of Mother Nature. https://gardenseyeview.com/2024/02/26/friluftsliv/

  4. A nice calming plant palette. The Nandina is wonderful, I have not seen a varigated one like that. It seems early for that Clematis? Marching onward to spring. https://theshrubqueen.com/2024/02/26/in-a-vase-on-monday-no-guts-no-glory/

  5. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Looking Up | Words and Herbs

  6. Cathy says:

    Very pretty! The foliage really brings everything together Cathy. And the white flowers are all so delicate and peaceful. How lovely to have a winter flowering Clematis. Here is my vase for today:

    In a Vase on Monday: Looking Up

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – I have mixed feelings about the clematis as it is so, so leafy. Great for covering a fece or wall, but then it continually sprawls across the border and I have to keep cutting it back – I can smell it in the vase now though, which is lovely!

  7. krispeterson100 says:

    A lot of twists and turns in compiling today’s arrangement, Cathy! The result is exceptionally pretty. I love the variegation in that Nandina foliage and will have to take a look around to see if I can find that variety. My Hippeastrums are taking center stage once again this week: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2024/02/in-vase-on-monday-whats-better-than-one.html

    • Cathy says:

      Nandinas are such great foliage plants and look good all the year round. I did buy another one last year called ‘Lemon and Lime’ but it seems to have failed and I need to chase up on its guarantee…

  8. Those clematis flowers are beautiful Cathy. I’ve not come across that nandina before. It’s most distinct.’Twilight’ is an appropriate name. What height does it reach? No vase from me today. Himself and I have visited Arley Gardens. It was a most enjoyable stroll but I was perished on our return and I’m still thawing out 🥶

    • Cathy says:

      Brr, chilly here too, Anna, mainly because a slight breeze, but how nice to be visiting a garden 👍 The nandina is probably about 18″ tall and has barely grown since I had it – I certainly wouldn’t have bought it if it was more than I metre tall (sorry to mix metric and imperial!) I don’t think I have used these clematis blooms in a vase before but after 24 hrs they are still looking good and I can now smell them, so I am sure I will use them again

  9. Noelle says:

    I love the fulsome arrangement with choice and special plants this week. The clematis is such a nice thing to bring indoors. I did not have quite the right ‘domino’ this week, but I see with the soldier, you certainly have a good follow on. Here is my contribution: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2024/02/violets-are-not-always-blue-for-in-vase.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Noelle – the arrangement still looks really fresh, a few days on, including the clematis, so I shall again certainly use the latter in a vase

  10. Annette says:

    Just wonderful, Cathy, so delicate and luminous. I’m usually not a fan of variegated foliage but the Nandina certainly has something. Can’t believe that your armandii is flowering already. We’re approaching the end of C. cirrhosa season here.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – the vase still looks surprisingly fresh, including the clematis. It’s curious about the nandina because, like you, I am not a fan of variegated foliage, but strangely don’t even think of the nandina as being variegated….! 😉 Hmm, is it because the colouring is more delicate, or because it looks more like accidental spattering? Who knows how my brain works…?! 🤣

      • Annette says:

        Depends on the variegation I guess. Yesterday on my walk I spotted a variegated Helleborus viridis (they’re flowering en masse right now), most peculiar. I cut back hard our Nandina and hope she won’t sulk and will put up fresh shoots soon.

        • Cathy says:

          Can’t imagine a variegated hellebore Annette!! I hope your nandina doesn’t sulk. Here, I try to make sure I choose varieties that don’t grow tall – Obsessed only grows to about a metre, I think

  11. Very nicely done! So elegant. ❤

  12. I like your green and white combination and the lovely vase. Another wonderful vase on Monday.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you – I have not used that clematis in a vase before but will certainly do so again. The white is almost startlingly bright

  13. tonytomeo says:

    Oh, that nandina is pretty. I am unfamiliar with it. Mine is not growing yet, so is still quite red. It is an old fashioned compact cultivar that looks like the straight species, but of course, a bit more compact. I should have gotten a copy of the straight species when I had the chance. I have not seen it in a long time.

    • Cathy says:

      This one doesn’t seem to get red new growth, Tony, but I must look out to see what form it does take…

      • tonytomeo says:

        The red foliage is from last year. It is not very red if well watered. Ours gets quite red because it gets no water through summer. Yours is likely compact. The tall sorts are rare because they fall over. I just like it because it is what I remember.

  14. Joanne says:

    It’s five days since this post was written and I’m wondering if the buds in your vase opened, Cathy? I had rosebuds in one of my vases, but no luck with them opening. The variegated leaves look just as lovely as the “White Dazzler”, they compliment each other beautifully.
    Here is my contribution from last Monday ~ https://homelifeonlineblog.com/2024/02/26/in-a-vase-on-monday-its-all-about-the-roses-%f0%9f%8c%b9/

    • Cathy says:

      I have been away from my laptop much of the week, Joanne, so I am playing catch up – and yes, White Dazzler is beginning to open in the last remnants of the vase, a week later

Comments are closed.