In a Vase on Monday: At the Double

Just a very quick IAVOM post from me today, a teeny Bretby Pottery salesman’s sample jug, with a posy of common double snowdrops, Galanthus ‘Flore Pleno’. They may be ‘common’, but that doesn’t stop them being exceedingly pretty, with their frilly white tutus and generous green markings. And if we are going to use a double domino as a prop, let’s have a double six!

If you would like to join us on IAVOM today, with or without a prop, please do so by leaving the usual links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, early spring, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, snowdrops, Winter, winter interest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: At the Double

  1. Noelle says:

    That pretty little jug is just perfect for displaying your double snowdrops. Not surprisingly I can place my ‘domino’ against yours as I have snowdrops, but it is not a double six, more like a six and a five! https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2024/02/snowdrops-and-friends-in-vase-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Noelle – the jug is only about 3″ tall and is perfect for them. I have realised as I write this reply that I haven’t noticed a fragrance inside, and am wondering if perhaps they are not as fragrant as G nivalis? Must check

  2. The snowdrops are very pretty and I love the little jug. I don’t recall having seen the doubles, but they are wonderful. Are they more common than the fancy varieties? You have made me wonder what happened to some jugs my mother had that were very similar. Thanks for hosting https://theshrubqueen.com/2024/02/05/in-a-vase-on-monday-southwestern/

  3. Donna Donabella says:

    Such a sweet vase of snowdrops. Seeing a few peaking out and other bulbs too with greenery. Supposed to be an early spring. I can hope as pussy willows begin to open three weeks ahead of the earliest time I have seen before. Maybe I will have flowers from my garden sometime this month. I doubt it because I know it will get cold again, but I will hope. https://gardenseyeview.com/2024/02/05/in-a-vase-on-monday-whats-that/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Donna, and yes, it will only need a small rise in temperature for your bulbs to put on a spurt and come into bloom. Gardeners are generally very hopeful people, aren’t they?

  4. bcparkison says:

    Love this…So sweet.

  5. krispeterson100 says:

    I love today’s simple arrangement! Both jug and prop are perfect. I’d be thrilled if I could grow that double snowdrop. I have a double Hippeastrum this week: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2024/02/in-vase-on-monday-hip-hip-hippeastrums.html

    As always, thanks for hosting, Cathy.

  6. Every bit as special as our ‘special’ snowdrops Cathy and not as fussy or slow to clump up as some of them 😀

  7. hb says:

    They may be “common” but they are still uncommonly lovely.

  8. pbmgarden says:

    That’s one of the prettiest snowdrops I’ve seen. Uncommonly beautiful and the little vase is perfect. https://pbmgarden.blog/2024/02/05/in-a-vase-on-monday-hellebore-with-cerinthe/

  9. tonytomeo says:

    ‘Common’ obviously has its appeal. If I ever grow snowdrops, I would prefer a common sort, likely a simple species, rather than a complicated cultivar.

  10. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday ~ Yellow and Mauve – In My World

  11. Joanne says:

    Cathy, they are not common to me as I can’t grow them in our hot climate so I appreciate every photo I see! And I love the closeup shot, showing the lime green detail, so pretty. 🙂
    My contribution for this week can be found here ~~ https://homelifeonlineblog.com/2024/02/05/in-a-vase-on-monday-yellow-and-mauve/

  12. I totally agree with your initial thoughts on these common beauties. I have some, too, and it’s a happy day when they’re blooming. Happy Vase Day!

  13. Cathy says:

    Very pretty! I love the frilliness of these double flowers and picking them for a vase is the best way to enjoy them. 😃

Comments are closed.