In a Vase on Monday: Fairy Tales

The Tulip Fairy on the cover of my copy of Cicely May Barker’s ‘Complete Book of the Flower Fairies’, the prop for today, looks as if she is just stepping down from it onto the stand holding the test tubes, to mingle with the snowdrops. If any flower was to have an associated fairy, it surely must be the snowdrop, with its delicate ethereal appearance and fluttering gait. This gaggle of double snowdrops, the common Galanthus flore pleno, will surely have plenty of tales to tell: they are probably not as demure and innocent as they might seem, and the unsuspecting Tulip Fairy may have to cover her ears to prevent embarrassment.

The Golfer, at my request, made a number of these test tube holders for me last year, to accommodate some of the bargain batch of test tubes I bought on eBay some years ago. so I have a range of sizes at my disposal, plus some available for sale at our open gardens. These are perfect for blooms like snowdrops but there are also longer tubes which readily accommodate much taller stems. A visitor last June bought one to use for cuttings – also a great idea. Although there are a number of clumps of these double snowdrops flowering around the garden, with just a week to go till our open day I didn’t want to deplete their number greatly, and the display units show off an economically small number of stems to good effect.

Can you spare any blooms or twigs from your garden this week, or garner any from your local verge or hedgerow? If you would like to share them with us on IAVOM, please do so by leaving the usual links.

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, early spring, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, open gardens, snowdrops, Winter, winter interest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Fairy Tales

  1. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Snowdrops and Ivy | Wild Daffodil

  2. Yes! Tulip Fairy does look as if she is about to tiptoe through the snowdrops. I do love those test tube holders for your collections of blooms. I am sharing snowdrops as well. https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2023/02/06/in-a-vase-on-monday-snowdrops-and-ivy/

  3. Heyjude says:

    A beautiful book and what a clever handy man your Golfer is. The snowdrops look lovely.

  4. pbmgarden says:

    Your snowdrops are lovely and I like the carful way you staged tulip fairy to step into the scene. Test tubes have a compelling, satisfying shape and they make great vases. Your golfer did a nice job creating the holders. Best to you both.
    I am sorry to have missed participating recently but I managed a quick assemblage this week. https://pbmgarden.blog/2023/02/06/in-a-vase-on-monday-colors-of-february/

  5. Kudos to the Golfer for a wonderful test tube vase invention. The test tubes are a wonderful way to display your Snowdrops. Think the fairy is blushing? Here is some tropical madness for this Monday. https://theshrubqueen.com/2023/02/06/in-a-vase-on-monday-modern-bromeliad/

  6. croftgarden says:

    How delightful. Snowdrops are so delicate that they deserved to be displayed as individuals.

  7. Noelle Mace says:

    Mr Golfer created more than one! What a gem he is, and know they will be snapped up at your open garden days. Of course we all love fairies and snowdrops and how clever to have staged the two together. Here is my little arrangement this week: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2023/02/in-vase-on-monday-snowdrops-and-cyclamen.html

    • Cathy says:

      I have about 4 variations and there are about half a dozen for sale – it was all dependent on the number and height of the test tubes. To be honest, Noelle, I just wanted something quick as I had a lot to do, and didn’t think the title was as inspired as I like them to be – but as usual, it turned out OK!

  8. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Winter Dreams | Words and Herbs

  9. Cathy says:

    The Golfer has done a great job with the vase holder Cathy. And the test tubes are just the right size for your snowdrops. I do like the way the fairy is stepping out of the book cover to join the others! I struggled to find anything under the snow and ice today, but here is something I kept in reserve for the winter: https://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2023/02/06/in-a-vase-on-monday-winter-dreams/

  10. Kris P says:

    That may be your most inspired prop yet, Cathy! It does indeed look like the flower fairy is stepping out of her book to take a closer look at your featured snowdrops. Snowdrops don’t grow here – I haven’t even had much luck with summer snowflakes – but I’ve become enamored by them after seeing the flowers in posts from the UK over the years. My cutting garden is still relatively bare but of course I found enough to fill a vase (or 2): https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2023/02/in-vase-on-monday-foxgloves.html

    • Cathy says:

      I certainly couldn’t have planned for the fairy to step down like this – in fact, perhaps if I look now she will be just standing prim and proper with her feet firmly together…😉

  11. tonytomeo says:

    Those test tube holders work well for rooting cuttings in water. Separate test tubes for single or a few cuttings are better than larger containers of several crowded cuttings with mingling roots. Test tubes are not narrower on top, so overgrown roots do not get so squished when removed.

    • Cathy says:

      I think you will be right, Tony, and yet most of us will just pop them into a jamjar or whatever comes to hand

      • tonytomeo says:

        Yes, I do that exactly, and have used those tiny booze bottles that I find at work just because I find them to be pretty. I grew a few cuttings of pineapple sage that way after accidentally breaking the branches off. Much of the roots break off when I finally realize how much they have rooted and remove them. Of course, they are pineapple sage, so grow like weeds anyway.

  12. bcparkison says:

    Snow drops just look so clean and fresh after a long winter.

  13. Anna says:

    Oh the tulip fairy definitely wants to join in the party Cathy – she must be patient though and let the snowdrops have their moment of glory in the limelight. There will be a Flower Fairies exhibition on at an art gallery fairly near to us, from mid April onwards featuring over 40 of the artist’s original paintings 😂 Can’t wait to go What an excellent idea to use the tubes for cuttings as you would be able to see signs of rooting. The Golfer is a most able man indeed.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh how wonderful to be able to see the original paintings! My Mum only recently told and then showed me that she had some very early editions of the original books

  14. No blooms here yet, but it’s always a thrill to see them on your blog and others this time of year. Cheers! Happy late winter…nearly spring…

  15. I enjoyed your clever prose, Cathy. Those snowdrops look right at home in your test tube windfall. I’m impressed with the Golfer’s craftsmanship, and also the idea of selling these on your open garden days. That sounds like fun.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you – the test tube vases are so versatile, although we didn’t actually sell any yesterday, so perhaps not everyone sees their potential like I do!

Comments are closed.