In a Vase on Monday: Sticks and Stones

As promised, temperatures on Sunday, as I write this, have crept above freezing and steady rain is doing what it can to remove the last traces of frost before temperatures continue rising through the night to take us into double digits tomorrow, when you will be reading this. Such a contrast with the last 12 days or so!

The unexpectedly lengthy period of freezing weather put paid to any of the remaining blooms in the garden, now all but limp shadows of themselves, leaving just sticks. However, we know that gardens are at least always full of hope, and these sticks hold promise – the catkins of twisted hazel Corylus avellana ‘Contorta’, buds of winter flowering Japanese apricot Prunus mume ‘ Beni-chidori’ and, for good measure, a stem of witch hazel Hamamelis vernalis ‘Amethyst’. They are held in place in a cubic blue vase from Chive by a metal frog, and accompanied by a handful of stones, crystals for each of our seven chakras.

Sticks and stones still fulfil the IAVOM brief, so even in the absence of blooms could you find anything from your garden or foraged locally that you could share with us today? If you can, please leave the usual links to and from this post so that we can share in the pleasure you get from your findings.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Winter, winter interest. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Sticks and Stones

  1. Noelle says:

    This time of year shows up the form of shrubs and trees to great effect, and make for a delightful restful arrangement. Here is my contribution: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2022/12/the-cheats-way-for-in-vase-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Noelle – not sure what my alternative would have been otherwise. Hmm, actually I do know, but I was saving it/them for next week!

  2. I love sticks and stones as long as they don’t involve breaking bones and especially contorted sticks. i have yet to find any contorted things that will grow here. It was a surprising 49 F (9.4 C) this morning here. No falling iguanas yet. Thank you for hosting and Happy Christmas, Cathy. https://theshrubqueen.com/2022/12/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-deerly-blingloved/

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, no bones have been broken here, despite some slippy paths when we had showers after our long period of frost. Much milder today, but a stiff breeze has taken the edge off it. Your 9.4 degrees must seem jolly cold to you!

  3. Kris P says:

    Flowers are fading quickly even in my much warmer climate, although my incredible dahlia still has a bloom and a couple of buds! (I haven’t used it this week, though.) I hope you do indeed enjoy warmer temperatures this week. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2022/12/in-vase-on-monday-gift-flowers-and-hand.html

  4. Kris P says:

    Oh, and merry Christmas too!!!

  5. tonytomeo says:

    Hey, I just pruned some native hazel. It is not as interesting as yours. I know I should have waited, but knew that if I did not do it while there working on another project, I would not return to do it later.

  6. pbmgarden says:

    I like your “stems with a future” Cathy! My, you’ve had some cold times. Cold here too and that’s ok for a few days. Makes it feel more seasonal for the holidays. After another little health blip we’re settling down again, but sorry I did miss Monday’s vase. Wishing you a warm and Merry Christmas!

    • Cathy says:

      I wonder if the winter storm we have been hearing aboit has reached you, Susie – from what I have read, our cold spell here was nothing in comparison! I hope things stay settled after the health blip and that you both have a happy,, healthy and peaceful Christmas and New Year.

  7. Anna says:

    Oh there is such hope and anticipation in your vase this week Cathy. It warmed up here dramatically overnight Sunday but when I got out into the garden after a Christmas tree hunt, I could see very little in the way of colour and even less in the way of light 😂 Hopefully I will find some small treasure to pick next Monday.

  8. Before I clicked on this photo to enlarge it, I though you had embroidered the image onto muslin. It’s lovely either way.

    • Cathy says:

      Aw, thanks. The backdrop is an old sheet and when I crop shots for a close up it always surprises me how much like muslin it looks – and, curiously, for many years I did use muslin in counted thread embroidery but samplers and not anything like an image of these sticks and stones!!

Comments are closed.