In a Vase on Monday: Forgiving

I decided to use these roses in my Monday vase because they are so forgiving despite being overlooked and neglected. Climbing rose ‘Parkdirektor Riggers’ is probably the rose that has been in the garden the longest – the wall that the bold borders back onto was built in 2001 so the rose, which is trained (using the term loosely) against it would have been added soon after this. As I tend to be looking down at the borders when I ramble to this end of the garden I often don’t think to look up at it…

…and more often than not, when I DO notice it, it is from the other side, by the greenhouse and cutting beds…

I don’t know when it started flowering (because I didn’t notice!) – but it will go on flowering until the first frosts by which time it will be covered in large orange rose hips because it never gets deadheaded (because I don’t notice it!). In fact, I probably notice the hips more than the flowers because the borders are having a rest by the time they arrive, and indeed the hips are a wonderful sight and have been used several times in vases over the years. The plant does get pruned every year, the only attention it gets, with every side shoot trimmed to 6 inches or so: easy peasy.

A simple foil for the roses is a form of thalictrum which I think is probably the common meadow rue, originating from a sister’s garden and an offshoot taken because I thought it looked pretty: it does look pretty but it spreads too readily and I often ‘rue’ my decision to add it to the garden. The vase is a gorgeously tactile and heavy piece of glass which suggests quality but sadly has no markings to identify it; accompanying it is an ‘Apache tear’, a form of obsidian, which it is believed can promote forgiveness. The white inclusions are perlite, the result of excessive water in the cooling of the lava which formed the obsidian. The name is an informal nickname for this type of obsidian, reputedly relating to a surprise attack against an Apache tribe in the 1870s.

When I do notice this rose in bloom I always intend to watch out for it more frequently, but in practice don’t suppose this will happen, so I am happy to be featuring it to today and hope that it will forgive me, with or without the support of an Apache tear. If you feel motivated to find some blooms or other material from your garden today and pop them in a vase, with or without a story, then please consider sharing them with us by leaving links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, roses. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Forgiving

  1. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – feet up! | Duver Diary

  2. jenhumm116 says:

    What a super dark colour – I’ve not heard of that rose before. I wonder who Riggers was? Sounds like a very obliging, good doer (the rose, jury’s out about Riggers, absent further particulars!)
    Here’s mine https://duverdiary.wordpress.com/2019/06/17/in-a-vase-on-monday-feet-up/

    • Cathy says:

      I feel almost ashamed not to have given it much notice, especially as it was quite a common rose when I bought it, when I knew very little about roses. I can see how attractive it is now, looking at it in the vase… I did try to google a history of it before I posted, with no success

  3. All the elements working so beautifully together. The vase makes me want to cup it in both hands and feel its weight. The thalictrum adds a pleasing light airy balance.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sandra – it always amazes me how the simplest vases are often the prettiest. The vase itself would have been from a car boot sale and has a white interior, to add additional class

  4. It is a rich velvet red like a 1980s frock. I am joining you with the flowers I took to Liz for her Winslow in bloom opening
    https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com

  5. jenmac13 says:

    Morning all, isn’t it just delightful to start the week with roses? They’re wonderfully forgiving, and adorably generous. T

    hat deep, rich red of your roses, Cathy, is delicious.

    This week, I’ve been rewarded for rescuing a few overgrown roses with some beautiful blooms, and brought out my biggest vase to show them off…

    Start the week with roses

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Some best features in the garden provide that steady, easy element year after year. Beautiful richness to the red hue of the rose. And you photographed the arrangement so well. Thanks for hosting Cathy–hope you have a great week ahead.

    In A Vase On Monday – Scarlet

    • Cathy says:

      Aw thanks Susie – and I am so pleased I gave it some attention today as I have realised that it is a pretty little rose, however ‘ordinary’ it might be,

  7. Noelle says:

    I love the arrangement, and the views of the rose in the garden. Rose hips are an autumnal bonus…so your rose with its blooms held high, has a two season role. Great composition…Have a great week….Roses too from me this week…..https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2019/06/in-vase-on-monday-full-of-grace.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Noelle – I don’t overlook other good do-ers in the garden, so don’t know why I neglect this one the way I do

  8. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday: Sweet Peas – Carrots and Calendula

  9. What a lovely rose Cathy! You can’t beat a red rose. After many months absence I am joining you again with a simple bunch of sweet peas.

  10. the running wave says:

    Lovely to see your red beauty in situ and I am sure she will enjoy being centre of attention in your vase today! Very pretty, and I expect she is popular with the bees with access to the centre of the flower. A great rose! I can’t claim ownership of my vase this week, but I think it is rather special! Amanda
    https://therunningwave.blogspot.com/2019/06/a-magnificent-vase-on-monday.html

  11. Love how you mimicked the red wall with that gorgeous red vase. My roses are still a few weeks away; here, Iris are still in their glory. Here are a few:
    https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/23894299/posts/2314148577

  12. Hi Cathy, I feel so sorry for your beautiful red roses – to be so ignored! I think you may be forgiven now that they are the centre of attention. They look just perfect in that gorgeous red vase. Interesting information on the obsidian too. I’ve left the roses alone today and gone for something quite different: https://silverscrappers.blogspot.com/2019/06/in-vase-on-monday-wildflowers.html

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, it doesn’t deserve to be overlooked, although for the rose hips it wouldn’t want to be deadheaded so a certain degree of neglect is useful…!

  13. Oh, the deep color of these roses are gorgeous! I need to add a deeper shade like this to my roses as all I have now are pinks. Interestingly, I’m also sharing some roses today. Hope you enjoy! https://angiebaer.com/blog/always-go-for-simplicity

  14. I love the glass vase and the roses. I had to laugh about your ruing the rue. I have a few plants like that. I am amazed at how easily some of these Roses grow for you. It is funny how sometimes you don’t see what is right in front of you. Here is my vase http://theshrubqueen.com/2019/06/17/in-a-vase-on-monday-rainbows/

  15. That rose is a beauty. I love the way it looks floating above the wall in the third photo. My offering for today is here: https://www.lindabrazill.com/each_little_world/2019/06/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-last-peony.html

  16. bcparkison says:

    What a beauriful deep color. and I especially love the brick wall it climbs on.

  17. Kris P says:

    That’s a glorious rose, Cathy. However, I do understand the problem with looking up as I also seem to focus mainly on eye level views of the garden and below too. It’s fortunate that so many plants flourish under benign neglect. My post includes a couple of first for the summer season: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2019/06/in-vase-on-monday-dahlias-have-arrived.html

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, and it just shows, as I think I am quite observant in the garden normally but perhaps its lack of required attention has meant I just take it for granted

  18. Oh glad that you looked up this week Cathy and spotted that beautiful rose in full fettle. What a rich colour. As Kris says in her comment the tendency is to look ahead and down. I once made a special effort on a garden visit to look not only up but backwards too which was a most interesting experience 😄

    • Cathy says:

      And seeing it in a vase like this, with the blooms concentrated together makes a difference, as on the plant the blooms are strung out along a lot of bare stem. Looking backwards sounds a good idea too, unless you retrace your steps in the opposite direction which would have the same effect

Comments are closed.