In a Vase on Monday: For My Big Girl

We recently had a brief visit from Elder Daughter and The Poppet, all of us trying to cram what we have to do into what seems like so little time. Lovely to see them both, and for her and Younger Daughter and the Popsicle to catch up too. Believe it or not, the Poppet starts school next week! Since she was a teenager, Elder Daughter has had a penchant for yellow roses and amidst everything else I was trying to do I reminded myself of this and picked a few blooms of The Poet’s Wife for the room they were to sleep in, popping them into one of my many stoneware ink bottles along with a tiny fern frond. I know she will have noticed and appreciated the gesture even though there wasn’t time to share such niceties! I too have learned (eventually!) to appreciate yellow roses, and The Poet’s Wife is such a beautiful, floriferous and citrussy-fragrant full-petalled one, typical of the modern English roses that David Austin breeds.

‘Time’ for many things is indeed in short supply, and yet again I shall have to ask you to look after yourselves for this week’s In a Vase on Monday. I may or may not be able to reply to your comments or see your vases but I shall try to catch up where I can; in the meantime, I hope to be posting occasional pictures of pretty gardens for your delectation…

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, roses and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: For My Big Girl

  1. Pingback: In a vase or three on Monday – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  2. AlisonC says:

    Gorgeous, the yellow ones always smell so good. I’m sure she appreciated them and isn’t it good to be able to pick and share? Struggling here with no jnternet connection and it’s really beyond my patience level to try and post from my phone! Imagine me enjoying pale pink China asters and amaranthus.

  3. Christina says:

    I have learned to like all colours as I believe they all are ‘right’ in certain lights or situations. I hope you have a love break as I guess you are travelling the country meeting bloggers and seeing lovely gardens – enjoy! Here’s my link: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2018/09/03/in-a-vase-or-three-on-monday/
    I’m also busy dealing with the crops, and beginning the autumn planting and tidy as we have had more rain yesterday.

  4. pbmgarden says:

    The yellow roses form a delicious bouquet. So happy for your family get-together–most precious moments. Thanks for hosting Cathy.

    In A Vase On Monday – Tangerine Glow

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – sadly I didn’t experience them altogether though… 😏 but it was nevertheless good to see the visitors for the short time that we did so

  5. Pingback: In a Jam Jar on Monday | Wild Daffodil

  6. Pingback: In a vase on Monday | Garden Dreaming at Châtillon

  7. Cathy says:

    Sounds like you are a family of ‘sweeties’, Cathy, what with the Popsicle and the Poppet. Love ‘Poet’s Wife … a luscious, good-enough-to-eat rose. Here’s my contribution: https://gardendreamingatchatillon.wordpress.com/2018/09/03/in-a-vase-on-monday-19/
    Have a wonderful time together!

  8. Joanna says:

    My sister also loves yellow roses and I must admit they’ve grown on me too, although I usually go for the pale pink or cream ones. But the English roses are all beautiful no matter what color they are!! 🙂 I planted a David Austin ‘Crocus’ rose last year to satisfy us both (it starts out pale yellow and fades to cream). But sadly it didn’t survive the winter.
    Here’s my simple bouquet this week…
    http://heirloomcottagegarden.weebly.com/blog/in-a-vase-on-monday-new-vase-and-favorite-cosmos

  9. Don’t those blooms look lovely and fulsome. I’m not a fan of yellow flowers in the gardenas so many wild flowers are yellow, but those do look worth having.
    Here is a quick posy from my garden: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2018/09/03/in-a-jam-jar-on-monday/

  10. Color is always such a subjective topic. I love the roses simply displayed as you have them and I am betting your Daughter did as well. I hope you are taking a lovely break to tour some gardens and see the seasons begin to change. Looking forward to the pictures. Thank you for all your work in taking care of the Vasers! Here is my vase http://theshrubqueen.com/2018/09/03/in-a-vase-on-monday-whispers-of-fall/

  11. Aww, this was such a lovely thing to do. I’ve never been a fan of yellow roses BUT I love these ones and their soft tone. And I shall look for this kind in the DA catalog. Today I am sharing possibly some of what may be my last wildflowers. https://angiebaer.com/blog/the-feel-of-a-nature-illustration

  12. I love yellow roses and those are exquisitely beautiful. What a joy it would be to have roses so late in the season. I’m very sure she appreciated your gesture and what a lovely one it is.

    this week’s bouquet

  13. Peter Herpst says:

    Poppet starting school already? How did that happen so quickly? They grow so fast. I know your eldest daughter appreciated the yellow roses; they’re so very pretty.

  14. Kris P says:

    I adore yellow roses too even though I no longer have any. I’m sure your daughter appreciated the gesture and I expect your Poppet enjoyed them too. I’ve no doubt you enjoyed your family gathering even if it was brief. Thanks for keeping IAVOM on track despite your busy schedule. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2018/09/in-vase-on-monday-keeping-things-light.html

  15. Alison says:

    Beautiful yellow roses, and so sweet of you to remember that your daughter likes them. I hope she did appreciate the gesture. My post is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2018/09/in-vase-on-monday.html

  16. I like yellow roses very much. Cathy, I am very happy to see her family again: they are very missed. It is a wonderful gesture to leave “The Poet’s Wife” roses yellow to your daughter. That’s how they ended up liking the yellow roses! Greetings from Margarita.

  17. There is a lovely sweetness in that arrangement – a perfect token of love and beauty.

  18. Oh just where has that time gone Cathy? I hope that the Poppet takes to school like a duck to water. Now there are varying shades of yellow but ‘The Poet’s Wife’ is a most appealing mellow yellow 🙂 No doubt your daughter appreciated your loving gesture.

  19. These are beautiful roses 🙂 sounds like you’ve had a lovely time visiting the family. Hope Poppet enjoys school 🙂 Here’s my link on a new website – hope it works OK. I’m full of a cold so nipped out to pick petunias – I’ve written about a pause/mindfulness photo challenge on instagram I’m following #BreatheSeptember2018.
    lots love Bec

    Breathe – #BreatheSeptember2018 – petunias In a Vase on Monday

  20. Pingback: Here comes the sun (and I say, it’s all right) – Edinburgh Garden Diary

  21. I’m just in time for IAVOM this week! Looks like life is keeping you busy these days too, Cathy. Gorgeous yellow roses – I am so glad you are able to forgive these for being yellow. Such a lovely, soft shade can’t be too hard to put up with at all. Your daughter has excellent taste in roses! I have a yellow flower for you this week, you’ll be delighted to hear (or not). Its hue is somewhat more garish, so sunglasses may be in order: https://edinburghgardendiary.com/2018/09/03/here-comes-the-sun-and-i-say-its-all-right/

  22. That’s a beautiful rose, and I think we enjoy it almost as much as your daughter certainly did. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for hosting. I’m adding this after your Monday, but still mine. I hope that’s OK. 😉 https://plantpostings.blogspot.com/2018/09/playing-with-colors-and-vases.html

Comments are closed.