In a Vase on Monday: Forgive Me For I have Sinned

IMG_6254Only a little sin, I think, but like this time last year I have purloined a few snippets from the front garden of the flat we have been staying in. Back in Edinburgh for our now annual family get together, this year it was my Mum’s 90th birthday and therefore rather special, with many more family members than usual and from all parts of the UK (and one from beyond). No time for out and abouts this year, but of course Monday means a vase and here it is…

Last year the snippets were only foliage but this time I have sneaked blooms from an unknown persicaria, a yellow wallflower and a pelargonium, along with a lovely maple, spent sprays of astilbe and a sprig or two of winter flowering jasmine. Unlike home, the flat boasts blank tiled walls in the kitchen which make an effective background for the wine glass and its simple contents.

Do see what you can find in your own gardens or purloined elsewhere and plonk them in a vase to brighten your week. I will probably not have time to reply to any comments left on this post but I shall catch up with your own vases as soon as I can.

IMG_6257

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Forgive Me For I have Sinned

  1. Cath says:

    Very cheerful and upbeat with the pink and citrus colours. I like the persicaria with its dark stems.
    My colours are more muted again this week, although the garden is bursting with colour. Perhaps because it’s been raining. http://absentgardener.com/2015/11/23/in-a-vase-on-monday-lichfield-angels/

  2. Hannah says:

    The pelargoniums and persicarias are such bright reds, they make a very vibrant vase, and the yellow leaves and spent astilbes add some nice touches. You did well foraging in another garden, and so dedicated when off visiting and celebrating your mother’s birthday, Cathy.

    My link is-
    http://weedingonthewildside.blogspot.com/2015/11/frosty-weather-juncos-in-vase-on-monday.html

  3. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – You’d think it was spring! | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  4. Christina says:

    Do give your mum my very best wishes for her birthday Cathy and have a wonderful time celebrating with her. The wine glass as vase is most apt! You found such a lot in an Edinburgh garden, lovely bright colours. Here’s my post for today: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/in-a-vase-on-monday-youd-think-it-was-spring/

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Isn’t it amazing what the garden keeps giving so late in the season? Best wishes to your mother on her 90th (quite an achievement!) and to the rest of your family. Enjoy your time together!
    My arrangement this week is very autumnal! http://wp.me/p3O3z4-RF

  6. Brian Skeys says:

    I think you are aloud a small sin Cathy to celebrate your mothers 90th birthday.
    Enjoy your family get together.
    The link to my vase is: http://ourgarden19.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-231115.html

  7. Best wishes to your mum Cathy! And this vase is no sin, it is a stroke of genius. All those plants love to be snipped so no harm at all. Just a creative gardener….have a lovely time.

    Here’s my entry and it was wonderful that the flowers in the vase are the same ones I am profiling and they are still blooming.

  8. pbmgarden says:

    You’ve assembled a great collection of blooms. Nice of you to do a little pruning/ deadheading for the owners! Wonderful for your family to be together to celebrate with your mother. Happy Birthday to her!
    I think it turned out warmer than predicted last night, so my title is a bit exaggerated, but here is my contribution:
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/in-a-vase-on-monday-rescues-ahead-of-the-cold/

  9. Pingback: In a vase on Monday: November, no pro | homeslip

  10. homeslip says:

    What lovely flowers from what must be a chilly Edinburgh. A very happy birthday to your mum and hope you’re having a lovely break from all your hard work in the garden recently. Here is my vase today: https://homeslip.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/in-a-vase-on-monday-november-no-problem/

  11. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Wrapping up for Winter | Words and Herbs

  12. Cathy says:

    I hope you all have a wonderful family get together and Happy Birthday to your Mum! I think we can all forgive you as you have managed to produce a vase away from home yet again – such dedication! And what a charming collection of flowers too. The maple leaf sets it all off nicely. Here’s my vase for today. Thank you for hosting as always!

  13. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: | A Walk in the Garden

  14. johnvic8 says:

    I think you can have confidence that your sins are forgiven. Very nicely done. https://johnsviccellio.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/in-a-vase-on-monday-11/

  15. Peter/Outlaw says:

    It’s a bright and cheerful arrangement, purloined or not. Happy birthday to your mum! My hastily thrown together vase is here: http://www.outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-quickie.html

  16. Elizabeth says:

    How lovely for you and your family to be enjoying a get-together for you Mum’s most important birthday. And you have still found time to create an arrangement, albeit from purloined material. Love the combination of pinks and yellows. It does seem odd to have pelargonium and winter jasmine in bloom at the same time – what a strange year we have had! I almost picked a few spent astilbe sprays too this week, but decided against it in favour of ivy and euonymous 🙂 http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday.html

  17. Sam says:

    Happy birthday to your mum! A lovely wine glass of flowers to celebrate. I’ve no contribution this week, I’m afraid, as I have broken a toe and am supposed to be resting with my foot up. I am enjoying everyone else’s though.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh Sam – so sorry about your toe. Hope you aren’t as debilitated as Julie of Peonies and Posies was. Do try and rest if that is what you have been told to do – can’t say I would be happy to do so if it was me though!

  18. Kris P says:

    Enterprising rather than sinful is how I see it, Cathy. Enjoy your visit and your mother’s birthday celebration! Here’s my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-camellias-at-last.html

  19. I’m enjoying everyone’s vase so much. For me, I only have a decorative bitter cherry next to the French pumpkins I grew. Happy birthday to your lucky mum–what a special time you will have! A wonderful Thanksgiving to you! I love your vase.

  20. Great scot ( sorry couldn’t resist) how did you manage to fit in a vase whilst away and celebrating that very special birthday for your mum. Lovely and bright. Enjoy the celebrations

    • Cathy says:

      But it was just a very small vase, Dorris, and a gesture only… And thank you, it was indeed a lovely occasion to be gathering for 🙂

  21. Anna says:

    Not a sin Cathy but lateral thinking given the circumstances. You’ve more than risen to the occasion. Hope that your Mum enjoys/enjoyed her special day and that it’s full/filled with flowers and fun. The icing on the cake is being surrounded by family.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna. All her children/grandchildren/great grandchildren were together for the first time and it is over 20 years since all the grandchildren had been together so it was special for all of us really and Mum was quite moved by it

  22. Amy Myers says:

    That’s a fantastic bit of foraging, Cathy! Happy Birthday to your Mum – what a special time 🙂
    My vase required a change of plans as I had intended to go with some cooler hues, but as you can see… http://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/monday-vase-warm-colours.html

    • Cathy says:

      Oh Amy – both comments had gone into spam 😦 I do try and check especially after my vase posts but have only just found yours today – so sorry… Thanks for your best wishes and for your vase which I will pop over and have a look at now…

  23. Noelle says:

    You are forgiven, in fact you have given us the OK and to follow you if we feel so inclined on holiday. A Very Happy Birthday to your Mum. How wonderful for you all to come together to celebrate your Mother’s Birthday…and almost on Thanks Giving…maybe that is the theme of my entry this week: http://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-very-late.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Noelle – in an ideal world I would have picked flowers from our garden for tables at my Mum’s birthday lunch, but traveling by train a few days before and laden with cake and photographs and other birthday stuff it wasn’t in the least bit practical! It was a very lovely long weekend though which Mum was very moved by.

  24. Amy Myers says:

    Well, somehow my comment seems to have disappeared so I’ll try another… 😉 I did want to send happy birthday wishes (a bit late now, I’m sure!) – what a special time!
    I love the foraging you did and the way it came together as a lovely glassful!
    And finally, a link to my post: ps://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/monday-vase-warm-colours.html
    And now I will press ‘post comment’ and hope for the best!

Comments are closed.