In a vase on Monday: You have to Hand it to the Little Pinkies

IMG_6184Despite the lateness of the season there are still several blooms that look as if they are on their summer holidays instead of knuckling down and preparing for Christmas and the wintry season, so today has become a feast of pretty pinks while that opportunity is still available. There were so may different pinks available that I snipped and plucked at will, my only mistake being to pop the collection onto a bench for a moment whilst I cut the last few, only for them to be whisked off immediately by a sudden swipe of Abigail’s hand (Abigail, for the benefit of non UK readers, is the name given to the ‘storm’ that has been teasing us for the last few days).

IMG_6188Although not all visible in the photographs, I realised too late, we have sprigs of the Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’ that I was showing off the other day, its fragrance vying with the aromatic scent of a single bloom of Salvia ‘Neon’, the gorgeously cheerful blooms of Hesperantha ‘Mollie Gould’, still going strong Diascia personata, sprays of little sprawling rose ‘The Fairy’, big and blowsy swinging heads of Fuchsia ‘Swingtime’ and the slimmer more restrained F magellanica, an unnamed pink penstemon, the reddish pink lambs’ tails of Amaranthus caudatus and a head of reliable Sedum spectabile ‘Autumn Joy’.

IMG_6190The only added foliage was more of the Red Dragon (which will collapse overnight in due course and sign off till next year) with its pinky brown marked leaves and a few stems of Pennisetum ‘Rubrum’. In the hand (designed to hold a tea light, I believe, and usually rather creepily the other way up – think The Addams Family – in the Species Snowdrop border) are two flowers of Clematis cirrhosa ‘Freckles’, not in the vase itself as I couldn’t find blooms where it was practical to cut a stem. I find her most endearing, albeit a little shy of showing off her friendly freckly face. The vase, as you may have guessed, is yet another Caithness Glass acquisition, slightly bigger than the more usual little posy vases.

IMG_6186Thank you for all your best wishes for In a Vase on Monday’s 2nd anniversary last week and for your on-going support – you are such lovely people 🙂 Twenty five of you posted vases last week and the winner of the vase cleaning brush was Donna of Gardens Eye View – if you email me your address Donna I will get it sent across the Atlantic to you as soon as possible. Thank you to everybody who posted last week and every week!

What will be in your vases this week? I look forward to finding out – it makes Mondays so exciting! See what you can find in your garden or forage nearby and pop it in a vase or other receptacle and post it on your blog, leaving links to and from this post.

ps scratch the screen below and perhaps you will smell the viburnum (or perhaps you will not)… 😉

IMG_6189

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to In a vase on Monday: You have to Hand it to the Little Pinkies

  1. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – White | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  2. Christina says:

    I was tempted to do a pink vase today today but was seduced by white instead. Also this morning when I was out taking some photographs in the magical light of early morning I saw there were quite a few of the pink Queen of Sweden roses and am still tempted to pick some of those but they were too late for my vases today. I love your Clematis ‘Freckles’, it flowers for you for a long time I seem to remember. Here’s my link: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-white-2/

    • Cathy says:

      The light is lovely on the drier mornings isn’t it? Absolutely glorious sunrise this morning here. Yes Freckles is in flower almost all the year round but mine is never smothered. Look forward to seeing your Queen of Sweden soon – and your whites today!

  3. Oh how I wish I could sniff the screen…fabulous views of that stunning vase Cathy. I loved the variety and colors of pinks making me think it might still be summer. All perfect in that glass vase which is also gorgeous…The hand is very interesting too as are the flowers you chose for it.

    This time of year it is slim pickings here, but I am so thankful there are flowers here and there in the garden. And pinch me I actually won….how wonderful. I will put the brush to good use…..thank you so much Cathy…emailing you my address. And here is my vase this week:

    A Stuck Foot In The Wall Garden

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Donna – the pink of the hesperantha is so vibrant and really stands out in the garden so I wanted to bring a bit inside to enjoy it for longer. Like a number of other vases there is a tiny chip in the rim – but the damage is not visible when they are in use so it doesn’t matter at all to me. I am sure you will get good use from the vase cleaning brush – they are so effective and I am delighted to be sending one to you.

  4. Ann Edwards Photography says:

    I have also chosen pink for my vase this week and agree that it makes sense to use these rather unseasonal flowers while we still can. I love the stone (?) hand and can image it looks lovely holding a tealight. Here is my link – https://annieedwardsphotography.wordpress.com/2015/11/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-flower-or-flour/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Ann – the hand is pottery of some sort and in fact I bought it at a car boot sale as a quirky thing for the garden rather than its proper function!

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Such a pretty vase in pink! It is amazing the variety you have in your garden. I wish I had every single one of those in mine, esp. the viburnum (sniff!) and the speckled clematis.
    My vase this week is mild 🙂 compared to yours: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-Rf

  6. Cath says:

    Lovely pinks, I especially like the two flowers in the second photo, with the darker pink streaks, which ones are they? Here’s my vase: http://absentgardener.com/2015/11/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-rain-lashed-icebergs/

  7. Hannah says:

    Pinks have proven to be quite a fall color as I’ve learned from IaVoM. The variety of your pinks in color and style is fabulous, the trailing amaranths add so much. I’m really impressed with the speckled clematis, at first glance I thought they were unseasonable Hellebores. The Caithness glass adds an elegant touch. My link i more along the red-orange spectrum-

    http://weedingonthewildside.blogspot.com/2015/11/autumn-leaves-in-vase-on-monday.html

  8. pbmgarden says:

    I like this so much. Beautiful composition, great range of textures and the diverse pinks add nice contrast. The clematis offering is a nice “touch” as well. I drifted away from pink today, switching to my other sasanqua. Thanks so much for taking time too organize our vases each week Cathy.
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-yuletide-and-a-practice/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – I was amazed at how many different pinks there were once I started cutting. And I love hosting our vases – it may take time, but we have all learned so much from it and got to know each other that much better too.

  9. It is so easy to see the climate/zonal differences in this meme every Monday morning. I am thrilled that I still have seed heads and grasses and you’ve got the prettiest pink Spring-like bouquet ever. Really love the way the hand and its flowers pick up the tones and pattern in your vase. My bouquet is here: http://eachlittleworld.typepad.com/each_little_world/2015/11/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-bit-more-from-november.html

  10. Pingback: Hope | acoastalplot

  11. Sam says:

    Oh I wish it was smell-o-vision – I love V.bodnantense Dawn. Another very pretty vase Cathy, and so colourful for grey November. My contribution is: https://acoastalplot.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/hope/
    Thank you. Sam x

  12. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – Solidarité | Duver Diary

  13. jenhumm116 says:

    Hi Cathy
    A simple one from me today, but heartfelt. x

    In a vase on Monday – Solidarité

  14. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Curvy | Words and Herbs

  15. Cathy says:

    Mmmm, smells heavenly Cathy! I can’t believe you have such gorgeous flowers mid-November. A really wonderful collection of pinks, and the Clematis Freckles is fun! The only flowers I have left are a few roses worse for wear and some aging and rapidly browning Sedum, so my vase is green this week: https://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-curvy/

  16. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Your pinks are indeed very spring/summer looking. I thought, at first glance, that your clematis blooms were hellebores. Love the scratch and sniff image but had to bring in my own sprig of viburnum to smell it. Maybe my computer’s olfactory program isn’t working correctly. 🙂 My Monday vase offering is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-foliage-follow-up.html

  17. Elizabeth says:

    I can’t believe I missed your 2nd anniversary last week, Cathy! How could I? It was Storm Abigail to blame. She was so bad we had to batten down the hatches for days on end so I ended up posting a vase put together a couple of weeks earlier instead of a newly done arrangement. I’m so surprised you have so many beautiful flowers still in bloom in your garden – what little there is in mine is looking very bedraggled. The viburnum bodnantense Dawn is lovely – one for my wish list, I think. My tiny offering is posted here: http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-red-flames.html

    • Cathy says:

      Sorry you had a lot of battening down to do, Elizabeth – Abigail really only just waved at us in passing. Hope there wasn’t too much damage done to the garden, or elsewhere

  18. Kris P says:

    Would that we could scratch the screen and catch a scent! (One of the tech companies needs to get on that pronto!) I continue to marvel as your supply of props but perhaps I should focus more on your incredible ability to create imaginative titles for your arrangements and somehow link them to the props on hand. In any case, I love those Clematis blooms you have sitting in the hand’s palm, which I took to be hellebores at first. I’m also impressed by the range of blooms you’ve found in your garden this week.

    Thanks for hosting. Here’s my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-nothing-fancy.html

    • Cathy says:

      I am sure the scratching screen technology will come some time in the future, Kris. It’s funny about the props, and I know I have said it before, but they do almost always just fall into place – I was thinking along those lines for the title, and then remembered ‘the hand’, which was indeed the perfect prop!

  19. Like Peter and Kris, I mentally identified ‘Freckles’ as a Hellebore – what a lovely Clematis! And indeed, you’ve challenged my view of autumn in England, pink…who knew? Here’s my contribution this Monday: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-one-big-leaf.html

    • Cathy says:

      I think this autumn is just a little pinker than usual Loree!! Freckles is supposedly a winter flowering clematis, but mine tends to have a few flowers all the year round – I love it!

  20. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Survivors | A Walk in the Garden

  21. johnvic8 says:

    It looks like a lot of your readers are going pink this week, and I among them. I do especially like your use of the clematis this week. They are generally such lovely flowers but challenging to use in arrangements. My offering this week: https://johnsviccellio.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-survivors/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks John, and surprisingly the clematis blooms are still looking perky, with just a tiny piece of stem and a drop or two of water

  22. Brian Skeys says:

    A colourful collection for the time of year Cathy. Springtime is an unusual name to give to a fuchsia.

    • Cathy says:

      Oops – did I say it was called ‘Springtime’? I meant to type ‘Swingtime’ so will have to go back and change it – thank you for pointing out what a stupid name it was otherwise!

  23. Chloris says:

    What a lovely, summery selection of pink blooms you have selected this week. No one would think it was November. I love your hand with beautiful Freckles cradled in its pinkies.

  24. Noelle says:

    I must ‘hand’ it to you Cathy, I think this is my favourite vase since I joined this meme. Not only because of that most beautiful hand, but I find the choice and range of flowers amazing for this time of the year. Here is my little vase: http://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/in-vase-on-monday-little-late-in-season.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Noelle – I knew I was going down the ‘pink’ theme, but not exactly what I was going to pick until the time came, and the hand was a last minute thought when it came to picking. Serendipity really!

  25. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – A Word About Honesty | Peonies & Posies

  26. Julie says:

    You still have such a lot to choose from Cathy – I am very jealous!! I love all your pinks and yes – lets make the most of them whilst we can. I love your hand when it is cradling flowers – not so sure how I would feel if I saw it the other way up though. I have a lasting image in my head of a very creepy hand suspended from the corner of a ceiling in a house we once viewed – needless to saw we didn’t consider buying it!

    My contribution is at: http://peoniesandposies.com/2015/11/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-word-about-honesty/

  27. Anna says:

    Oh what riches Cathy – it’s amazing what’s still hanging on out there. I love the hand. It bought back memories of a mannequin head that resided in one of the houses I lived in as a student. Needless to say that the aforesaid head featured in a few practical jokes. Your hand though looks so well placed gently cupping those clematis flowers. Congratulations to Donna – a well deserved winner.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna – the vase was indeed unexpectedly bountiful this week 🙂 I had a polystyrene head as a student too (if you see what I mean!) – but home only to a floppy hat and never subject to practical or even impractical jokes 🙂

  28. Pingback: gbbd & ffu in a vase | sprig to twig

  29. rickii says:

    How could I have shunned pink all these years? I’m shamed when I see here how beautiful it can be. http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5128

  30. Amy says:

    It’s been a wonderful day for pink flowers, Cathy 😉 I just sat and tried to guess all the occupants of your vase before reading on – what a wonderful little crowd! After seeing your amaranthus in multiple vases, I think I will have to give it a try though it’s probably too late here now (I still can’t make out when I’m supposed to start my seeds). Any advice would be welcome as I’ve never grown amaranthus or even seen it growing! My own selections of pink and red are up at http://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/the-alnwick-rose.html

Comments are closed.