In a Vase on Monday: Eeny, Meeny, Miny, Mo

Eeny,meenyThere seemed to be a number of different flowers that hadn’t made it to a vase yet or were going strong and could do with cutting to prolong their flowering so I have been mentally dithering for a few days over what to include in a vase on Monday. However, bottling out of a decision and producing four separate vases has had the unexpected secondary benefit of uplifting the ‘underwhelmed’ impression of the garden that I wrote about yesterday, reminding me that there is still lots going on, but just not all in the same place!

IMG_2946The range of scale and shades of the available flowers suggested separate vases, and certainly there were no suitable bedfellows for the pink and white Cyclamen hederifolium of the first vase. Like Pauline at Lead Up the Garden Path mine are spreading at a very satisfying rate, and I couldn’t really say when or how many were planted in the first place. They looked so delightful in this green crocus vase that I went out and cut a few more to add to them. As the weather is still debating whether to brighten up or not the vases were taken straight outside and photographed around the stone trough and wall just outside the back door.

IMG_2947I had chosen four green vases to provide continuity, although the two green bottles were not really wide enough at the neck for the proposed content, and not photographing the vases together I realised in retrospect that it wouldn’t have mattered anyway -hey ho! The Tagetes ‘Paprika’, a favourite for the last two years, is late to flower having been re-sown due to the dodgy compost experience and the bushy plants meant that not all the sprigs that were cut could squeeze into the bottle along with the Hemerocallis ‘Mini Stella’ and Inula hookeri. The hemerocallis, a compact and well behaved variety, has also just begun flowering, unlike the inula which has been on the go for weeks.

IMG_2949Cosmos ‘Candy Stripe’ has been a real star  for a number of weeks and next year I must include this in the main herbaceous borders as well as the cutting beds  – the flowers vary slightly in shade and marking and it has been a joy to watch their progress. Collecting seed from them is another ‘must’! Anemone japonica ‘Honorine Jobert’ was an ideal companion although the way the flowers group together on separate stalks towards the end of a stem was not conducive to using them with the shorter individual stems of the cosmos and a wider necked vase would definitely have helped. Several petals were lost between cutting and placing too, but it may be that the flowers were not so much at their peak as I thought.

The ‘Ruby Eclipse’ sunflowers have varied in both the size of their heads and the length of their stems so I have been watching out for suitable cutting contenders – there were two today, so they were snipped and included in the fourth vase along with a trio of hips on the prickly stems of climbing rose ‘Parkdirektor Riggers’:

IMG_2951I couldn’t choose a favourite from the four vases but have to confess that their varied presence brings me such joy as I look at them – four times more joyful than a single vase?! Well, perhaps not, but bringing something in from the garden every week has been a real pleasure, and the unexpected popularity of the meme has demonstrated just how much we can all benefit from doing so. If you would like to join in, just post your pickings with a link to this post, and leave a comment on this post too with a link to yours so we can see what has brought you pleasure in a vase on Monday.

IMG_2948

This entry was posted in Being Creative, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Eeny, Meeny, Miny, Mo

  1. Love the Ruby Eclipse sunflowers – such a subtle color!

  2. Cathy I am beginning to enjoy more vases weekly and put two together this week. The vases are included at the end of my End of the Month Review. I too have been eyeing the garden for flowers not included yet…I have many so I may need a few more vases to make next week. I love the anemones and sunflowers best!! Gorgeous colors. Here’s my link:

    Gardens Eye Journal-September 2014

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Donna – I am glad you can appreciate why I didn’t just stop at one today! And I meant to add that there was no arrangement involved either, so quick and easy to do – and just as pleasurable to see. Looking at the sunflowers now I may be erring on their side…..;)

  3. jenhumm116 says:

    Cathy, such a lovely set. I too really like the colour of the Ruby Eclipse – I’m not particularly enjoying my Claret sunflowers, yours are so much prettier.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for your comments – thought I had replied to this but can’t see it… I too planted a dark red sunflower but the slugs got to them so i don’t know how successful they would have been. What did you not like about yours?

  4. Pingback: In a vase on Monday: Goldenrod « sorta like suburbia

  5. Christina says:

    More and more competitive Cathy – 4 vases is just showing off! You do know I’m kidding I hope. Love those sunflowers, not one I found when I was looking for seed for next year. All in all a very successful Monday! Here’s my offering: http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-shades-of-autumn/

    • Cathy says:

      Tee hee – nothing competitive here, Christina 😉 The sunflowers are a Which? Gardening trial, so may not be available yet. And yes – I felt it was a successful Monday too, and hopefully my very simple vases will encourage others to have a go too. Why did we find it so difficult before?!

  6. johnvic8 says:

    Cathy, Once again you have put together a delightful gathering of vases and beautiful flowers from your garden. I shall remember your use of more than a single vase for the future. I look forward to your creativity each week. Here is my link:
    http://johnsviccellio.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-912014/

    • Cathy says:

      Hurrah – the links have worked! Thought I had already replied to this but can’t see it. The meme is inspiring us all to be more creative, isn’t it?

  7. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Volunteerism | Cosmos and Cleome

  8. I like all of your choices! Had not seen the Candy Stripe Cosmos before. My anemone Robustissima did not grow at all well this year, and I miss it!

    Here is my post for this week: http://cosmosandcleome.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-volunteerism/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kimberley -t he cosmos seed was given to me by Wellywoman, another blogger. Shame about your anemone and hope it perks up again next year.

  9. Cathy says:

    Joy is the right word Cathy! I would find it hard to pick a favourite too, but I do love your anemone. I added it to my autumn planting order after seeing it on your blog last week. I also like the addition of the rosehips to your sunflower vase – they bring out the pinkish tones and give it an autumn feel. Here’s my vase for today: http://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-september-star/
    Thanks, and have a great week enjoying your vases!

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Cathy – as there were only 2 sunflowers I did wonder about adding foliage but then I saw the hips and am well pleased that I did as they do make a good combination. I wonder what your September star is….?

  10. Kris P says:

    You have a bounty! I love creating collections of small vases too. It hard to choose a favorite, although I have a soft spot for that sunflower. Your Japanese anemones are already blooming? I’ve not seen hide nor hair of mine so maybe that means they’re another victim of my stingy irrigation practices. My vase can be found here but you’ve seen all the flowers before: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2014/09/in-vase-on-monday-summer-reruns.html. Thanks for hosting, Cathy!

    • Cathy says:

      I think I might do multi vases more often Kris now that I have taken this tentative step – there is just so much to choose from still and I feel time is running out. Won’t be long before we are hunting high and low for inspiration!!

  11. Your Ruby Eclipse sunflowers are the prettiest I’ve seen; not just the color but the petal shapes too. I found two different flower buds in my shady garden today but have to admit I would never be brave enough to cut them. I certainly enjoy your meme though, so much fun to see what the sunny-garden folks are up to!

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thanks Marian – perhaps one of these Mondays you will live dangerously and cut some flowers! For most of us it has taken some getting used to, but once we started there is no stopping us!

  12. Who says it has to be just ONE vase? After all, it is your meme! The choices available to you were so varied that one vase would not have worked. Love the sunflowers – such a beautiful and unusual shade! That’s on my list for next year! I’m attempting to join in at long last – if I can get these links to work!
    You’ll find me at

    In a Vase on Monday – Gather Ye Rosebuds….

    • Cathy says:

      I am still loving seeing the four of them – they look so fresh and cheery. Definitely a good move to expand my horizons this morning! I love these sunflowers too and will try and save some seed and grow them again – at least growing them in the cutting beds has meant they have not been camouflaged by foliage and succumbed to slug damage. The link looks OK and I will try it ASAP

  13. bittster says:

    The sunflowers and rose hips are my favorite! The colors work well together and it does have a nice end of season feel to it….. but of course the anemones are perfect and the tagetes have such a cool little orange rim to the petals and how could I not like the cyclamen… so much for picking number one 😉
    I made it in again today! Here’s my addition
    http://katob427.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-goldenrod/

    • Cathy says:

      I am going to have to apologise again, Frank, as when the ‘pingback’ came in earlier today I did not recognise the katob427 bit at all and assumed the blog was someone new and commented on that assumption – I think I need to go and lie down….;) In fact the links have worked perfectly and it was just the delay between the pingback and your comment that threw me….. Hey ho! Thanks for your kind comments on the vases – I agree they all have something to recommend them but perhaps my favourite is…. but perhaps not…. 🙂

      • bittster says:

        Sorry! I’m the one being confusing. I post and then a few hours later get around to putting in the link. There are always so many distractions around here!
        Frank

  14. pbmgarden says:

    Hi Cathy! Thanks again for hosting our Monday vases. I love that you were inspired to create four today. They each are wonderful but I’m so drawn to the cosmos/anemone combination and you’ve photographed it beautifully. My contribution today is http://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-late-summer-basket/

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thank you – the location was just the nearest spot to the back door but the background seemed to enhance the photos. The anemones haven’t dropped any more petals so I think I was just unlucky with the few that dropped earlier.

  15. I’m finally joining in as part of my recent post, Cathy. I absolutely love this meme, and hope to join in more during the weeks ahead. Your arrangements are lovely–just a touch of autumn along with the summer beauties! Here’s my link: http://bit.ly/1A0z0Q1.

  16. Christina says:

    Hi Cathy, bringing flowers indoors brings such a pleasure to the heart, doesn’t it? So simple and so delightful. I love all your four vases, but especially the one with the sunflowers. That is a very beautiful variety. Maybe I join your meme at some point in the future. Would encourage me to get out and see what I can find in my garden! Wishing you a lovely rest of the week.
    Christina

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – when I was working I went through a phase of taking a little posy into work every Monday but then Work just got in the way and I lost the habit. I wanted to regain that habit and by suggesting others join in it was an added incentive for me to get started and maintain the habit – the meme has exceeded any expectations I might have had and inspired myself and others in ways we could not have envisaged. Do try and join us, whether occasionally or regularly – and thinking out of the box is definitely encouraged!

  17. Agh! I posted for In a Vase on Monday, put in my link to your page, and then forgot to visit you yesterday! haha! I’m going to blame it on new schedules that are really full! I loved how you split up the flowers, and I agree, I’d have a very hard time picking a favorite one as well. I’ll sneak in my link now, if that is ok? Thanks Cathy! Dana http://mominthegarden.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-color-red-echinacea-salsa-red-to-be-exact/

    • Cathy says:

      That’s fine Dana – I have my own Monday morning routines (swimming and Pilates) too so will rarely be able to post mine until UK lunchtime – and I know there are bloggers chomping at the bit to add their link to it!! Glad to see you even if it is Tuesday – am now off to see your vase as well!

  18. Anna says:

    I like the individual vases Cathy which allow each flower to be the star of the show.’Ruby Eclipse’ has gone down on my seed list for next year. Hope that you will enjoy today’s more than welcome sunshine.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna. Ruby Eclipse is a trial for Which? Gardening so I don’t know what seed co it will be from, but if I can manage to save some seeds I can send you some…

  19. Annette says:

    I’m also in love with Ruby Eclipse! BUT all your vases are lovely…just wonder where it’ll lead if you present four now, haha ;). No sign of my cyclamen yet – wonder what happened to them?

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – and thinking about sunflowers reminds me that I didn’t tell you that the sunflowers last year did not produce any seed so there was none to send you…. I am still hopeful this year with Red Eclipse. And how odd about your no-show of cyclamen – hope they are just a bit lazy!

  20. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Cathy, I’m very, very late this week but with very good reason so I hope you will forgive me. I love all your vases – such fun to have so many – but like others my favourite has got to be those fabulous sunflowers – Ruby Eclipse! We are still enjoying the last of summer so it will be a while before we see any cyclamen. Here’s a link to my offering this week: http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/in-vase-on-monday-september-miscellany.html

    • Cathy says:

      That’s fine, Elizabeth – but hope things are OK with you. I am really chuffed to have sunflowers to cut this year and they have proved to be very popular on this blog too

      • Elizabeth says:

        Hi Cathy, thanks for your comment on my vase, the contents of which have intrigued you. We’ve only been in this house, and therefore this garden, since November last year. It had been very neglected for many years but there was evidence that had clearly been much loved by a true gardener at one time. There was already lots of established trees, shrubs and bluebells – tons of them. We’ve spent the last nine months creating new beds and borders and a woodland area. My husband concentrates on the front garden, the back garden is my domain – our tastes differ. My husband loves the brightly coloured and more showy plants with a tendency to what I call ‘parks department’ gardening whereas I prefer the cottage garden plants … I’m a member of the Cottage Garden Society. I do write about my garden in other posts the most recent being one where I took a stroll round with the camera which you might find of interest: http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/saturday-saunter.html
        and for a brief glimpse of what the back garden looked like when we moved in this post includes a photo:
        http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/woyww-261-whats-on-your-workdesk.html

        • Cathy says:

          Oh thanks for those links, Elizabeth – I will have a look at both of them. There are so many interesting blogs around but I just can’t read them all, unfortunately 🙂

          • Elizabeth says:

            I can quite understand that, Cathy. There just isn’t enough time in the day to read all the interesting blogs out there. I have considered starting a blog just dedicated to gardening but, again, time is an issue. I haven’t dismissed the idea entirely though, I might do it yet.

          • Cathy says:

            I have many interests too, Elizabeth, but the blog is exclusively garden focussed although I may mention other things – I posted every day for the first 2 years but had to wean myself off a daily post as I was spending too much time blogging! I enjoy it so much though, both writing mine and reading others, as well as sharing all the comments 🙂

  21. The perfect solution! And variety is the spice of life… Glad you were feeling more positive by this point. All vases are lovely, but I think the sunflowers one is my favourite too. I’m hacked off because I’ve missed so many Mondays, but have been cutting flowers, both for me and neighbours and family. Dealing with a leaky oil tank has stolen all my time. I’ll be back…

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Janet – the sunflowers definitely seem to have ‘won’ the day! Good that you are still picking for vases – that’s the main achievement. I hope you haven’t been sitting for days with your finger plugging a hole in that tank…. 🙂

Comments are closed.