In a Vase on Monday : Brimstone and Boots

IMG_1873I am sure I could have spent more time ‘arranging’ the tulips in today’s vase, or using a holder in the base to keep them more upright, but having had to trim them to the shortest common denominator it did involve more than just a basic ‘plonking’ and they each had a mind of their own anyway. Tulips were always going to be the favourite for today, and here we have five different varieties – Princess Irene (the shortest), Orange Sun, Beauty of Apeldoorn, vvedenski Henry Hudson and an unknown one that has survived a few years in the border. The brimstone concept was accentuated by some of those disappointing wallflowers that I am beginning to quite like after all – just a shame that they are very tall, very woody, and have a discernable kink to every stem! The vase is a usefully shaped clear glass one that one of my nieces had at her wedding a few years ago, filled with roses and astrantia at the time, and the overall effect was completed with a chunk of orange calcite and some polished carnelian.

IMG_1875But where do the boots come in? Well, the Easter weekend sees the start of the car boot season in the UK, so today and Saturday morning saw us looking for bargains. Today’s included some useful vases – a tall Caithness Glass and two smaller ones, the cream and orange jug (Royal Doulton) looking the perfect receptacle for nasturtiums and marigolds later in the year. The watering can isn’t vintage, but looks the part and will be very happy occupying a corner of the garden somewhere.

BrimstoneI eagerly look forward to putting together my vase on Monday and to seeing what other people have come up with. This meme is becoming such an encouragement to those of us who join in, so if you haven’t yet done so please think about it on just occasional or even a regular basis – you would be most welcome! So that we can share in what you have found in your garden to bring joy inside your house, just include a link from your post to this and vice versa – we look forward to seeing you…

IMG_1877

This entry was posted in Being Creative, bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to In a Vase on Monday : Brimstone and Boots

  1. AnnetteM says:

    Ah I wondered how you had so many different vases. I would love to join in but never have enough of any one flower that I can bear to pick them for the house – well until the sweet peas arrive that is. Must hunt for some vases myself though then perhaps I will be persuaded to fill them.

    • Cathy says:

      Most of the time I have just used ‘kitchenalia’ I already have – I realised I have very few actual vases, and those that I have have hardly ever been used. The ones I bought this w/e cost next to nothing – I love a bargain!

  2. Kris P says:

    I so wish I could grow tulips here! Inevitably, even if I chill them the requisite 6-8 weeks in the refrigerator before planting, our hot, dry Santa Ana winds come up prior to bloom and take them out. This year, I tried putting a few pre-sprouted ones I picked up from a local nursery in my garden but even those were knocked off within 3 days. Oh well, I enjoy them in photos like yours instead. My composition this week also has a dark side: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2014/04/in-vase-on-monday-iris-and-friends.html

    Thanks for hosting, Cathy!

    • Cathy says:

      As you have realised it doesn’t seem worth trying when you know they are unlikely to be successful – some people may complain about the UK weather but I certainly would never complain about a temperate climate like ours. I really like the anticipation of wondering what a vase will be like once I know the title….. Thanks for joining in

  3. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – third time the luck changes! | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  4. Christina says:

    Lovely tulips Cathy and as always I love your headings! I don’t have enough containers but no such thing as a car boot sale here. But I am trying to be inventive as you’ll see in my post today: http://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/in-a-vase-on-monday-third-time-the-luck-changes/

  5. Chloris says:

    How pretty, I love the colour of that wallflower and it is the right colour for the stem and flame of Prinses Irene. Car boot sales? Do you know I’ve never been to one? What a good idea to build up a collection of vases. I have bought some quite cheaply on eBay.

    • Cathy says:

      Your education is sorely lacking, Chloris – I challenge you to go to a boot sale ASAP. Two more bank hols coming up so look out for a biggish one, although smaller ones can throw up surprises too.

  6. Another lovely vase of flowers! I have been trying to have garden cut flowers for the house as much as possible, hence my challenge to myself for the “Cutting Calender”. I have gained so much inspiration from all of these “Monday Vases”, I think I may try to join in! And as for vases, like you, I love to use what’s hanging around.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you so much – the gaining inspiration is mutual to all of us who have contributed I think. I like using ‘receptacles’ that are hanging around to and perhaps now I can justify all my kitchenalia stuff! đŸ™‚

  7. croftgarden says:

    Hurray for the floppy tulips! The colour of the wallflower is a wonderful, slightly bizarre, contrast. Sorry no vase this week – an intermission between the end of the dwarf narcissus and muscari and whatever comes next.

  8. pbmgarden says:

    What gorgeous tulips today and a beautiful presentation Cathy. This is just lovely. So glad you decided to host In a vase on Monday. It’s fun. My post is http://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/in-a-vase-on-monday-viola-and-white/

    • Cathy says:

      I am late catching up with comments Susie and will be off to see your viola and white vase ASAP – thanks for joining in.

  9. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – White Lilac With A Black Tulip | Peonies & Posies

  10. Julie says:

    Hi Cathy – I am here at last – I had to stop to watch Jamaica Inn. I love all your tulips this week – it is such a great idea to cut different varieties – at least then the vase does not deplete the garden too much. Your wallflowers go beautifully – I will be planting seeds again in June in the hope that next year I might have shorter straighter stemmed flowers than the ones we both have. I think that the beauty of making vases for the house is that actually it doesn’t matter if the flowers flop a bit – they still look beautiful. In the garden I would remove tulips that are falling over but in the house I love watching their slow demise. What a great idea to seek out car boot sales for vases – I just need another cupboard to store my collection in!

    You can find my vase at http://www.peoniesandposies.com.

    • Cathy says:

      And I am late catching up, Julie so will pop over shortly (J Inn is being recorded here). I shall be seeking out ‘short’ wallflowers to grow too after my recent conversion, although I have some perennial ones on order from Hayloft. It’s pot luck (no pun intended) at car boots but I am pleased to have extended my container options!

  11. Cathy says:

    I wish they had car boot sales here as I am discovering a severe lack of “vessels” for flowers! Love those tulips Cathy. Here’s my post for this week: http://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/in-a-vase-on-monday-may-flowers-and-snowflakes/
    Thanks!

    • Cathy says:

      I am behind in blogging this week, but I do appreciate you joining in, Cathy, and will be visiting shortly to see your vase. I will always enjoy anticipating the vase after reading the title đŸ™‚ Sorry about the non-existence of car boots – you never know what you are going to find!

  12. Anna says:

    Oh what an excellent haul from the car boot sale Cathy. I just knew that you would become fonder of those wallflowers with the passage of time đŸ™‚

  13. Lovely tulips Cathy! I do intend to join in, I just keep forgetting. Rubbish I know.

Comments are closed.