In a Vase on Monday: Autumn Joy

IMG_0544I know I have set myself a difficult task, finding something for a vase every week, and particularly starting in mid-November, but in truth the fact that it IS a challenge will make me more determined to achieve it! Posting a picture of my pickings will also make it easier because I will expect it of myself every Monday – so if anybody would like to join me by placing things ‘In a Vase on Monday’ and posting a picture then please feel free to add a link here so we can all share in the pleasure such vases can bring. Today’s vase has some of everyone’s favourite Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’, Vitis vinifera ‘Purpurea’ and Sedum spectabile ‘Autumn Joy’.

This entry was posted in Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Autumn Joy

  1. rusty duck says:

    Gorgeous Cathy!
    I’m so lazy about cutting stuff to bring inside, you could well provide the motivation I need.

  2. Christina says:

    Ok. the challenge is on, I’ll try tomorrow, it’s too dark now! Your vase is rather beautifully placed infront of a very sympathetically coloured wall!

    • Cathy says:

      Hurrah! It took me several photos in different locations before I could get one without any distractions in the background – much easier when it’s a tiny posy!!

  3. Julie says:

    What a great idea Cathy, but like Christina I will have to post tomorrow.

  4. My Watering Can says:

    It’s a really cool idea, one in which I’d have fun participating, if I had any of my own flowers/plants that go well in vases. But I don’t, I only grow edibles, most of which aren’t alive now. Oh well. But if others do it, I’d like to see what they post too.

  5. Lyn says:

    I love that combination! Mm, if I did this challenge, my my flowers would be in the opposite season to you, but that might be fun, too. But would I be able to stick with it? Might try next week.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Lyn. Opposite season would indeed to be fun – and if it encourages any of us to make the effort any more than we do now then that will be a good thing, don’t you think?

  6. Anna says:

    What great complimentary colours Cathy. It may be next year before I join in 🙂

  7. croftgarden says:

    This is a great idea and although I often put a posy in the cottage for the visitors I really should bring some flowers into the house. There is a snag, I’m a bit short on foliage and flowers from October to April. So I’ll make an occasional contribution and most of the time enjoy yours.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christine – my Mum always has a little posy for her visitors, whatever the time of year and I have thought for a long time that if she can do it then so can I. But perhaps think out of the box – beachcombing finds, maybe? I have every confidence in you…

  8. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday | Peonies & Posies

  9. Julie says:

    Hi Cathy,

    As promised I have been out in my garden and made a vase of flowers – fuchsia this week. I have never tried to link a post to another blog before, so I am not sure how this will work. Let me know if I have not done the right thing.

    Julie
    (see Julie’s post at http://peoniesandposies.com/2013/11/19/in-a-vase-on-monday/)

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Julie – I was a novice to linking once too! Yes, the link from your blog to mine works, but if you also link from mine to yours (from your comment on my post) then people who see my blog will know that you have posted too and hopefully take a look. Thanks so much for joining in as we will encourage each other this way 😉

  10. Pingback: In a Vase for Monday: Thinking Outside the Box | Croft Garden

  11. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: The Joys of Autumn | Rambling in the Garden

Comments are closed.