In a Vase on Monday: Geoffrey

I had hoped to have several long stems of Dahlia ‘Geoffrey Kent’ to place into one of my taller slimmer vases, but it wasn’t to be and instead there are a few stems of varying length with blooms of variable openness, placed into the smallest of my Caithness glass ‘Ebony’ vases with stems of Calamagrostis ‘Karl Foerster’ to add grace and movement.

Expecting a suitable prop to prove difficult if I kept the title as simple as ‘Geoffrey’, the solution popped up swiftly: Brian, the dahlia-growing gentleman who lives near my Mum and who provided my original tuber, always described it as more or less the same as ‘Blyton Lady in Red’. Personally, I think he is more crimson than she is,  but nevertheless this still puts him on a par with Miss Scarlet, breaking out of the Cleudo box to join us again on IAVOM. In fact, he failed to look me in the eye as I took his photograph, furtively checking over his shoulder to try and establish whodunit – or if he himself had been spotted, maybe?

Props pop up from a range of sources, adding further interest and conversation to our Monday vases, so why not include one with yours this week, posting it with the usual links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in dahlias, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Geoffrey

  1. Although not labelled as such, my props this week are the onions, shallots and garlic in the raised bed I used as a background to a vase this week. I do like Geoff Kent! He would look interesting next to one of the rusty coloured dahlias I seem to have.

    In a Vase, on Monday, Snaps and Dahlias

  2. Noelle says:

    I can see how you get to choose great Dahlias, and you will most probably have seen how plants grow and look before you buy them. Also how interesting to be able to discuss the characteristics directly with the grower. It is indeed a fine and handsome Dahlia and smart in the arrangement. Here is my vase: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2023/08/in-vase-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      I should say, Noelle, that Brian has long since retired, but it is always good to pick his brains. We usually pay him a visit when we go to my Mum’s and was recently asking about stopping and disbudding, which I gave not been able to bring myself to do yet!

      • Noelle says:

        I am sure he also enjoys your enthusiasm and sharing his knowledge with you. Oh I do like stopping and disbudding, as you know my parents were growers and I was taught almost as soon as I could stand!

        • Cathy says:

          Indeed, I realised on a recent visit that he is actually quite a ‘shy’ person, but I would never have guessed this from our conversations. It’s intriguing how tasks like stopping and disbudding can quickly become second nature – I am far from that stage yet!!

  3. Geoffrey has a clue. He looks great with the grass and Miss Scarlet. I would be happy with the long stems on a Dahlia. Thanks for hosting, here is my vase this Monday https://theshrubqueen.com/2023/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-country-challenge/

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Such perfectly formed buds, dahlias are so lovely to behold. Lovely colour, too.
    My vase this week: https://wp.me/p3O3z4-33M

  5. Pingback: IAVOM – Fiery Color | Eliza Waters

  6. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: A Blooming Teapot! | Words and Herbs

  7. Cathy says:

    A very charming Dahlia Cathy, and even the smaller tightly closed flowers are lovely. I am not familiar with Cluedo, but imagine it is something like an Agathie Christie film in boardgame form? Here is my vase today. Thank you for hosting as always Cathy, and always with a clever prop too!

    In a Vase on Monday: A Blooming Teapot!

    • Cathy says:

      I thought Cleudo would have been a fairly universally known game, but clearly not – you have to work out who did it, in what room and by what method, all by a process elimination. I picked some more of the dahlias to take up to my Mum’s and even though they too are a variety of heights, they still look apoealing as a group

  8. Donna Donabella says:

    Love the dark reddish purple especially in the center of the dahlia. I rarely think of props but should in the future. I do enjoy your props and the thinking behind them. Always so clever. This week I am cutting from containers as the cutting flowers begin. https://gardenseyeview.com/2023/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-harvesting-abundance/

  9. Kris P says:

    It’s a very pretty dahlia even if its stems didn’t stretch as high as you’d have liked. When I saw your title I was sure Geoffrey the Giraffe was going to feature into your post but maybe that American toy company mascot doesn’t have a presence in the UK 😉 My dahlias didn’t quite make it to the gate this week but they’re on their way (if they don’t get eaten before reaching the goal). Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2023/08/in-vase-on-monday-close-but-no-cigar.html

  10. Anna says:

    Oh Geoffrey is a handsome fellow indeed Cathy and I’m sure that he would catch the eye of Miss Scarlett. I wonder how he came by the second part of his name 🤔 I accidentally decapitated the first flush of flowers on dahlia ‘Molly Raven’ this afternoon but they were not open enough for a vase – maybe next week.

  11. pbmgarden says:

    Geoffrey looks handsome. Dahlias frequently don’t cooperate in giving up long stems but you made this work well. Thanks for hosting, Cathy. https://pbmgarden.blog/2023/08/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-hydrangeas-with-dahlias-and-zinnias/

  12. tonytomeo says:

    Exquisite color! I have such difficulty selecting color, that I may just get a random mix. I know that random mixes do not get good reviews, but they can be no worse than all white.

  13. Pingback: Saki and Sunflowers: In a Vase On Monday – Gardening Nirvana

  14. Oh, that’s lovely! I wish I had more luck with Dahlias, but I just don’t have quite enough sun. Mine might just bloom by the end of the summer. Beautiful arrangement!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Beth – a long growing season is indeed an asset, and I suppose I have always taken sufficient sun for granted, even in UK summers. Admittedly, this end of the garden is by far the sunniest

Comments are closed.