Wordless Wednesday: Unsullied

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Unsullied

  1. Cathy says:

    Wow, it is beautiful! 😃 Have you grown these before?

    • Cathy says:

      I can’t even remember planting this one here in the woodland edge border – the only ones I did buy were years ago and they were in the blue & white border but never flowered although did sometimes produce leaves. Perhaps I moved them, but if I did it wasn’t recently! This one appeared last year, but was pretty much shredded, which is is why I am thrilled the flower are unsullied (the leaves are not quite as pristine though!) 😊

  2. I

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

  3. HeyJude says:

    What a beauty. My Martagon lilies aren’t doing so well this year and I even found two lily beetles on one – never seen any of them here before. I hope they don’t make a habit of visiting!

    • Cathy says:

      This is a real first for me, Jude, although I don’t remember planting this here, so it certainly wasn’t recent! The lily beetle population here started with a single one (which I picked off and put in the green bin with a lily leaf – but soon ceased to be as forgiving!!) but if you are vigilant you can keep them under control. I usually check my lilies twice a day – if they had any sense they would have been a less obvious colour!! I usually pick off 3 or 4 a day perhaps, as they often come in pairs

  4. So beautiful and graceful–the perfect subject for a Wordless Wednesday post. 🙂

  5. Chloris says:

    Wel done. Martagons are the very favourite food of our litle friends in red.

    • Cathy says:

      The first lily beetle this year was certainly on this lily, Chloris – and it’s one I don’t remember planting, so I have had no part in its success (other than picking off the devious little red things!)

Comments are closed.