In a Vase on Monday: Getting Ahead

I know some of you will not thank me (I remember a previous post!) for today’s prop, but it was so appropriate for the vase, a Caithness Glass bonbon dish of hellebore heads. I have displayed hellebores this way before (almost exactly 9 years ago!) but have resisted the temptation to repeat it since – after nine years I think I can allow myself a little self-indulgence!

Back then, I picked one of every hellebore flowering, a total of 10; there are probably as many flowering now with plenty more to come, but I restricted myself to just five, to fit in the dish. I have certainly not included any of my new Ashwood ‘Evolution’ varieties, like the ones featured at the end of a recent Six on Saturday post. The chosen blooms, as shown clockwise from top left below are: lost label, possibly Harvington Single Yellow Speckled, Harvington Double Black, Harvington Double White and Harvington Double Pink Speckled.

The prop is a doll’s head, dug up from the garden, and the bonbon dish predates this blog and any thoughts of IAVOM. If you would like to join in the meme today with a vase or dish or jam jar of your own, pickings from your garden or nearby and with or without a prop, then please do so by leaving the usual links to and from this post.

 

This entry was posted in early spring, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Winter, winter interest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Getting Ahead

  1. Heyjude says:

    The hellebores are very pretty and this is a good way to show them off. The doll’s head on the other hand is spooky and should be reburied!

  2. What beauties.
    [even the little alien, in her way 🙂 ]

  3. Noelle says:

    The Heads look lovely tipped upwards in the vase, and you have a wonderful collection. I too like ‘objets trouvés’. Here is my posy also poised in Caithness Vase.https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2023/02/in-vase-on-monday-more-snowdrops.html

  4. I had only seedlings of Hellebores when I had them in the garden. The named cultivars are fantastic. I love the way you have displayed them. The dolls head is a bit disturbing but I like the color. Here is my vase https://theshrubqueen.com/2023/02/20/in-a-vase-on-monday-deadheading-for-presidents/

  5. Rosie Amber says:

    These are very pretty. We have found some odd things buried recently, one was a spade!

  6. Kris P says:

    I am SO envious – of the hellebore blooms, not the spooky baby doll head. I’ve yet to see a single bud forming on my hellebores. They’ve always shown up later than most but now the delay is getting ridiculous. Yours are absolutely gorgeous. I do have plenty of other blooms, though: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2023/02/in-vase-on-monday-scented-blooms.html

    • Cathy says:

      Here their season can be quite variable too as sometimes they will start flowering before Christmas or as late as March – just as long as they keep coming, I suppose!

  7. What a lovely collection of hellebores you have (and not even all of them shown)! I agree, that’s the best way to display them (although, I’m not too sure about the doll’s head…). 🙂

  8. tonytomeo says:

    These are such exemplary blooms! Ours are nothing like this. I likely mentioned this earlier. They just do not perform well here. It would be nice if they did, since they seem like they would look good within the redwood forests. They are woodsy like that.

  9. Cathy says:

    They are beautiful Cathy. 😃 I was drawn to the white one especially. The head is quite the opposite though! Here is my vase:

    In a Vase on Monday: Mini Spring Mix

  10. pbmgarden says:

    Love your hellebores. Such a smart and effective way to present your wonderful assortment.
    I may have to copy your prop idea if I’m ever going to get ahead! Late again today but wanted to celebrate the early flowers of spring with you and others. https://pbmgarden.blog/2023/02/20/in-a-vase-on-monday-lightly-scented-yellow/

    • Cathy says:

      They last so much better when just the heads are used, Susie. You must be so pleased to have more early spring flowers to share 😊

  11. Anna Higgins says:

    Some beautiful hellebore blooms Cathy especially the double white although I’m not so sure about that spooky doll’s head. Still a child probably once loved it. I wonder where the body is?

  12. Love, love, love Hellebores! I’m looking forward to seeing mine and watching them bloom in the weeks ahead. 🙂

  13. Lovely selection! I think that you enjoyed painting blood red eye-sockets in that poor doll’s head 🤣

Comments are closed.