In a Vase on Monday: Turn That Frown Upside Down…

It was fairly late in the day yesterday when I prepared my vase, having attended a long lunch with other National Garden Scheme garden owners in Staffordshire, Birmingham & part of the West Midlands and picked up our posters and other garden opening sundries. Now in our sixth year of opening, we feel very much part of the community and valued as such, although our contribution to the amount raised by the organisation is relatively small compared to some.

It is now light till after 5 o’clock, however, so time and daylight were less of an issue than of late and I had already planned to pick a clutch of ‘Tete-a-Tete’ narcissi, so my first quest was choosing a vase – a simple Caithness Glass example with subtle cream, yellow and orange swirls, subtly complementing the cheerfulness of the narcissi. I tried several times to rearrange the blooms and spread them out but they were having none of it, continuing instead with their head-to-head conversations.

Whatever we feel about yellow blooms in the garden generally (and the jury is very much out on this topic), the appearance of the first daffodils in our gardens and elsewhere is a very special moment, bringing sunshine to the cloudiest day and a cheeriness to our hearts, heralding as they do the advent of spring. I am sure even the frightened little clockwork knick-knack that acts as a prop would find himself smiling again after a few minutes in their presence; after all, he himself seems to amuse any adult or child that picks him up and sets his little feet in motion, scuttling at will (where did he come from? who knows!) until he jumps off the surface he is placed on, like one of a crowd of lemmings.

For those of us in temperate northern hemisphere countries, early spring blooms are increasingly available in our gardens, but twigs like the twisted hazel are around all year and also look effective in a vase – so if you have pickings of any sort to share with us today then please do so by leaving the usual links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in early spring, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, open gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Turn That Frown Upside Down…

  1. pbmgarden says:

    You can’t beat daffodils for pure joy this time of year. Your flowers and prop brought a smile to my face. How nice you get to meet up with other National Garden Scheme gardeners. Thanks for hosting our Monday vases, Cathy!

  2. Pingback: In A Vase on Monday: Rust, Moss and Hellebores | Wild Daffodil

  3. I am one of those gardeners who avoids yellow in the garden except for daffs and forsythia – they bring sunshine when there is little of it about.
    I am still spuddling about with moss! https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2022/03/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-rust-moss-and-hellebores/

  4. Spring simplicity – I love the twigs and miss daffodils. Such an exuberant triumph over winter. I agree about yellow, what is it? Just too bright? I have enjoyed the Yellow Bells/Tecoma stans in my vase today. Happy Spring! https://theshrubqueen.com/2022/03/07/in-a-vase-on-monday-solidarity-and-vodka/

  5. bcparkison says:

    Surprise!!!Spring is here.

  6. LOL– your comment about yellow in the garden made me giggle because I was one of those people, until I grew a yellow rose and now I cannot imagine my garden with a little yellow in it. And I need to add twisted hazel to my ‘to grow’ list because I love the look of it, and looks like it is pliable, which probably makes it a good medium for other garden applications.
    My garden is still covered in snow, but I am sharing roses from this past summer, mostly to lift up my spirit and remember that warmth will come at some point here in Minnesota! 🙂 Thanks for hosting, Cathy! https://darlingclementine-mn.com/blog/for-the-love-of-english-roses

    • Cathy says:

      Haha, yes, and I used to steer clear of yellow roses too but now have sevral that I am very fond of! 😁 Admittedly they are softer yellows than some… The twisted hazel is really useful in vases and posies, whatever the time of year. When do you expect your snow to have gone?

  7. Noelle says:

    Lovely daffodils and twisted hazel. I am one of those that loves yellow. I have quite a bit in the garden and even small patches are very welcome. Here is my vase, a very small one! https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2022/03/in-vase-on-monday-miniature-daffodils.html

  8. Kris P says:

    I’m glad spring is making its presence known in your part of the world. Daffodils can be very stubborn when it comes to arranging them. I cut some this week too but ended up plopping them into a tiny vase that didn’t make the photo session this week. Yours are much prettier and I love your little prop. As I head off to tackle this week’s grocery run, here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2022/03/in-vase-on-monday-spring-is-in.html

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, the daffs were quite insistent that they were going to stand where they chose, and I didn’t want to add any pebbles as I sometimes do because I wanted to emphaise the clear glass and pattern of the vase

  9. tonytomeo says:

    Some disapprove of yellow? Gee, I took whatever color I could. I would prefer all bloom to be white, but that does not work out so well. When I lived in town, a neighbor selected colors for the front garden, since I am so inept with color, and they were generally in the yellow and orange range.

    • Cathy says:

      Not sure that disapprove is the right word, Tony – some just find yellow a bit jarring

      • tonytomeo says:

        I was not so keen on yellow, and was even less keen or orange, but they looked so good on that particular house, and I will always grow nasturtiums anyway! I dislike purple, but would like to add more blue and purple to a Memorial Garden for someone who appreciated blue and purple. The family of the deceased financed the project a long time ago, and requested certain flowers within that color range. I intend to continue the preference. Incidentally, it is right across a walkway from my exclusively white garden. Incidentally, and contrary to poplar belief, the white garden was not my idea! Really!

  10. Donna Donabella says:

    Oh I am so taken with this breath of spring…daffs shout spring’s song. Hoping some I moved will grow in a container. I don’t have flowers up yet but some lovely spring flowers from the grocer has me thinking spring. Here’s my link:

    Exploring Color: Purple

    • Cathy says:

      Hope yours flower in due course Donna, but I am glad you are still able to enjoy some spring flowers in the meantime

  11. Going Batty in Wales says:

    There is a lovely tradition here of planting daffodill bulbs in the hedgebank opposite the entrance to a farm or house. I guess originally because that way the cottage or farmhouse owner could see them from the windows but they also cheer up anyone passing. Opposite my entrance are some so old and simple I think they may be the natural Tenby daffs – Tenby is only a 45 minute drive aay and that is down windy narrow roads so really not very far.

    • Cathy says:

      That’a a lovely thought, that they could have been there for some time… Must admit, I have wondered about planting some on the verge opposite our house…

      • Going Batty in Wales says:

        Sometimes I pass a clump and realise that there must have been a cottage opposite at one time but it has fallen down.

    • Oh, thank you for letting us know of that tradition. My Mum was welsh. Her father donated daffodil bulbs to the Crematorium where his ashes are and I visit in daffodil time when I can, there are masses planted in the opposite bank as one drives out of the gates and I always say goodbye to them!

  12. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – #StandWithUkraine | Frogend dweller's Blog

  13. Daffodils have to be the exception to the anti-yellow brigade surely! That’s how I feel anyway 😉 .
    You made me smile with your comments about disobedient flowers. I thought that I was the only one with precocious plants 🤣. you couldn’t have had a better named daffodil though!
    Here is my bunch: https://wp.me/pM8Y1-8zn

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, daffs are the exception, and personally I wouldn’t choose any taller ones (uless they were white, or early ones for the Coop!) 😁

  14. Yay, daffodils! They definitely welcome spring. Mine are beginning to emerge, and I can’t wait until they bloom. 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      They do indeed – hope years bloom soon. We had a period of milder weather after ours emerged and it didn’t take them long to open

  15. Annette says:

    I love yellow and pity anyone who doesn’t. It’s such an important colour for insects too. Your vase is so pretty, roll on spring. I’m ready 🙂 Been to our daffodil woodland yesterday, it was magical. Will try and share a vase next week.

    • Cathy says:

      Don’t need to pity me though, Annette! Actually, there are some yellows I do like, so I am just selective, not anti-yellow! A natural daffodil woodland? Sounds amazing – how did that come about, I wonder…?

      • Annette says:

        I wasn’t referring to you but rather to those who hate yellow. You’re right, I don’t like all yellows either. How the wild daffodil woodland came about? Well, wildflowers can cover huge areas and spread naturally if they aren’t interfered with. Just read a lovely article in Landscape about areas in the UK where they still grow en masse.

        • Cathy says:

          I am guilty of avoiding it though!! And yes, it was a silly question about the natural daffodil woodlands really, wasn’t it? 😉 But good to know they are still in the UK too

  16. Anna says:

    That little clockwork man made me smile Cathy even though he is standing quite still. Himself had a furry clockwork mouse that entertained little and no so little people over the years. Daffodils are instant sunshine and even though I prefer paler yellows the brighter yellow daffodils are never capable of causing offence 😀 I was distracted by filling that green garden waste bin yesterday amongst other things but hope to be back with a vase next week.

Comments are closed.