In a Vase on Monday: Gather Ye Rosebuds

Gather ye Rose-buds while ye may,
Old Time is still a-flying:
And this same flower that smiles today,
Tomorrow will be dying.

Robert Herrick: ‘To the Virgins, to Make Much of Time’, 1648

My vase today is simple but poignant: I have been particularly remembering our blogging friend Dorris in recent weeks as she died in the first week of December last year. She is fondly remembered and much missed not only by myself but by many others in our blogging community, and there will always be plants or places that bring back memories of her. For me, tulips, especially in Venetian colours, allium, pink phlomis and Rosa ‘Morning Mist’ spring immediately to mind, along with her own garden, our visit to Broughton Grange and her participation in IAVOM and A Week of Flowers. She will not be forgotten.

If you would like to join in with IAVOM in any way please leave your comment or create and link your own vase or posy gleaned from your garden or foraged nearby.

 

 

This entry was posted in Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Gather Ye Rosebuds

  1. Noelle says:

    Your choice is so apt Cathy, that single rose bud and the fallen petals. Here is my gathering from my Rambling yesterday. https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2021/12/in-vase-on-monday-hedgerow-gleanings.html

  2. pbmgarden says:

    A sweet tribute to Dorris. I didn’t realize you had met her. Your vase today emphasizes how flowers carry messages of the heart. I share a similar vase today.

    In A Vase On Monday – Claret With Texture

  3. Cathy says:

    Poignant and sad Cathy. I associate so many of my plants and flowers with people and places, and for me it is Dorris I think of with my grasses, tulips and Geums. One of her last comments was that she had lots of tulips to plant for the next year. Your rose and the quote are so fitting. I will add my link later. xx

  4. Very appropriate and a lovely tribute to Dorris. She is smiling in another garden, I like to think. Here is my vase this Monday.https://theshrubqueen.com/2021/12/06/in-a-vase-on-monday-zinnia-envy/

  5. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Allium Praise | Words and Herbs

  6. Kris P says:

    This is a very nice tribute, Cathy. The people we’ve lost do come very much to mind at this time of year. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2021/12/in-vase-on-monday-do-over.html

  7. Anna says:

    A simple but moving memory of a friend Cathy. I wish that I had got to know Dorris as so many of you did 😘

  8. the running wave says:

    A beautiful and simple bloom in memory of Dorris. That’s lovely, thank you Cathy. Amanda

  9. Going Batty in Wales says:

    I didn’t know Dorris but it is a lovely tribute to your friend. Isn’t it wierd having roses in bud at this time of year – but very welcome too.

    • Cathy says:

      Found your comment in spam and rescued it! Yes, there are usually odd roses that appear into winter, albeit usually very fragile

  10. tonytomeo says:

    Oh, I am sorry that I missed last Monday. What a thoughtful tribute.

  11. I am very sorry that I was not able to participate in the Dorris tribute, but I was feeling very unwell. Cathy your vase with the rose and the fallen petals next to the vase is full of feeling and is the best tribute to a friend who has left this world. It is wonderful. My best wishes. Very affectionate greetings from Margarita.

    • Cathy says:

      That’s fine, Margarita, you have to think of yourself first and foremost

      • Thank you very much Cathy. As I feel so bad and I do not know when I will be able to pick up the computer again, I want to take the opportunity to congratulate you on the holidays even in advance. I wish you a Merry Christmas full of love, peace, harmony and good health in the company of the golfer and your family. And a Happy and Prosperous New Year 2022 in which all your wishes and dreams are fulfilled: may you be very happy in it with good health for you and yours. Happy Holidays!!!! I wish you the best for them. Very affectionate greetings from Margarita 🎄✨🎁🥂⭐

Comments are closed.