In a Vase on Monday: Scaling the Heights

Nearly everything about this Monday vase changed during its production – some of the contents, the prop, the actual vase itself, although not the title, which was triggered by the original inspiration, crab apple Malus ‘Evereste’.

Originally joining the crab apple was a late flowering stem of an antirrhinum in a similar blushed apricot shade, but once I moved on from the idea of a single vase to the three matched individual ones and needed to search for a third occupant, the antirrhinum no longer seemed to fit the bill. Rejecting it, I turned instead to Cornus ‘Midwinter Fire’, still clinging onto its leaves which had to be trimmed off, and a wayward stem of witch hazel Hamamelis ‘Orange Peel’, already beginning to show colour – does it not realise we have visitors expected in mid-February when we open the garden for the National Garden Scheme, hoping to see snowdrops, hellebores and witch hazels?

My planned prop was a scale rule, a relic of pre-computer days when, alongside slide rules and log tables (remember them?) they were integral to maths lessons and lectures and, for some, certain professional careers. Judged too large a scale to act as a prop, this smaller set square was used instead and, along with the group of vases, possibly and in an unplanned sort of way even hints at a mountain range – but perhaps that is too tenuous a link…?

Props are not obligatory for vases on IAVOM but sometimes spark all sorts of intriguing memories and conversations, so feel free to find something from your garden to plonk in a vase or jamjar and share it with us naked of prop or even title, just leaving the usual links to and from this post so we in turn can find yours.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Scaling the Heights

  1. Pingback: A Vase and An Adventure! | Wild Daffodil

  2. I love the link between the vases and mountain ranges – mountains at sunset. Such gorgeous colours in the crab apples going so perfectly with the other stems and the vases.
    I am sure your visitors will find your garden a delight whatever is choosing to be at its peak at the time.
    At last my post about my visit!

    A Vase and An Adventure!

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Love this. I teach Tadasana in every class and encourage students to become the mountain, so I find the vase and mountain range connection easily imagined and satisfying. The charming vase has great form and color–your crab apple is right at home inside it. Thanks for hosting, Cathy.

    In A Vase On Monday – Red Flowers

    • I looked up Tadasana and did the pose – loved it. It really made me feel taller and straighter. It is going into my exercise routine. 🙂 Thank you.

    • Cathy says:

      I was halfway through writing my reply when it suddenly disappeared but I don’t think I accidentally sent it…
      Anyway, I was saying that one of the things I love about IAVOM is the connections we make on all sorts of different levels. I had to Google Tadasana and would now like to try to include the pose in my daily routines – it reminds me how gloriously uplifting I find the parts of my exercise classes that involve throwing my arms up in the air…not the same at all, but nevertheless liberating

      • pbmgarden says:

        I like the liberating feel of arms overhead also.
        I remember now you practice Tai Chi rather than yoga. Glad you looked up Tadasana anyway. It’s a foundational pose for the standing poses. I like to teach it as a meditation–I encourage students to ground their feet, connect with the earth, feel energy rising up through legs into pelvis, feeling lift through entire spine, relaxing shoulders, let shoulder blades drip down the back, lengthen through back of neck, sense lengthening of body from soles of feet to crown of head. Sense the feet rooting down and connecting to the ground. Become aware of how this brings stability and imagine what it would be like to become the mountain. Feel the crown of the head lifting up into the clouds etc. It’s a very nice pose.

        • Cathy says:

          Mmm, yes, I can just visualise that now and it is invigorating even just thinking about it. When I first looked it up it reminded me of a meditation I have done in the past, with a mountain, a pond and a third element that I can’t quite remember, but I am sure you will know. I will certainly take on board the pose and meditation in the way you have shared – thanks so much, Susie

        • Cathy says:

          What a lovely discussion this has been – I enjoy postures that use arms overhead as well – I think because they liberate the breathing, and the mind? This week my sessions include the Mountain – although mine is a kneeling pose (Parvatasana). I still enjoy it so much. But your conversation above makes me wonder why I’m doing ‘The Mountain’, but it’s not YOUR Mountain!!! Can you give me a clue? I practise on my own and use a very old book by Dr Svami Purna which I find easy to do on my own. I wish I lived closer so I could join in your classes!

          • pbmgarden says:

            Seem to be a lot of mountains. I hadn’t realized! Not quite sure but can imagine your kneeling mountain. I teach a seated mountain in which we float arms overhead until palms touch on inhale, returning arms by side on exhale (plus variations). I think you’re right that arms overhead liberates breathing and the mind. Perhaps it builds confidence too. The mind aspect is very important in my practice and I try to encourage my students to embody the poses. So nice you have a practice you enjoy.

          • Cathy says:

            When I looked on the internet at the name of my posture, it showed me a seated mountain for the one I’m doing although my book has kneeling. I really enjoy it anyway! I think it would be so nice to have someone like you talking one through the posture using words like ‘floating’. I do enjoy my personal practice but expert guidance is lacking!

          • Cathy says:

            My Tai Chi lady (who also does yoga) has had to have a break because she has a bad back, so I need to make sure I don’t let things drop in the meantime…

          • Cathy says:

            Yes, it’s been fascinating…another offshoot of IAVOM!

  4. The vase is wonderful and a great one for cooler weather. Your crabapples are beautiful, where I am from crabapples can be grown but are usually a moldy mess. I remember slide rules and still occassionally do a little drafting. Here is my vase https://theshrubqueen.com/2021/11/29/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-mixed-bag/

    • Cathy says:

      The birds are starting to pick off the crab apples now, so I thought I would share them again before they are all gone! The Golfer started out as an apprentice draughtsperson but by the time I first knew him in the mid 90s he had moved on to CAD

  5. Noelle says:

    There is so much in your post, ideas I have yet to explore such as Tadasana, so I am posting quickly, and will return after lunch: Here is my contribution: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2021/11/in-vase-on-monday-frosty-morning.html

  6. Kris P says:

    The prop fits your theme perfectly in my view, Cathy. I love those pretty crab apples. If crab apples grow here, it’s news to me as I can’t remember ever seeing any. Finding flowers in my garden has suddenly become much harder but I do have a post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2021/11/in-vase-on-monday-flowers-are-in-short.html

  7. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Hidden Gold | Words and Herbs

  8. Cathy says:

    The crab apples are really pretty and those vases are the perfect match! I love vases with narrow necks so you can show off just one or two stems on their own. My Cornus has been bare of leaves for some time now. Your witch hazel buds do seem rather early, don’t they. Mine has buds but still very small. Here is my small contribution for this week. Without this meme I would have missed finding treasure today, so thank you! 😃 https://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2021/11/29/in-a-vase-on-monday-hidden-gold/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – the vases are undoubtedly some of IKEA’s, although acquired at a car boot! My other 2 cornus have lost all their leaves, albeit recently, but these are still hanging on. FRon my Garden records Orange Peel started blooming fully on 2nd December!

  9. Anna says:

    Oh the very mention of set squares, log tables and slide rules makes me come over all of a quiver Cathy 😢 Maths was the one school subject that reduced me to tears on many occasions. I do like the contents of your trio of red vases though. Most jealous of the crab apples – mine have all disappeared despite being a variety that is supposed to hold to the fruit well into winter. How inconsiderate of ‘Orange Peel’ but no doubt you will have others in full fettle come mid-February.

    • Cathy says:

      So sorry to reduce you to a quivering wreck, Anna 😁 Evereste seems to hold onto its crabs well until the birds need them, and of course is visible from the kitchen windows. my records tell me Orange Peel was first to flower last year, on Dec 2nd, and I suppose blooming may be weeks ahead of these hints of colour

  10. smallsunnygarden says:

    Those crabs are, dare I say it, absolutely darling. The scale rule is just the thing with your tiny trio.
    I certainly hope the rest of your witch hazels remember not to flower just yet!
    I’ve also gone with quite a small bouquet in a bud vase today, but it does have blooms from some newly planted flowers in it: https://smallsunnygarden.substack.com/p/in-a-vase-the-pretty-picotees

    • Cathy says:

      This variety of crab apple was such a good choice, Amy, and has everything to recommend it! The witch hazels were mostly over for our first Feb opening in 2020, but were mostly still in flower last year when we didn’t open because of the lockdowns

  11. Chloris says:

    Your crab apples are lovely. I am a great fan of the whole Malus tribe and grow quite a few. The best are the ones that hang onto their fruit long into winter.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, and you have got so many! I am wondering whether to take my Golden Hornet out and perhaps replace it with something more commendable, or just out…

  12. I love crab apples and how good they look in that lovely set of three vase. Cornus and Hamamelis are divine. The ruler reminds me of a mountain and I remember the scales, the spreadsheets, ….. And when I started with the computer, I made spreadsheets and much more at the end of the eighties of the last century. How many memories that rule has brought me! Cathy the vase set is divine, I love it, it gives life and color. Cathy I hope your garden opening in February will be a success: your plants are sure to be magnificent. Take good care of the golfer and you, and a lot of caution with the Covid omicron. Have a great week. Very affectionate greetings from Margarita.

  13. I love it! The props are really special. This time of year creativity is so important, and you certainly have it. Very nice!

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you -it is always intriguing to read people’s responses to vases and any props used, as they can throw up all sorts of unexpected thoughts

  14. Cathy says:

    Your boundless imagination leaves me breathless, Cathy! And those sweet little vases … I hope the hamamelis hangs on there for you and your visitors!

  15. tonytomeo says:

    Nice crabapples. My first crabapple tree was an old fashioned flowering crabapple with very tiny fruit that were considered to be more of a nuisance than an asset. Fruiting crabapples on the farm produce nice big fruit, but do not bloom as prettily. It is interesting that some of the modern cultivars of flowering crabapple actually produce more and bigger fruit than the old fashioned cultivars, and that some people find such fruit to be more appealing.

    • Cathy says:

      Each to their own, Tony!

      • tonytomeo says:

        Well, If there were not already old fruiting crabapples at the farm, and I could select a flowering crabapple, I would be inclined to select one that blooms like a flowering crabapple, and gives me some sort of fruit as well, even if it is not like those that I am familiar with.

Comments are closed.