In a Vase on Monday: Slow and Steady

Today’s vase is a single stem of greenhouse fantasy chrysanthemum ‘Salhouse Joy’, buds just breaking into bloom at the end of last month, enabling an appearance in the first vase of November. Growth has been slow and steady throughout the year but I still wonder if the end result is worth the long wait. It is a very pretty bloom, I admit, but if the plant again succumbs to an aphid attack as it has done in the previous two years, then its moment of glory will soon be gone and the long wait will begin again – do I continue tolerating the unattractive plant, which requires protection in the coldest months, for the bulk of the year, for the sake of pretty blooms for just a few weeks?

Meanwhile, this slow and steady resin snail has been revelling in the shade of the courtyard behind the Coop, but has kindly crawled out of the dampness to be a prop alongside the tardy chrysanthemum, which has been plonked into a dark green (‘moss’) Caithness Glass bud vase.

Anyway, enough of that, for next week we do not need to trouble ourselves to find plants that are blooming or in their prime of life, because the challenge for IAVOM’s eighth anniversary is to share a vase without fresh blooms. If I tell you that the giveaway is a copy of the new book ‘Cut and Dry’ by Carolyn Dunster, a ‘modern guide to dried flowers from growing to styling’, this gives you an idea of what you could use instead – and not just dried flowers, but seedheads, twigs, anything but fresh flowers. Be as inventive as you like – but if you don’t fancy the challenge, or miss reading this brief, just post as usual, and everyone who comments next week will go into the draw unless you elect not to.

And of course please also consider finding something from your garden to pop in a vase or other container today, and share it with us by leaving the usual links.

 

This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Slow and Steady

  1. the running wave says:

    She is a bit of a glamour puss, and I think worth the wait! Lots of expression and movement in those blooms! I think she is trying to reward your patience throughout the year! Amanda https://therunningwave290580645.wordpress.com/2021/11/01/the-last-hurrah-in-a-vase-on-monday/

  2. pbmgarden says:

    I agree with Amanda–C. ‘Salhouse Joy’ is worth the wait. Beautiful color and striking form. Have a great week Cathy and thank you for hosting us each week.

    In A Vase On Monday – Pink In Painted Glass

    • Cathy says:

      I admit the flowers are pretty, even if the plant itself isn’t. My white fantasy one is also in bud, but a little way behind – it’s name does not trip off my tongue though!

  3. Noelle M says:

    High Maintenance and a long wait for her moment of glory, when little else is around to eclipse her elegance, yes I think this beauty is worth cherishing. The prize for our anniversary vase is so well chosen. I do like your resin snail….Here I am offering a couple of ‘upcycled’ vases.https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2021/11/in-vase-on-monday-last-of-this-years.html

    • Cathy says:

      Well yes, she clearly didn’t want any competition! Not that like anything else has blooms like this of course, but could be striking in other ways

  4. Many of our favourites only bloom for a few weeks (or less!) so I guess it depends on how ugly the plant is the rest of the year…this stem certainly makes a beautiful statement in the moss glass vase! I KNEW there was a reason I was drying flowers this year!! 🙂 Happy MOnday!

    In a Vase, on Monday – Endings

  5. I like the Mum and the way you have displayed it. I have sworn off Divas in pots with aphids! Thank you for hosting all these years! Plotting some wild ideas for next week. https://theshrubqueen.com/2021/11/01/in-a-vase-on-monday-muhly-belles/

  6. Kris P says:

    Maybe periodic squirts with some insecticidal soap would hold off the aphids? That said, I understand your quandary. I’ve given up on Digiplexis (again) for the very same reason. Some local gardeners have started growing Chrysanthemums to get the beautiful blooms not otherwise available anywhere here but florists’ shops. Although I appreciate the blooms, especially the spider types like yours, the foliage is what I can only describe as blah so I’ve hesitated despite being a certified (certifiable?) flower freak. This week, I’m bidding goodbye to my dahlias so, who knows, I may invest in some Chrysanthemum plants yet. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2021/11/in-vase-on-monday-variations-on-theme.html

    • Cathy says:

      Ye, the foliage is definitely ‘blah’ and made me realise I am not even going to try again with the more ordinary chrysanthemums in the garden, nor asters, either, which are just as bad!

  7. I enjoy the simple single stem and small arrangements as much as the elaborate vases. Those of us in the north with very cold weather for the next four months will have to be inventive. Thanks for the reminder that we can be even more creative when the fresh cut flowers aren’t plentiful. Thanks for hosting this beautiful meme. https://plantpostings.blogspot.com/2021/11/in-vase-on-monday-goodbye-cut-flowers.html

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, it can be refreshing to have a simple vase after many months of abundance. Starting IAVOM in November meant a challenge at first, but now I know there will always be something to find, especially if I think out of the box

  8. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: November Already?! | Words and Herbs

  9. Cathy says:

    It’s a beauty Cathy, and I personally would probably persevere with it for one more year as I have grown to love Chrysanths, especially pink ones! I am back joining you again today after a short absence. (My Dad had a stroke and I was in the UK for a while.) Thanks as always for hosting, and I am looking forward to the challenge next week. 😃

    In a Vase on Monday: November Already?!

    • Cathy says:

      Oh I am so sorry to hear about your Dad, Cathy – how is he doing, and is he likely to make a full recovery? How easy was it to get to the UK and back in the Covid circumstances? I expect I shall hang onto the two fantasy chrysanths I have, albeit a little reluctantly…

      • Cathy says:

        Travelling was horrible and extremely stressful with all the testing, quarantining and registration etc. Hope I don’t have to do that again too soon. Dad is doing okay, but can’t walk so has been moved to a rehab home getting good care and physio now, albeit in isolation from visitors and other patients for 14 days which is not helping his mental state. But that’s the way it is right now. 😬

  10. Anna says:

    ‘Joy’ is a beautiful colour and is a most intriguing shape Cathy. I think that I might well be asking myself how much pleasure does she provide when not in flower, how much room does she take in the greenhouse and what else would I grow in the space that she presently occupies? I hope that that snail doesn’t get comfortable warmer climes and go for a wander. Too wet here over the weekend and today sadly to find anything that was looking dry enough to go in a vase 😂

    • Cathy says:

      Yes she is, and I suppose would not have lodged here at all if she wasn’t so pretty. I do leave her and her friend outside the Coop during the summer, and did cut them both back after their first aphid infestation, so they haven’t grown quite as tall, which is in their favour. We had our heaviest rain and greyest morning of the year on Sunday 🙄

  11. tonytomeo says:

    Oh my! It looks like it is of the early 1970s. Seriously, I remember when chrysanthemums like that were popular, and the color of the vase was quite stylish. My 1972 Electra was a similar color.

  12. What an amazing looking flower, defiantly worth the wait! https://thehomeandgardens.com/

  13. Debra says:

    Your single bloom is gorgeous and your photograph exceptionally pretty! I will be so curious to see what you do with the challenge. 🙂

  14. That is exquisite! Anticipation rewarded.

Comments are closed.