In a Vase on Monday: Under the Sea

The seaweed is always greener
In somebody else’s lake
You dream about going up there
But that is a big mistake
Just look at the world around you
Right here on the ocean floor
Such wonderful things surround you
What more is you lookin’ for?

These greenhouse fantasy chrysanthemums ‘Salhouse Joy’ always make me think of sea anemones, hence today’s title, and the lyrics are a catchy and rather amusing song from The Little Mermaid. I don’t have any preserved sea anemones nor dried sea urchins, but I do have these starfish to add a bit of authenticity. The ‘missing label’ miscanthus could perhaps represent a stream of bubbles, although I am not sure it adds anything to the vase. What do you think?

The chrysanthemum is in a pot which lived outside for the summer before being brought into the Coop for protection, and has soared to over 5 feet (1.5m) in height; although densely foliated,  it is now thankfully also smothered in blooms, which began appearing towards the end of October after a long and unproductive season up to that point.

Thank you to everyone who posted a vase or commented last week on In a Vase on Monday’s seventh anniversary – it is good to know that the meme brings pleasure to many. Winner of the giveaway book ‘Led by the Nose – a Garden of Smells’ by Jenny Joseph is Beverley of moreinkpleaseblog : I will email you at the email address linked to your comments, Beverley, to arrange posting it out to you.

As always, I look forward to seeing what blogging friends can find in their gardens or forage locally to put in a vase or jam jar or even display without a receptacle; please leave links to and from this post if you would like to join us on In a Vase on Monday today.

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Under the Sea

  1. jenanita01 says:

    Love these mums… very ethereal!

  2. joylennick says:

    How delightful are these ‘Fantasy’ mums, and so aptly named! Thank you! x

  3. the running wave says:

    I really love your chrysanthemums Cathy! I had forgotten all about the spidery ones. I used to use them around this time of year when I arranged flowers to dress the building I worked in before retiring. They are expressive and seem to throw open their arms in welcome to the viewer! Great colour too! I have a little twiglet of my favourite autumn berry, spindle, in my vase on Instagram today. Still no further forward with WordPress because i simply haven’t had time to sit down and deal with it. I will be exploring the link you very kindly sent me and hopefully get up and running before I get too much older! Have a great week. Amanda

    • Cathy says:

      They are certainly nothing like the old-fashioned ones, are they? Was dressing the building with flowers an official part of your role, I wonder? I am so sorry that we still don’t have you back with us here, but it is good to know you are making your presence felt on Instagram. I can hardly believe how few hours there seem to be in my days sometimes, so I have an idea where you are coming from

      • the running wave says:

        The flower arranging wasn’t on my job description! I sort of fell into it because I love arranging flowers and one of the directors liked my way of doing things so it fell to me, in the end, to produce about 15 arrangements every Monday morning for the entrance halls, reception rooms, boardrooms and dining room! I worked in Charlotte Square in Edinburgh – those lovely Robert Adam buildings with beautiful high ceiling rooms and ornate plasterwork. It was quite a privilege and I enjoyed it despite the physical side of lugging heavy bowls of flowers around the building!!

  4. pbmgarden says:

    These chrysanthemums are just beautiful Cathy. You’ve inspired me to look for some to grow next year.

    In A Vase On Monday – Three Weeks Ago

  5. Noelle M says:

    You have certainly selected from splendid Chrysanthemums to grow and to arrange Cathy. We both seek anchorage this week, you in the sea and I against the winds. Here is my vase: https://noellemace.blogspot.com/2020/11/in-vase-on-monday-rose-grace.html

    • Cathy says:

      Not being a huge fan I thought I would at least give these fantasy ones a try as the flowers are so unique. Interestingly, I would be more comfortable in winds than under the sea (despite being a regular swimmer)… 😉

  6. Kris P says:

    From flowers to poem (song) to props, this is perfect, Cathy. I absolutely love that chrysanthemum. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2020/11/in-vase-on-monday-last-dance.html

    • Cathy says:

      Aw, thanks Kris – I knew well in advance that I would be using the chrysanths today, although the song and props and title were very much a last minute thing

  7. Oh my word those mums are stunning! I love them. I like the addition of the Miscanthus but then i adore grasses.
    My effort may fall a bit flat today. https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com

  8. And I thought you were not Chrysanth fan!? They are really pretty and the plant must be stunning at five feet! I like the Miscanthus in back, could be coral? Here is my vase, Happy Monday, https://theshrubqueen.com/2020/11/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-tecoma-trials/

  9. Congratulations on 7 years. Blogs share good news. That is very important.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you – I have gained so much from my blog and the interaction with fellow bloggers and there is so much knowledge and support being shared around

  10. Cathy your Chrysanthemums “Salhouse Joy” are spectacular, pure beauty, divine, I love them. In that vase they are magnificent. It is true that they can remember anemones and with the song of The Little Mermaid even more. The accompaniment of the beautiful starfish ends up transporting you to the ocean. It is incredible that these chrysanthemums reach 1.5 m tall with abundant foliage, they are wonderful, I love them. Cathy takes great care of the golfer and you. Have a happy week. Very affectionate greetings from Margarita.

  11. Anna says:

    Oh that is most reminiscent of what you might see in Jacques Cousteau deep sea underwater documentary Cathy 😄 It certainly has an ebb and flow about it. ‘Salhouse Joy’ sounds as if it was well worth the wait.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna – I could have done with a blue or green background instead of black though, for a more realistic sea… 😁 The flowers do partially offset the boring leafiness of the plant until the first blooms appeared – but only partially!!

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    This is exquisite, Cathy! Such delicate beauty, and the sea theme is perfect.

  13. I think it’s amazing–the flowers AND the theme. The mums add some great character…I love the color and the shape!

  14. Heyjude says:

    These are amazing flowers! I once saw an exhibition of mums at Wisley and was surprised at all the different shapes and colours. I still think of them as garage forecourt flowers though and the smell always puts me off. Viewing yours however is a real treat. 😊

  15. Cathy says:

    They are beautiful Cathy, and really do look like anemones. 😃

  16. Annette says:

    Belated happy birthday wishes, dear Cathy, can’t believe it’s seven years already!!! Your chrysanthemum is a true star and your props and quote go so well with it. Hopefully I’ll be able to contribute again soon, missed it really. Love to you and the Golfer x

  17. tonytomeo says:

    The do sort of look like sea anemones. I sort of think they look old fashioned, like mums from the early 1970s. They were more stylish back then.

    • Cathy says:

      I suspect some of us would think that Chrysanthemums in the 70s were definitely more old-fashoned than stylish – but we all have different tastes, and that is fine!

Comments are closed.