Reliable October Bloomers

Checking back on October Blooms Day last year, it is clear that the most reliable October bloomers are dahlias, salvias, persicaria, cosmos and sedum with a few near perfect roses in the mix too. Above, from left to right and top to bottom are dahlias Twynings After Eight, Cafe au Lait, Happy Single Juliet, unknown, Duet, Bishop of Leicester, Happy Halloween, Snowball and a lovely scarlet cactus dahlia grown from seed. All are still going strong, eking out as much existence as they can before the first frosts.

A few roses are bringing pleasure: Sweet Dreams, Madame Alfred Carriere, Blush Noisette, Crown Princess Margarita, The Pilgrim…

In the bold borders Persicaria ‘Blackfield’ looks striking next to Verbena ‘Lollipop’, with Nasturtium ‘Mahogany’ sprawling below them:

Above these are this year’s surprising star, Rudbeckia ‘Prairie Glow’, bought as a £2.99 for 3 bonus with something else, and thriving like no other perennial rudbeckia has ever done in this garden:

Annual rudbeckias like Irish Eyes are a more expected success:

Some astrantias are having a second flush, like ‘Star of Beauty’ and ‘Buckland’:

Salvia ‘Neon’ (left) brushes off winter, has flowered since June and has wonderfully blackcurrant scented leaves (Persicaria ‘Jo and Guido’ behind it), whereas ‘Amistad’ (right) is less winter hardy and started flowering later but is still a wonderful asset. Both are readily propagated by cuttings.

There is no stopping comos:

And sedum are at their best (here, S ‘Thunderhead’):

It’s hard to believe that we are more than half way through October – I wonder how many of these blooms will still be starring in November? Chloris of The Blooming Garden celebrates the stars of her garden every month and encourages us to do the same so please check out her blog in due course  and see what’s happening there and elsewhere. Thanks Chloris for giving us this opportunity!

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Reliable October Bloomers

  1. Pauline says:

    What a lovely selection you have, October flowers are so precious to us and the wildlife, which must be very happy in your garden.

  2. Heyjude says:

    I had a disaster with cosmos this year, not a single one managed to survive. Do you sow yours in seed trays in the greenhouse or direct? I tried both ways, but the S&S got them. Next year I may try established plants, they seem to manage to defend themselves from attack much better. Lovely to see so many roses still in bloom.

    • Cathy says:

      I don’t direct sow anything, Jude, but even when planted out the ‘S&S’ didn’t seem especially interested. This year they were sown in early March and planted out a couple of months later

  3. Peach6972 says:

    Lovly ⚘🌷🍁beautiful

  4. rickii says:

    that persicaria is a gem. how does it hold up in a vase?

  5. tonytomeo says:

    I did not know that ‘Mahogany’ nasturtium was available. I know it only as a color in ‘Jewels mix’. Now I need to look into that. I will probably go with ‘Jewels Mix’, but I really like nasturtiums, so I sometimes try new varieties. I have not gotten any new seed for years because the feral ones are so excellent.

    • Cathy says:

      I tried one this year that was meant to be ‘pink’ (Cherry Rose) but is was definitely far more red than pink! Next year I intend to try a pale pink one and a cream one with purple blotches – let’s hope they are what I expect!

  6. Christina says:

    Are most of your blooming flowers in your cut flower beds? I’ve given up on Rudbeckias but yours are an inspiration.

    • Cathy says:

      The dahlias, cosmos and R irish Eyes are in the cutting beds and the others elsewhere. I have to say that when I have planted out annual rudbeckia in the garden it doesn’t do as well in the cutting beds – another reason why I value these beds all the more! With the success of the perennial one, I am also chancing echinacea again, which up to now has not done well for me either

  7. That’s a lovely display of colour! Have recently acquired a blackcurrant sage, hope it settles in!

  8. LisaDay says:

    Have you had summer in fall is well? I pulled up a plant and discovered roses underneath. I think I need more of them

  9. Chloris says:

    Such an abundance of beautiful October blooms Cathy. That sedum is new to me. Persicaria Blackfield is gorgeous with the verbena.
    You have inspired me I must get on with my list of October blooms, thank you for sharing yours.

  10. FlowerAlley says:

    So beautiful. Astrantias are so complex. I loved the Dahlia assortment.

  11. Cathy how many beautiful flowers past the hemisphere of October! The collection of Dalias is wonderful: I love Snowball and Scarlet Cactus. The roses in bloom it has are divine, especially “Sweet Dreams”. Las Astrantias are special. Rudbeckias are precious as the Persicaria. The photos are magnificent as your garden. Greetings from Margarita.

  12. Brian Skeys says:

    Rudbeckia ‘Prairie Glow’ definitely has a glow about it. Will you try propagating it Cathy?

  13. smallsunnygarden says:

    I think autumn roses are some of the best, and your picture reminds me how much I want to find a good spot for a Blush Noisette! Love your shot of the cosmos. And the Rudbeckias. It looks like I had better get on with making some cutting beds, no? 😉 Your garden is always inspiring!

  14. Anna says:

    A veritable treasure trove of October blooms Cathy. I didn’t realise that you had ‘Blush Noisette’ in your garden. Her late show although not as prolific as in summer is a most welcome gift. I like your rudbeckias. I sowed some rudbeckia hirta ‘Cherry Brandy’ but too late in the day and I’m now waiting with bated breath to see if the flowers fully open before the frosts.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, Blush Noisette is round the edge of rhe rose garden – and is staying! I have grown Cherry Brandy a few times but it has not been especially obliging – hope you get some blooms from yours

Something to say after reading this?

