Musings and Abusings

The rose garden continues to be abused and with all the posts removed the roses followed suit today, before being bundled up to take to a Golfing Friend of the Golfer who has links with a school project n our local town. This same friend made a bulk purchase of plants left over from our open garden to give to the same cause and it is helpful to have a worthy outlet for spare plants – in the circumstances I certainly have no qualms about getting rid of 8 climbing roses! What will they be replaced with? You will need to wait and see, but in the meantime I am astonished at how light and spacious the area appears, and much bigger too. Hopefully this impression will remain with the proposed scheme.

Elsewhere, the pergola replacement is all but completed and is looking good, unlike the area at its base and the adjacent paved area. Some of the big pots are having to be moved around to improve access and a number of slabs also require rearrangement, rather like a big jigsaw puzzle with an inevitable missing piece. Tucked between a slab and one of the big pots was an astonishingly large self-seeded cerinthe – how it got there I have no idea as they have never been grown in this part of the garden. And why do self-seeded plants always grow so well and in the most inaccessible places? My nurtured-from-seed cerinthe have never grown as big and bushy as this! Despite its relatively tiny root this one has been carefully teased out and replanted in one of the bold borders where perhaps it will overwinter as these mature ones often do.

The Big Pergola reveal will come in due course, with a final structural piece being fitted to complete it, but I am currently musing about the old sink which holds alpines and which was one of the things that needed to be moved. Moving it necessitated emptying the plants and the soil, but even so the sink is still bloomin’ heavy and needs to moved into potential locations before a decision can be made. Will it fit between these two end posts, I wonder? Only if Clematis ‘Freckles’ (already cut back to enable the pergola to be replaced) is removed, I fear…

One thing leads to another and, whilst freshly fallen leaves pile up on the paths, new projects continue to take priority when time allows, with musing leading to abusing, but hopefully all for the overall benefit of the garden. Another musing, still a long way from a decision  is – SHOCK HORROR! – whether to replace the relatively small Tai Chi grass with artificial turf…  Please don’t throw your hands up in alarm without considering the potential advantages of such a scheme: the lawn is only a little more than 2 metres square and apart from the streamside grass which is cut roughly by hand is the only grass we have and thus barely worth getting the lawnmower out for, whilst a consistently short and ‘well-maintained’ surface would encourage greater use for its supposed function, Tai Chi. Watch this space (the green space below, that is!) for a decision in due course…

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Musings and Abusings

  1. Sally says:

    Wow, you have an ambitious project. I love seeing pictures of the progress and the end result…..Not being a fan of grass, I’ll be interested to see what you do……

    • Cathy says:

      In many ways it’s essentially just routine maintenance, Sally, as the timber of the pergola was rotten in places – but the process then triggers other ideas, which is how it often works here!

  2. Cathy is a great project that gets bigger with changing the place sink. It is great to have found a new site for rose bushes and leftover plants. I like Tai-Chi grass more than artificial grass, although it takes a lot of work. It is a pleasant surprise to have found the Ceretana so large and beautiful: a beautiful self-plant. I really want to see how everything is. Lots of encouragement to move forward with your project. Greetings from Margarita.

  3. Brian Skeys says:

    Lots of projects on the go there Cathy.. very brave, I think to remove four climbing roses, I look forward to seeing the replacements.

  4. Always interesting how starting on one project makes you rethink lots of other things that you thought were settled long ago like your grass square. Looking forward to seeing these various revelations.

  5. Annette says:

    Wow, Cathy, you’re up to some major projects! Artificial lawn? I dunno, sounds a bit artificial, not Cathy-like to me but we shall see. Tearing out the roses certainly wasn’t a job for the faint-hearted and I’m looking forward to seeing what’ll happen next.

    • Cathy says:

      No decision made on the grass yet, Annette, but it’s interesting to hear people’s views – I certainly agree that essentially it’s not ‘Cathy-like’… 😉 Unlike the grass, I am very pleased with my decision about the roses as you will see in due course

  6. tonytomeo says:

    Oh, I hate anything artificial . . . but I hate lawn grass even more. I lived with a lawn for 16 years and could not get rid of it because it ‘fit’ the neighborhood where I lived in town. It got no use, but demanded a lot of attention. My colleague down south has an artificial lawn because he needed to ‘demo’ it for clients, and I totally dig it. I just try to ignore the fakeness though.

    • Cathy says:

      You might be surprised how ‘unfake’ it can look these days, Tony – I certainly wouldn’t consider it otherwise

      • tonytomeo says:

        Actually, I AM surprised how unfake it looks. One of my job sites had an entire athletic field of it. . . long story, that was not one of the ‘good’ examples, but it looked great, and used no water, which is important here. We used to joke about where to get seed for plastic grass, and how to breed the yellow and white plastic grass (for the stripes and numbers on the athletic field).

  7. Yes, I’m shocked! Artificial grass! I understand the reasoning, just not sure I fit put you, artficial grass and Tai Chi together in my head. I’m sure you will make it work though.

  8. Anna says:

    Oh I’m intrigued as to what you will be replacing the climbing roses with Cathy. Great that you have found a new home for them. I’m sure that if you go for a little patch of artificial grass that you will make it a fun feature and that it will not look out of place in the least. Hope that you enjoyed today’s taste of summer.

    • Cathy says:

      Was it warm and sunny , Anna? I was shifting slabs around as part of the paved area jigsaw puzzle and didn’t really notice the weather…! 😉 I have sent for samples of the grass and will price it up but no decision has been made – unlike the new roses, which have been ordered!

  9. Christina says:

    So much to take in in this post Cathy. I have always found tat Cerinthe grow much better when self seeded, I’m lucky that mine usually seed into the right places although this year they have all germinated and now it is very dry and warm again so I think I’ll need to water them which isn’t part of the plan. THE PROJECT looks amazing, I can’t wait to see what you have planned. As to artificial grass – I’m not actually against the idea at all but maybe not for Tai Chi, which to me is always about harmony with nature. It may not reduce the work much as it will need sweeping, I think a small lawn is always a bit awkward so I’d give the artificial turf a go.

    • Cathy says:

      The pergola itself is not very different, but it’s the planting that is changing. I appreciate what you say about Tai Chi and harmony with nature, but I would still have the natural surroundings plus the soil under the surface – unlike practising inside. No decision has been made yet!

  10. You are a busy lady. Not sure about the fake grass although I have a couple of pals who have it in London and it looks excellent. How about an indoor outdoor mat? In fab colours. Ikea do some. Roll it up when not in use.

    • Cathy says:

      More to it than that though, Dorris – and I am sure that when a decision has been made the change will be made quite quicly if we decide to go ahead… 😉

  11. Chloris says:

    Wow, you are incorrigible. As I was saying the other day, your plants must duck when you walk past. I am intrigued to see what you are up to. I’m not sure about the fake grass. How about a chamomile lawn? No mowing and it smells wonderful when you walk on it.

Something to say after reading this?

