In a Vase on Monday: Standing on Their Own

After a summer of popping up in various vases I though it was about time that persicaria stood on on their own two feet and had a vase of their own. Flowering all summer, they come in a range of pink and pinky red shades as well as white, not forgetting the forms grown more for their foliage.

In this chunky blue glass vase are Persicaria Fat Domino, Blackfield, Jo and Guido, Rosea, Alba, Donald Lownde and Firetail against the foliage of Red Dragon, but there are also others that did not make it today. I am fond of them all, and especially love the big and bold Fat Domino and the dark Blackfield, but the fine and wispy Alba and Rosea have a subtle appeal too. As for the Dragon, I have sung his praises many a time and his popularity is still up there with all the others. The vase was photographed inside today, against the backdrop of a vintage quilt, and the tiny articulated figure who has accompanied vases before is showing that despite his disability he can still stand on his own two feet.

Autumn was very prevalent in last week’s vases but with late summer blooms hanging on too and not forgetting the spring flowers of the southern hemisphere. Wherever you are in the world, you are welcome to join us on IAVOM, finding material from your own garden to pop in a vase or jam jar to bring you pleasure during the week. We would love to see what you can find so please consider sharing it with us by leaving links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Standing on Their Own

  1. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Aster, stars of this season – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  2. Christina says:

    Persicarias are something I really wish I could grow, I love them all and value them for their foliage as well as their flowers. Thanks you for hosting and apologies for not commenting on some of your last posts which were all read but lack of time meant I couldn’t comment. Here’s my post for today: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2017/10/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-aster-stars-of-this-season/

    • Cathy says:

      Yes it’s a shame they are not suitable for your climate although to be honest the ones with pretty flowers tend not to have notable foliage. I know what you mean about lack of time to comment – but no need to apologise. Perhaps we need to get over feeling we need to comment on every post we read! Sometimes for me if a new post happens to come in at a time when I have a few moments it will be the one that gets the comment

  3. Pingback: In a Watering Can on Monday | Wild Daffodil

  4. Gosh i never knew there so many Persicarias, I’m going to look out for those. Love the colours.
    Here’s my offering: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2017/10/02/in-a-watering-can-on-monday/

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    A plant worthy of the spotlight and seldom given its due. Love the blue bottle and prop, too!
    With so much blooming in my garden this week, I made up three vases: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-21Y
    As always, thanks for hosting!

  6. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Autumn Blush | Words and Herbs

  7. Cathy says:

    Oh, I am so glad you have given your Persicarias the chance to shine out on their own! I like the pale pink one, and I have also now got the white ‘Alba’. I was going to use Red Dragon this week too, but got distracted… 😉 Here is my vase for today Cathy, and thank you for hosting!
    https://wordsandherbs.com/2017/10/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-autumn-blush/

    • Cathy says:

      I am pleased you enjoyed the persicaria Cathy. I have rooted around the base of Fat Domino but don’t think it is ready for splitting so I am trying some cuttings and will let you know in due course if they root

      • Cathy says:

        Thanks Cathy. I took cuttings of Red Dragon in early summer and it rooted quickly in a pot outside the back door, but the snails slowed it down a bit… strange, as they have never gone for the established plant in the ground! I have found an online nursery that sells Fat Domino! I think I will wait until spring now though. Thanks anyway!

  8. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Iris and Anemone – Absent Gardener

  9. Cath says:

    I like all of your persicarias together. They look like a plant that might be popular with bees?
    Here is my vase: https://absentgardener.com/2017/10/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-iris-and-anemone/

    • Cathy says:

      Hmm, I am just wondering if I have seen bees around them – I am sure I will have but of course they are mixed in with other things so it is is not always easy to notice.

    • Cathy says:

      The bees certainly love Persicaria ‘Firetail’ in my garden, but haven’t seen them on ‘Red Dragon’ yet.

  10. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – three seasons in a day – and thwarted Thursday! | Duver Diary

  11. I love Persicarias, they are so versatile and will grow almost anywhere, especially on my clay windswept hill side, making great ground cover and some will flower right in to November. The insects love them and they are great for vases. Love the combination of pinks and reds against Red Dragon. I am growing here for the first time, hopefully it will do ok.
    Here is my vase: http://ronaquirkybirdgardener.blogspot.co.uk/2017/10/in-vase-on-monday-towering-spires.html

    • Cathy says:

      Glad you like them. Most of mine are fairly new and still establishing (the Dragon I have had for years though) but I am thrilled with them all so far

  12. jenhumm116 says:

    Lovely to see all your Persicarias! Have to confess I don’t have any – can’t imagine why looking at your lovely lot.
    Here’s mine, thanks for hosting!
    https://duverdiary.wordpress.com/2017/10/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-three-seasons-in-a-day-and-thwarted-thursday/

  13. Seems we are both featuring foliage plants that flower too Cathy…I have never successfully grown Persicarias to see them flower so this was a treat. Love all the pinks against the dark foliage with the blue vase…very striking. Here is my link today:

    http://gardenseyeview.com/2017/10/02/judging-less-learning-more/

  14. This is a nice combination. I have seen these planted together in a garden and they make quite a statement like this as shown in your vase. Happy IAVOM.

  15. Joanna says:

    They look just lovely on their own, and the vase and vintage quilt compliment them nicely! I have never seen persicarias except in pictures, so will have to look them up!
    My vase has just one kind of flower this week, too:
    http://heirloomcottagegarden.weebly.com/blog/in-a-vase-on-monday-nasturiums

  16. I had no idea there were so many Persicarias. I only grow one of the older pink ones but those rosy reds and the dark ones certainly bring a lot of interest to this group and your other vases. Mine is here: http://www.lindabrazill.com/each_little_world/2017/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-dahlia-lady.html

  17. AlisonC says:

    It’s good to showcase one thing sometimes especially ones which might be overshadowed. Noelle brought me a piece of the one you gave her ( or she gave you) and it’s romping away. It’s lovely to have that link. Autumn here this week:https://ablogaboutcompost.blogspot.co.uk/2017/10/autumnal-colours-in-vase-on-monday.html?m=1

  18. Noelle says:

    Its great to see the blooms side by side, and certainly is a great showcase for Persicarias. Love the set up with the artist’s figure and quilt too. I had my mind on things edible these last few days:
    http://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2017/10/in-vase-on-monday-good-enough-to-eat.html
    :

  19. Sally says:

    Cathy. I’ve never known Persicaria as anything but a weed here in New England but, what a delightful flower. All those colors. I love your blue bottle….
    https://mynewenglandflowerbeds.blogspot.com

    • Cathy says:

      Some varieties have a reputation for a bit of thuggishness, but these are all fine. The bottle is not vintage; I love its shape although a wider neck woud hav been useful when it is used as a vase!

  20. Pingback: In a vase on Monday: Octoberfest | acoastalplot

  21. Sam says:

    Every time I see persicaria I think ‘I must plant some!’. I’m making a note of these – thank you 🙂 My vase is here: https://acoastalplot.wordpress.com/2017/10/02/in-a-vase-on-monday-octoberfest/
    Thank you, Cathy. Have a good week. Sam x

  22. The Persicarias are new to me and I like them! Nothing beats a spike in the border, especially in different colors. Here is my non fall vase: http://theshrubqueen.com/2017/10/01/cheers-to-resurgens

  23. Peter Herpst says:

    Because we grow them mostly for their foliage, Persicaria blooms are always a nice surprise. How delightful to let them stand on their own! Even with the Chelsea chop, my Red Dragon tends to swallow up surrounding plants and seems to pop up everywhere. It must be better-mannered in your garden. My hodgepodge offering is here: https://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2017/10/in-vase-on-monday-embracing-autumns-mess.html

    • Cathy says:

      Interesting to read about your Red Dragon – mine does flop over adjacent plants (rhododendrons, but they can take it, but hasn’t appeared anywhere else (yet!)

  24. Lovely as always! Only a couple of Persicarias will grow in my climate and those need more water than most of my plants get but I’ve finally managed to get ‘Red Dragon’ to put on a decent show. Stepping up the water to the bed it occupies was the key. I’m planning to push my luck by taking cuttings and trying the plant elsewhere this fall. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/10/in-vase-on-monday-one-side-or-another.html

  25. I love the colors and textures of this arrangement and blue just really makes the plants pop!

    Today I’m sharing just a small delicate group of dahlias as we’re getting to the end of the season. https://pitchforkandpistil.com/blog/2017/10/2/in-a-vase-monday-sherbet-dreams

  26. Your vase has reminded me to rescue my poor Persicaria ‘Brushstrokes’ which has been completely buried by other plants — and it’s too pretty to let die off — so thank you! My IAVOM post today features things I cut on our travels through Eastern Oregon last week:
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/10/in-vase-on-monday-on-road-in-oregon.html

  27. Anca Tirca says:

    Persicarias are on my list, but I could not find them here (yet!). Lovely colours and a beautiful vase! Mine is here:https://timpingradina.blogspot.ro/2017/10/in-vase-on-monday-whole-autumn-in-vase.html

  28. Pingback: Carnival of the flowers | Edinburgh Garden Diary

  29. It’s wonderful to see what a range of Persicarias exist. I wasn’t aware of them until relatively recently, and I have just two, a bright pink one whose name I don’t think I ever knew, and the cutting you gave me, which I believe is ‘Firebird’ and has the most incredible foliage and is altogether a different creature from its friend. It’s ever so happy and some of the stems are four feet tall. Persicarias are so brilliant for vases, although I haven’t used ‘Firebird’ yet, partly because I am letting it establish and partly because I am yet to find the right company for it. Perhaps I should take your example and let it ‘stand on its own two feet’!
    My vase is a bit of a cacophony this week – hope it doesn’t hurt your eyes :o)
    https://edinburghgardendiary.com/2017/10/02/carnival-of-the-flowers/

    • Cathy says:

      If the cutting I gave you had pretty dark foliage it was Red Dragon – definitely very different from the others with relatively insignificant flowers ps will email you with Edinburgh dates

  30. pbmgarden says:

    The pink quilt and the blue bottle show off the persicarias to great advantage Cathy. I like ‘Alba’ especially. My vase today is http://wp.me/p1hk5P-39i

    • Cathy says:

      I had forgotten I had Alba until it started flowering, Susie (or perhaps it tagged along with Rosea? Must check and see if it had a separate label)

  31. smallsunnygarden says:

    Wonderful to give them a showing all to themselves; they really are lovely! The delicate flower colors are beautiful, and of course, the foliage. My own vase definitely raises the question of which season…: https://www.smallsunnygarden.com/2017/10/03/in-a-vase-looking-like-spring/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Amy; it is still a transitional time of year here too but the first frosts will put a stop to that, although hopefully not quite yet 😉

  32. Oh, how very interesting! I coincidentally just posted a roundup of knotweeds about an hour ago! I zipped over here from Loree’s post on her travelling vases, and am tempted to join in your game. Is it every Monday? Perhaps I can cheat a bit this first time and post my vase from last Thursday, which was my birthday. I’ll play nicely from now on:
    http://www.torontogardens.com/2017/09/zinnia-the-gift-that-gives-and-gives.html/

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Helen, and welcome – yes, I host IAVOM every week but there is no compulsion to post every time. I began the meme initially as an incentive for myself to pick flowers or other material from my garden every week to bring pleasure during the week. Since then several other bloggers have joined in and look forward to sharing their vases on Monday as well – and if we are away from home some of us, like Loree has done, try to find something in the wild to pop in a vase too. Will pop over and see your birthday vase now!

  33. Chloris says:

    I read this yesterday and quite forgot to leave a comment. I love persicaria too and grow several. I love the Red Dragon you gave me and Blackfield is gorgeous. Fat Domino is new to me.

    • Cathy says:

      Most of my clumps are quite small still (except for the Dragon!) but their impact can only get better as they establish more. I will let you now if my Fat Domino cuttings are successful

  34. I love Persicaria and your collection makes me want to find more for my garden. They look great cathy. A day late joining you https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com sorry!

    • Cathy says:

      It was an article in the RHS magazine a couple of years back that prompted me to add to the couple I started off with. They have all been flowering for quite a few months so great value in the garden

  35. Anna says:

    Oh what’s not to like about persicarias Cathy? ‘Fat Domino’ continues to elude me but a kind friend recently tracked down ‘Blackfield’ for me and I came across ‘White Eastfield’ on my travels this weekend. Needless to say it has come back north with me 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, precisely, Anna! I have already checked my Fat Domino to see if I could divide it yet, but no… I have got some stems in water but no sign of them rooting yet – wonder about potting up some cuttings perhaps? I will let you now if I am successful. I have not heard of White Eastfield before but on googling it find that not surprisingly it is equally pretty as all the others. I can see a larger collection coming on… How tall does it grow?

Something to say after reading this?

