All From a Pint Pot

I referred recently to the extra 9 square feet or so of extra space that the greenhouse extension would be providing, but in practice this is just the additional floor space and with an industrious Golfer and extensions to the existing staging plus new shelves the useable extra space is more than double this (and that’s not counting the central ‘aisle’). It will take a little while to decide how best to rearrange existing storage and in due course I shall probably remove the existing workstation in what was the main greenhouse which will in turn provide 4 or 5 square feet of additional greenhouse border. It is beginning to feel as if we are managing to squeeze a quart out of a pint pot!

Hopefully there will be more inspirational miracles as various other small (it’s all relative!) projects are tackled in the next few weeks or months. A miracle is certainly needed for the pergola, housing the Danse de Feu roses and three clematis, that borders the paved area. With more than 10 years of life behind them, many of the struts are showing signs of rotting, and the whole structure really is leaning as much as it looks. Should we take the opportunity of replacing the gnarled and badly pruned roses (I knew nothing about roses in the early days) and reducing the size of the mammoth ferns (originally in 9cm pots) growing on the stream side of the pergola when the old structure is removed? Something to think about…

Realising how much we are missing out by not having continuous flowering roses in the rose garden, it might also be curtains for the Zéphirin Drouhin and Guinée roses growing here, and perhaps revamping the whole area, so that’s another thing to think about…

And finally (for the time being), when the chickens are no longer with us we will probably not replace them, thus freeing up a decent area of garden at the side of the house (see Map of the Garden, under The Garden tab above), but in the short-term there is the under-utilised raised bed next to the chicken enclosure which is half-heartedly used for salads and some winter veg. There must surely be a better use for this space…

Hmm, with a bit of judicious planning, do you think we could get a full gallon from the pint pot…?

This entry was posted in garden structure, Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to All From a Pint Pot

  1. Joanna @ Gingham Gardens says:

    After working in the yard all day and just taking a break to read, I think I’m exhausted now. Really, I should do exactly what you’re doing. I love it when garden bloggers show the not so pretty too. I love your greenhouse.

    • Cathy says:

      The blog is as much a prompt and reminder and thought provoker for me than it is to interest/entertain anyone else – more so, in fact; like an illustrated diary, I suppose. Hope you have a restful evening!!

  2. It is that time of year when it cools down and you start looking at the garden with a critical eye, thinking about changes. I do envy you your new addition to your greenhouse. What am I saying, I envy you greenhouse as it was. 🙂 You are going to have fun.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, it certainly seems to be something in the air that triggers it… 😉 I am thrilled about my greenhouse extension, even though it’s only a small amount of extra space

  3. Benjamin says:

    Best of luck with all your future directions! I wish we were a wee bit better at planning…so much of our gardening is based on impulse buys from seed catalogue and garden center 🙂

  4. Brian Skeys says:

    If anyone can it’s you and the golfer Cathy.

  5. Sam says:

    I’m sure you can!

  6. Christina says:

    The cooler weather is making (allowing) me to start gardening again. I always love reading your enthh

  7. Christina says:

    Enthusiastic (sorry about that some glitch with the phone) plans. The greenhouse looks great.

    • Cathy says:

      Bloomin’ phones – I am sure my fingers must be getting fatter as I am forever mistyping on mine and on my tablet!! 😉 After the excitement of the open days I didn’t think there would be much in the way of change before next year, but then inspirations strikes and I am off again! I am looking forward to the tomatoes finishing so I can have a good clearout in the main part of the greenhouse and start viewing it as one and not two all but separate parts

  8. Cathy you are my conscience when I read your blog to do the works of the garden. You give me courage to face them. You have a great energy. I love all your plans for your garden. And how nice and functional the greenhouse is: it’s beautiful. Greetings from Margarita.

  9. Anna says:

    I think that you’re capable of getting a nebuchadnezzar out of a pint pot Cathy. Is the area next to the chickens sunny or shady? Maybe a nursery bed?

    • Cathy says:

      Haha – yes, that’s what I aim for! 😉 That part of the garden is on the shadier side, with some sun first thing and then later in the day but it will always be affected by shade from the houses. You can read some more thiughts in yesterday’s post

  10. Pauline says:

    Knowing you and the golfer, you will achieve everything you desire!

  11. Alison C says:

    It’s looking great and I’m sure you’ll cram plenty into it but it still won’t be big enough. I do enjoy this time of year for appraisal and planning. (But not the fact that it feels cold tonight). Often removing something gives new opportunities which are always exciting and sometimes you wonder why you didn’t do it sooner.

Something to say after reading this?

