End of Month View: What a To-Do

As a rule we don’t like to spend much time away from home, no doubt due to the deep affinity we have with the house and garden arising inevitably from the deepness of the roots we have put down since they serendipitously came into our lives. Somehow, however, August produced 3 trips away, with a couple of days in Derbyshire, four days at my Mum’s and lastly a couple of odd days down at Elder Daughter and the Poppet’s. Meanwhile, the garden seems to be full of half-finished jobs and a number of looming seasonal maintenance tasks, what seemed like a long period of gentle summer deadheading and watering turning suddenly into an almost overwhelmingly long list of ‘to dos’. Reluctantly, with this comes an awareness that at an unknown time in the future some of these tasks may prove to be no longer within our capabilities, but while we are fit and healthy we will crack on as usual, albeit with half an eye on the future.

Despite overhauling some of the borders I am far from dissatisfied with the garden but nevertheless still find myself with a niggling urge to make minor changes to bring about what may well prove to be no more than minor improvements. Perhaps this is merely a response to the transitional nature of the time of year, first felt as a child and then as a parent and teacher as a new academic year began, but now manifesting as the gradual change from summer to autumn, with days shortening,  early morning mists and endless spiders’ webs to catch me out on my morning rambles. Accordingly, August’s End of Month Views include evidence of these various half-finished tasks, but as these are the views at the end of August then so be it. Steve of Glebe House is kindly taking over the hosting of EOMV from Helen the Patient Gardener so do venture over to his blog to see what’s happening at the end of August in his and other bloggers’ gardens. Thank you to both Helen for hosting the meme for many years and to Steve for taking it on.

View from the house towards the sitooterie

Streamside grass and shrub border, with widened path between

Shrub border from the opposite end

Woodland

Herbaceous borders from the bothy

Herbaceous borders, hostas surprisingly still mostly intact

Turn 180 degrees and see the greenhouse extension detritus at the back of the shed

Bronze heuchera bed, clematis colonnade beyond

Woodland edge border, hose snaking through following last major watering

From the other end

Bold border #1, awaiting minor overhaul

Bold border #2, mostly overhauled

Bold border #3, mostly overhauled

Cutting beds

More cutting beds

Blue & white borders and general disarray

Rose garden, with a minimalistic 2nd flush

Through the clematis colonnade

Snowdrop border in summer format

Looking back towards the house, wisteria still only pruned to stepladder level (and more greenhouse detritus!)

 

This entry was posted in End of Month View, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to End of Month View: What a To-Do

  1. Wonderful tour of your complex and fascinating garden. Long may you continue to make beauty in this lovely spot.

  2. This is a near normal look at most gardens at the end of August especially when you have a big project going. Looking good to me. Love all the blooms. My poor garden is about dried up.

    • Cathy says:

      You are right if course, Lisa, about the end of August norm, but it is hard to objective about our own gardens. It has been quite a balanced year here as far as weather goes with good hot and dry spells mixed with short rainy periods. Shame that you always have to expect a dried up garden at this time of year

  3. Steve says:

    Hi Cathy. So I have tried to round up the people doing EoMV. I was always concerned that no one would find me as a host but I should not have worried. I seem to have looked around your garden so often I am sure if I visited I would know my way around. As always your cuttings bed is looking great.

    • Cathy says:

      I didn’t think it take long for the word to spread and I am pleased that there has been a good start. Hopefully you will visit our garden one day – but I shan’t blindfold you to prove your point! 😉

  4. Joanna says:

    It’s still beautiful…the cutting beds are my favorite! Also the wisteria…I can’t grow it here but it’s one of my favorite flowers. I also have plenty of unfinsihed projects left to do in the garden.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Joanna – I have been thrilled by the cutting beds, and perhaps it is the contrast with these that makes the rest of the garden look rather past it. The wisteria has been pruned now!

  5. johnvic8 says:

    Thanks, once again, for the tour of your garden. One day…..perhaps…..I will visit. Just beautiful.

  6. Heyjude says:

    All looks lovely to me, your hostas and clematis are enviable! I know what you mean though about looking to the future. I’m already experiencing difficulties with lifting and digging, so I have in mind to try and make my garden as low maintenance as possible. Growing my own plants from seed doesn’t seem to work well here and does create extra work so I shall probably settle on buying in a few established plants each year. No matter, we do what we can and in the end as long as we get pleasure out of our gardens a little untidiness now and again is acceptable.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, that’s the crux of it, as long as we get pleasure from our gardens. Why do you feel sowing from seed doesn’t seem to work for you? I agree it can mean extra work, but for me a lot of that can be at a time when there is not a lot to do in the garden (Feb/March)

      • Heyjude says:

        I don’t have a greenhouse, so limited room in the conservatory for seed trays, and direct sowing is very hit and miss, depending on whether the S&S get there first!

  7. Anna says:

    September always seems like the start of a new year to me Cathy. It must be all those years spent working in educational establishments. If the weather gods are kind it can be a great month to work on those tasks still in progress. I enjoyed seeing your August views.

  8. Brian Skeys says:

    August is a strange time in the garden, we gardeners who have plans for change or ‘improvements’ are itching to get on with them whilst recognising there is still plenty of interest in the garden. I think you have hit on the solution. Go away on holiday!

  9. Cathy thank you very much for the walk through your beautiful garden. The photos are magnificent. I find your garden beautiful and full of lovely corners. The forest area looks like a fairy tale. The clematis are spectacular. The cut beds are filled with beautiful flowers. May my garden be a millionth of his beauty! It’s like a garden should be in early September: a beautiful garden in early September. Greetings from Margarita.

Something to say after reading this?

