One Stone

Yesterday took us on a small trip which, like most of our trips, served more than one purpose, thus ‘killing two birds with one stone’; thinking about the idiom and not wishing to sound unkind to our feathered friends, I looked up its origins. It seems that it may date back  to Greek and Roman mythology and the story of Icarus and Daedalus, who constructed wings to escape from the Labyrinth in Crete. Daedalus is said to have obtained the feathers used to make the pair’s famous wings by killing two birds with a single stone. He may of course just have been bragging – but whether it is true or not I have abbreviated my title to the solitary stone.

The main purpose of the trip was to pick up the greenhouse which we had successfully bought from eBay for the pauperly sum of £17, requiring a 100 mile round trip to a Northamptonshire village to collect it. As is our habit, we ensured there was more than one purpose to the journey by including a trip to the gardens at Coton Manor which proved to be a most enjoyable diversion to this pretty property with its lovely borders and well-stocked nursery. Sadly I haven’t taken as many photos of the borders as I thought I had:

At the eBay vendor’s home, an hour and half saw the greenhouse dismantled and stacked in the car for the journey home; today the job of clearing and dismantling the existing small greenhouse (also an eBay purchase) and the process of modifying the newer bargain began. Having done the preliminary clearing and dismantling, I left the Golfer to it (cutting to fit, re-erecting, weatherproofing the join between the two greenhouses, etc) and got on with rehashing the borders. This is the sort of task that he excels at, easily recognising how to make things fit for purpose (with the occasional practical and design input from myself) and in a small space like a greenhouse too many cooks could easily spoil the broth…hmm, I wonder what the origins of that idiom are…?

Look out for the next instalment…

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse, projects, Visiting gardens & days out. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to One Stone

  1. What a good buy. I can’t wait to see how it goes up. The Manor borders are pretty. You are so lucky to have so many lovely gardens to tour.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, we are lucky in the UK with a huge number and type of gardens to visit and living in the Midlands is a boon for visiting different parts of the country. Already it seems as if there is a lot of extra space but that’s largely because it is empty – in reality it will give only an extra 18″ to the length, but it all helps😀

  2. rickii says:

    Men do have the whole spacial/tool-wielding thing down pat and we’d best stay out of their way while they do it. The Golfer did a fine job.

    • Cathy says:

      I still need to keep an eye on proceedings though, rickii, as in his single-mindedness he can sometimes forget the practicalities of using the end result 😉

  3. Joanna says:

    Lovely gardens! Someday I would love to visit the UK to see in person all those gardens I admire in pictures here on winter evenings! Nice greenhouse, too!

    • Cathy says:

      I was too engrossed in admiring the borders to take photos really – they were colour themed but with a gradual transition depending on the season. When the two greenhouses are ‘knocked’ together it will give a combined 6 x 13+ foot of space instead of 6×8 and 4×8

  4. Cathy says:

    Whenever I visit my Mum we usually go to Coton Manor! It is lovely in spring too and the bluebell wood there is magical. Glad you got a chance to pop in on the way to collect the new greenhouse.

  5. Pauline says:

    The border at Coton Manor is beautiful and I’m sure the greenhouse will be once the golfer has finished and all your seedlings and cuttings are installed.

  6. Anna says:

    Garden visiting and greenhouse buying is a recipe for a perfect day out Cathy. I’ve always wanted to visit Cotton Manor. You’ve got a bargain with that greenhouse – it certainly didn’t cost an arm and a leg. Looking forward to seeing the final creation.

    • Cathy says:

      Not even a fingernail, Anna! It will have sold for less than others as it was advertised as just the frame but as it turns out they did still have the glass and we took a few pieces but hadn’t come with appropriate carrying facilities. We don’t really need it but do have the option of going back for the rest. Really enjoyed Coton Manor which also had some floofy chucks, interesting ducks and some flamingoes – and lots of plants for sale!

  7. Peter Herpst says:

    What a beautiful home and gardens. How exciting that you’ve doubled your greenhouse space.

    • Cathy says:

      Sadly it won’t double the space Peter as there is not enough room for that – but by replacing the exisiting half greenhouse with an extended version butted up to the original 6×8 we gain an extra 9 sq feet or so. Not a lot, but it all helps

  8. Rosie1946 says:

    You will soon fill them both up I’m sure. Lovely garden visit too – I do admire the pot display on the wall!

    • Cathy says:

      I had to empty the smaller one before we dismantled it so will indeed fill them both up – the bigger one is full of tomatoes whilst the smaller one had lots of cuttings and a few new seedlings too. I liked the pot display too but was a bit alarmed at the size of the fragrant leaved pelargoniums as I have added some to our garden this year and I didn’t anticipate them getting quite as big!!

  9. Christina says:

    It doesn’t matter how large you make the greenhouse, you’ll always fill it to bulging point. Well done for getting on with it, while I still haven’t organised myself a shade tunnel which would make so much difference to what I could grow in summer! I have ‘sort of’ decided where I could put a small tunnel and even thought of a way of constructing it without actually buying a frame – my problem is I don’t have ‘a golfer’!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Cathy says:

      You are quite right, Christina – certainly these days. Whenw e first came the old cedar greenhouse was perhaps 8 x 14 but I hardly used it as I was out at work and the tomatoes I grew never produced tomatoes as it was too shady (as I eventually worked out!). Sorry about your lack of Golfer – do you not feel you could tackle a tunnel yourself?

  10. Cathy congratulations on the new greenhouse. Coton Manor are beautiful gardens and thanks for the link. Your photos are beautiful. Greetings from Margarita.

  11. johnvic8 says:

    I think you married a Saint instead of a Golfer

  12. Cathy says:

    What a great buy, Cathy. I bought my previous two greenhouses in England secondhand, but sadly they don’t seem to go in for that kind of thing here. I also enjoyed to visit to Coton Manor! Thanks for sharing your successful trip – you’ll fill that greenhouse double quick, I’m sure!

    • Cathy says:

      As long as you overlook that our small second one was dismantled and this one modified and erected in just a few days…. 😉 When you see what’s available on eBay it makes you wonder why people would consider buying one hundreds of pounds more though – well, those of a practical nature would certainly be less likely to do so. Hope yours get completed before next summer…

Something to say after reading this?

