End of Month View: August Beckons

The last few months have been stuffed with so many dates, particularly with the garden openings and a baby due, that I hadn’t really looked beyond the end of July – and all of a  sudden we are in August with a full month in the garden and very few dates on the calendar! Looking back at photographs from the end of July last year, it was noticeable that the garden is more lush and blowsy now than it was then, and possibly a little more colourful. There are generally more plants in the borders than before, I suppose, although not in the cutting beds which are laid out in exactly the same way although admittedly there are some extra dahlias in big pots. With another fairly dry summer, it has certainly not been wetter than last year either, although July was not quite as sunny as in 2016. Regardless of comparisons, there is still plenty of summer to come in the garden!

Have a look for yourselves, with views not in the slideshow format this month so the pictures are bigger – and don’t forget you can check out a map of the garden under The Garden tab above, to see where everything fits into the garden as a whole. Finally, although Helen the Patient Gardener no longer hosts this EOMV meme, I am still grateful to her for instigating this monthly record.

From the back of the house

Shrub border and partially revamped path

Shrub border from the other end (with the Golfer filling the bird feeders!)

The woodland

Main herbaceous borders from the bothy chimney

The borders from ground level, the hostas still looking good

Bronze heuchera bed and clematis colonnade

Woodland edge border, the mid-hedge fille out after its pruning last year

Woodland edge border from the other end

Bold border #1

Bold border #2

Bold border #3

Cutting beds…

….and more cutting beds

Blue & white borders

Very bare rose garden

Clematis Prince George and C Mary Rose on the colonnade

Through the colonnade to the main borders again

The snowdrop border in summer, looking back towards the house

This entry was posted in cutting beds, End of Month View, Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to End of Month View: August Beckons

  1. Christina says:

    Oh Cathy it does look so lovely and lush and full. There are so many lovely intriguing spaces.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – there are still non-performers amonst the lushness though! I am pleased with how the ‘spaces’ have turned out because any straight lines are balanced by irregular shapes and informal areas

  2. Cathy her garden is beautiful. It has so many corners with beautiful flowers and beautiful trees and ferns. I love the Clematis and the cut beds and everything. It is a unique and divine garden. Greetings from Margarita.

  3. You have a lot of blooming plants. The garden looks lush.

  4. Pauline says:

    My roses are having a rest too.Your garden is looking lovely, so lush and happy with all the rain lately. I think this July has been better than last year as far as flowers are concerned. You have so much lovely colour in your garden, it is a joy to see it all.

    • Cathy says:

      I am wondering whether to replace my Zepherin Drouhin and Guinee in the rose garden with roses that bloom for longer. Danse de Feu and Parkdirector, however, have barely stopped. I will be interested to see hw much colour there is at the end of this month, compared to other years

      • Brian Skeys says:

        I have a fairly new Zepherin in the garden which is struggling to do much. I read the other day that it is the least favourite Rose of Michael Marriott technical manager at David Austin roses!

        • Cathy says:

          Thst’s interesting to hear, Brian. They don’t owe me anything as they have been there 13 years or so, including a change of location, and as I knew next to nothing about roses at the time I didn’t really ‘choose’ them. They do OK in the first fkush but perhaps i will email DA and see what alternatives they suggest

  5. Heyjude says:

    Looks gorgeous and so lush! I am so excited to be able to return home at the end of this week after a very traumatic July and see what is happening in my garden. I suspect it will be overgrown with nasturtiums and lots of annual weeds!!

    • Cathy says:

      Oh Jude, I do hope the trauma has eased but I wonder of it has far reaching consequences too 😦 At least nasturtiums are pretty – and colourful!

      • Heyjude says:

        Nasturtiums flourishing – dark red, orange and even some yellow ones! Weeds not so bad except for the bindweed which has gone mad. Sweet peas still flowering too, but something has eaten the beans 😦
        The boy is doing well, eating much better so hopefully he will gain some of the three stone lost fairly quickly. Walking still tires him out, but I think he overdoes it. Life will not be the same that is for sure, but he seems to be coping much better with it now.

        • Cathy says:

          I do hope ‘the boy’ continues with his recovery and that although life will not be the same it will still be full of joy for you and your family, Jude. Your garden will at least be colourful with those nasturtiums so perhaps you won’t notice the bindweed so much amongst their blooms!

  6. Beautiful! Love your brick paths. 🙂

  7. Anca Tîrcă says:

    A very beautiful garden, congratulations, Cathy!

  8. Your garden is looking gorgeous. I love all your little spaces. x

  9. I love that there’s always something interesting to look at around every corner. 🙂

  10. Anna says:

    Oh those cutting borders have certainly filled out over the last few weeks Cathy. What riches!

    • Cathy says:

      Haven’t they just – I am still in awe of their colour and productivity and love them for their appearance regardless of whether I cut them 😉

  11. Annette says:

    It sure looks awesome, Cathy, no wonder Karen was delighted. Wish I could come over and see it too. Love your bold borders especially no. 3. What’s the name of that dark red pelargonium? Looking pretty in those pots. What intrigues me most of all is how you’ve created so many different rooms on such a small bit of land. Very inspiring 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – it is hard to be objective about your own garden! Some visitors described it as being like a Tardis 😉 I am not sure about the pelargoniums as they were bought as a filler a few years ago without any intention of overwintering them – but they ae still here and I have grown fond of them! They might be Lord Bute

      • Annette says:

        Is that as in time machine? Only word google came up with. Above all we must love our gardens and I think we do 🙂

        • Cathy says:

          Yes, for the Tardis – from the Doctor Who series, which from the outside was an old fashioned Police Emergency box, but the inside was huge! And yes, it is important we love our gardens regardless of what others think 😊

  12. Joanna says:

    So beautiful! Your gardens are amazing! 🙂

  13. Steve says:

    Are you planning to host EoMV now? I would but my travels mean I am frequently away at the critical moments.

    • Cathy says:

      With IAVOM I don’t think I would want to host another meme as I take the responsibility seriously, replying to comments and following up all links. With EOMV, I suspect it is something many of us would do even without anyone hosting as it is such a good way of keeping a record – I certainly think so, anyway

  14. Steve says:

    Om the other hand I could always create a place holder when I was unable to do the EoMV

Something to say after reading this?

