Wordless Wednesday: Squatters’ Rights

This entry was posted in Gardens, Wildlife, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Squatters’ Rights

  1. Jacqueline. says:

    Un bel hôtel à insectes qui fonctionne !
    Bonne journée

  2. Cathy is a very comfortable and comfortable hotel for insects. A detail in the garden. Greetings from Margarita.

  3. You have a lot of activity in your bee keep. Ours is busy in early spring then I don’t see much action around it. Great photos. I have tried to get photos of my bees going in and out. I know it isn’t easy. They are quick.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Lisa – this was pure chance as I had gone to take a picture to show the leaf filled hole alongside the others so the bee activity was a bonus!

  4. patseewald says:

    Never seen one of these before. Kinda neat looking.

  5. Brilliant capture … I’ve seen the evidence of leaf cutter bees in my own garden, but I’ve never caught them cutting or found where they live.

    • Cathy says:

      Likewise – and this contraption for red mason bees has only been there this year so I don’t know where the leaf cutters were nesting before. It was interesting that they had nibbled one of the tubes to fit the leaf, rather than the other way round which is what they would normally do!

  6. Noelle says:

    I left my bee hotels in Kenilworth…and would love to set new ones up. Would you kindly let us know which these are? The cells are very consistent and obviously attractive to different types of bees. Thanks.

    • Cathy says:

      These came from http://www.masonbees.co.uk and are designed for red mason bees but some leafcutters have moved in too as you can see from the photos. For a reasonable sum the co. provides the nesting and release boxes and cocoons. At the end of the season you send the tubes back and they store the new cocoons over winter and send them out again in the spring, with new tubes. This is my first year – do read back on my blog and look at their website

  7. Brian Skeys says:

    It must be rewarding to see it being used Cathy.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, but I was happier with the 5 red mason tenants (although good to see where my rose leaves go to as I have never found where they have nested before)!

Something to say after reading this?

