In a Vase on Monday: Patience

I could probably have come up with a butterfly themed title for today’s IAVOM, as the sweet peas (mostly Heirloom Mix) hovering amongst the single head of Hydrangea arborescens ‘Annabelle’ look remarkably like butterflies; but no, patience was needed to resist cutting from the cutting beds, as you might have read in yesterday’s post, so Patience it is.

I had to Google to remind myself of the name of the particular game of Patience (Solitaire to US readers) that I dealt myself, one of several I used to play frequently throughout my teens and probably earlier, as I had forgotten what it was called. This version is called ‘Kings’ and requires 4 cards to be dealt from which you remove the lowest of each suit (in this case the Jack of Clubs) until you can’t remove any more. An empty space can be filled with any of the other top cards, ideally a King as the object is to end up with 4 Kings in a row, and a fresh set of 4 dealt on top. The game continues until you have 4 Kings or, more likely, you are stuck as it very rarely works out, but at least it is quick to play.

I knew I wanted a fairly ‘low’ container with a large neck for these blooms but tried several before I remembered this bowl which usually has some very elderly pot pourri in it – perhaps I can replace it with some fresher contents once Monday’s arrangement is past its best! The blooms are supported in the bowl in a frog ‘cage’ (not a caged frog!), hence the need for a wide necked vase. I love the green glaze with its slightly graduated shades on this bowl, one I picked up from some antique fair or car boot sale probably.

Seeing what other bloggers can find in their gardens or forage nearby to pop into their Monday vases is always exciting and eagerly anticipated: what will it be this week? Please do share yours with us if you can by leaving the usual links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

89 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Patience

  1. Jacqueline. says:

    Un très joli bouquet…bien romantique : bravo !

  2. Inspired use of the hydrangea head – they look wonderful.

  3. Beautiful and love the playing cards.

    • Cathy says:

      Sadly I am usually too busy to play patience these days, with real cards, that is, as I do usually play one game on my laptop most days, unlike when I was working and it was regular diversionary tactic when I was avoiding planning lessons! 😉

  4. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – out of water! | Duver Diary

  5. jenhumm116 says:

    A lovely vase, and yes, I too love the playing cards.
    Here’s mine, a terrible cheat this week!
    https://duverdiary.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-out-of-water/

  6. Beautiful combination of Vase and flower colours. Very striking. Here is my weeks Vase In a Vase on Monday – Poppy and Verbena | The Evergreen Diary
    https://theevergreendiary.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-poppy-and-verbena/

  7. A sweet bouquet this Monday. The rich color of the peas blend well with the vase. Annebelle is doing a good job propping up the peas. Happy IAVOM.

  8. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Spot the Difference! | Words and Herbs

  9. Cathy says:

    Lovely flowers and a beautiful vase – I love that shape too. Your playing cards are perfectly fitting for a gardener! Here is my vase for today Cathy: https://wordsandherbs.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-spot-the-difference/
    Have a lovely week!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – you can get so many different packs of these cards, from castles to Christmas carols, but yes, I chose these ones specially!

  10. I love the colors in the green vase and the floral playing cards. I thought the Sweet Peas were Pansies, love the jewel tones and wish I could catch a bit of the scent. My neighbor has a dog named Patience, a pit bull at that, but very nice. I play computer Solitaire and have not heard of Kings, though Solitaire is enough of a challenge for me. Here is my vase https://theshrubqueen.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-semi-tropical/

    • Cathy says:

      It’s good to get a surprise whiff of sweet peas when you are not expecting them, isn’t it? There are dozens of different Patience/Solitaire games, some easier than others – good to have a bit of a balance though as ideally you want it to be at least a little challenging!

      • Years ago an English friend brought a pack of sweet peas seeds to us. No luck with those, Sweet Peas are something I dream about.

        • Cathy says:

          There is a variety called Winter Sunshine that has been bred to flower earlier in the year – Christina in Italy tried those this year as it would be too hot for them in summer. Worth a try for you, or just carry on dreaming…?!

  11. pbmgarden says:

    A striking arrangement. Your sweet peas are rich in color and do seem to be fluttering above. Love the playing cards too. Thanks for hosting our Monday vases Cathy!
    https://pbmgarden.blog/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-summer-bouquet/

  12. Noelle says:

    You’ve come up trumps again both with the theme, and flowers. We have indeed had so many butterflies around the garden….and its like your ‘butterfly’ sweet peas are hovering around the main blossom. I couldn’t come up with a theme, but wanted to celebrate some favourites: http://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2017/07/in-vase-on-monday.html

  13. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday Winter Scent – Absent Gardener

  14. Cath says:

    Beautiful vase and flowers, and the cards are lovely too. I have collected some glass frogs, and have always used them for holding pencils. I will have to figure out how to use them with flowers. Here is my vase:
    https://absentgardener.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-monday-winter-scent/

  15. Peter/Outlaw says:

    A clever use of the hydrangea and the cards are delightful. The sweet scent of sweet peas transports me to special gardens of my youth. Must remember to plant some next year. I also cheated horribly this week. https://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2017/07/in-vase-on-monday-cheating-again.html

    • Cathy says:

      Not so long ago I didn’t really give sweet peas enough attention for them to be a success, but have got the hang of them now, apart from not yet picking them often enough!

  16. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Lovely combination, thanks for sharing this beautiful bouquet, Cathy! Here is my vase:https://timpingradina.blogspot.ro/2017/07/in-vase-on-monday-summer-orange.html

  17. Oh my Cathy how lovely….I adore Sweet Peas and hydrangea. I did not know that Solitaire was called Patience. A wonderful name for the game.

    My vase is sentimental and very simple in remembrance of a loved one who passed recently. I am sure I will have other vases in her honor as well. Hope you like it….

    http://gardenseyeview.com/2017/07/10/a-coordinated-balance/

  18. Beautiful combination and I loved the look at your cutting beds. What a luxury to be able have such a wide grouping of plants to cut from. My vase is here: http://eachlittleworld.typepad.com/each_little_world/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Linda – they are not very big cutting beds, but it’s surprising how much you can cram in. Each type perhaps has about 1sq ft of space, so not a lot!

  19. Pingback: Summer gardens from the RHS Hampton Court Flower Show: Final5 Retreat Garden – Susan Rushton

  20. Looks like a mass of colorful butterflies on the hydrangea bloom! Pretty.

  21. Pingback: In a Vase on a Monday: Raindrops keep falling on my head… | Annettes Garten / Annette's Garden

  22. Annette says:

    I’m not a player but as always I love the way you display your vase, Cathy, so fresh. Delighted to be able to share a vase with you today. I really should do it more often as the whole process of working out what and where and how is most enjoyable. It’s then that I understand why some people do these one-picture-a-day-projects as it really gets you thinking…and spinning! Your butterflies are very pretty. My sweet peas didn’t flower very long, I think they do not appreciate hot, dry summers… true ‘English roses’ perhaps 😉 Have a fab week! https://personaleden.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-a-monday-raindrops-keep-falling-on-my-head/

    • Cathy says:

      Oh definitely, Annette, the whole process is a joy in itself. Considering how dry it has been this year I am surprised at how well the sweet peas are stll flowering, although admittedly they do get watered perhaps once or twice a week. I have certainly watered more this year than usual, with the garden openings to consider 😉

  23. Kris P says:

    It’s a delightful vase and a great use of those charming sweet peas. It’s hard for me to envision sweet peas in July – just another example of the great difference in our climates I suppose. I love those playing cards too! The heat is making for a stingier supply of flowers in my garden but of course I found some: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/07/in-vase-on-monday-what-to-do-with.html

    Thanks for hosting, Cathy!

  24. Eliza Waters says:

    Pure sweet pea heaven! The scent must be lovely.
    My vase this week: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-1PZ

  25. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Such a sweet post! I’m determined to get back in the swing of things with my blog so here’s to IAVOM!!!
    https://lindylecoq.wordpress.com/

  26. Patsi says:

    So I’m looking and thinking “I know that flower ” but it just wouldn’t come to me so your label did the trick ….Sweet peas. I wonder how long they can live inside regardless it’s a keeper. Loving the colors ! Did I understand right ? No linking back to you on ” In A Vase Monday” posts ?

    • Cathy says:

      They will usually last a good few days in a vase, Patsi. With IAVOM we like to encourage others to create a vase for their own pleasure whether or not they share it with others – but of course we love it when people do choose to link to the post so we can see and read about their creations. We have learned such a lot that way

  27. mithriluna says:

    What a lovely bouquet! And the cards are so charmingly cute. Maybe if I had a deck like that, I would play cards more often. I do have a bouquet I picked today but I haven’t taken the picture yet or written the post Will be working on it shortly. 🙂

  28. Sharon says:

    I’m a recent convert to the hydrangea fan club and currently looking for space to shoe-horn them into. Lovely vase of sweet peas – I’d have not thought to combine the two, that’s inspired. Here’s my offering http://lifeonalondonplot.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-on-a-monday-glad-all-over

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sharon. I am not a fan of all hydrangeas, but Annabelle is gorgeous and now well established in a challenging spot so she must be happy

  29. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Simple Beauty – Momdeavor

  30. Pingback: The Warwickshire Gardener

  31. Your sweetpeas are delightful Cathy and the playing cards almost as pretty. I am back to sharing a bit more colour this week after my monochrome vase last week: https://warwickshiregardener.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/3146/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Eleanor – I did play a few games of Patience after I had written my post, but none of them worked out. It was good to look through the cards though and see which flowers I recognised 😉

      • I suppose it’s one of those games that’s more about the playing than the winning, hence teaching you the virtue of patience! I was introduced to it via the computer version of the 1990s (preferring that to Minesweeper which was the only other pre-loaded game in those times). Though I think the idea of being patient is somewhat negated when you can start an entirely new game at the click of a button!

        • Cathy says:

          My current computer favourite is Freecell which I do stick at till I solve it even if it involves undoing it and stsrting over and over – only a handful have defeated me!

  32. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Spiked | Frogend dweller's Blog

  33. Those sweetpeas are my favourite colours. I love your vase too: great shape and a wonderful mossy green. Very nice!
    My vase can be found here: http://wp.me/pM8Y1-5MJ

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you – I think I need to be more choosy about my sweet peas next year, but these ones are certainly a good mix and I like them too.

  34. This post is awesome and I like the idea. Do you mind if we collaborate with this challenge I would love to participate if that’s ok with you 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Anyone is free to join in Adaku – just pick something from your garden or forage locally and pop it in a vase so you can enjoy it inside as well as out. Leave links from your post to mine, and vice versa so we can share in the pleasure you get from your vase.

  35. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Black-Eyed Susans | pegplant

  36. Cathy, such a beautiful vase, full of vibrant colors. I like the playing card tie in as well. It all looks like an invitation for a summer evening playing cards outdoors (once the mosquitoes have retired for the night of course).

  37. smallsunnygarden says:

    Your sweet peas really do look butterfly-like and I’m sure they smell marvelous! Love those playing cards; if I had cards that pretty perhaps I would enjoy games more? Just a thought… 😉 My vase is brighter than last week as a rose actually decided to bloom! https://www.smallsunnygarden.com/2017/07/10/in-a-vase-a-cupful-of-summer/

  38. Alyse says:

    Cathy–that combination is sweeeet. Anabelle and that luscious color of sweet pea, so perfect for each other. I do love a combination of just two (as is my vase this Monday). Where did you get those cards?! I’ve never seen anything like that here (west coast US).
    Here’s my vase…and a wish for the simple pleasures… http://lansinggardendesign.com/blog/2017/7/11/iavm-oakleaf-hydrangea-and-eucalyptus

    • Cathy says:

      Sorry but I missed this comment last week Alyse – I am usually pretty thorough! A whole range of themed cards like these are available in the UK – perhaps have a look on eBay?

    • Cathy says:

      Monochrome vases are so subtly effective, aren’t they? Your little vase is perfect for the contents and the glass additions enhance the effect all the more. Thanks for joining in and apologies again for not catching up with you sooner

      • Alyse says:

        Thanks, Cathy. No problem! And I do love the monochrome, or duo-chrome…if that’s a thing :). Were there any issues with my website (blog, comments)?

        • Cathy says:

          There is suxh a word, but I tend to think of white and green in a vase as monchrome – as most foliage is green! No problems with the blog and comments, just that I was trying to respond on my tablet and some WordPress blogs don’t come up with the ‘robot’ checks to verify comments from a tablet and the comment would just disappear. I sent mine later in the day from my laptop. As I like to respond to all comments my Mondays are really busy and sometimes comments that arrive later or on Tuesday (in UK time) might get overlooked for a while as I tend to have a rest from my blog for most of Tuesday! Normally I am very prompt replying and visiting other IAVOM posts

          • Alyse says:

            Well now that makes sense! (Hoo boy on the All Day Monday for IAVOM, and I guess that makes sense too. I can barely keep up; I don’t know how you do it! I’m your admirer for it, as it’s a lovely meme, BECAUSE of the life you give it.)

  39. Pingback: Monday’s vase with rose, hydrangea and rowan – Doing The Plan

  40. Hi Cathy, yesterday’s trip to Edinburgh took rather longer than anticipated. In fact we were out all day and the weather was miserable. However, I did enjoy driving past signs for places I remember from my young days – brought back a lot of happy memories. It’s been brilliantly sunny here today so I couldn’t miss the opportunity to get out into the garden and do some much needed work. Which is why it has taken me this long to check out your vase for this week. So glad I did, it’s beautiful. Love the combination of sweet peas with the head of hydrangea. You’ve reminded me that I’ve seen very few flowers on mine this year. I have four plants and none have flowered – must be doing something wrong. Back to your arrangement – it looks perfect in the little green bowl. The cards are lovely too. My grandmother taught me to play patience but never that game. One to learn I think. Here’s my link again just so that it’s in the right post: https://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2017/07/in-vase-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      Hope the issue was satisfactorily dealt with though. What are your origins, Elizabeth? I was born in Edinburgh but left at 10 so have hazy memories!

  41. Anna says:

    Oh that’s a most attractive vase of flowers Cathy and a most apt title. Gardening certainly involves much patience. Shades of ‘Take That’ are echoing in my head and will no doubt continue to do so for a while. I was short of time to put a vase and post together yesterday whilst today’s wet weather has conspired against creating a late vase.

  42. I love how you’ve split up the hydrangea Annabelle. It looks so pretty

  43. Cathy a lovely green vase. A wonderful bouquet of flowers. The Odor Peas are divine and the white Hortensia is a special touch for the bouquet. I love. The cards in the deck are very nice. Greetings from Margarita.

Something to say after reading this?

