Hold Those Secateurs!

The cutting beds are just wonderful at the moment and I find myself just standing and gawping when I reach them on my rambles. No doubt aided by the higher than average quantity of sun and associated warmth we have experienced since May they are excelling themselves, awash with colour and abundance, everything blooming together in one long extended season. As I pass through the gate toward the fruit cage and greenhouses I am face with the first cutting bed on my right, with Alonsoa ‘Scarlet’, Larkspur ‘Sublime Dark Blue’ and some healthy dahlia foliage:

Next, just LOOK at these wonderful zinnias (‘Cactus Flowered’) – how I want to cut these for a vase! But no, I must patiently restrain my zinnia zeal as I want to show off these beds to my group visitors in the next week or two. I have had little success with zinnias before now but there is nothing wrong with this year’s attempt – HURRAH! They are shown here alongside Briza maxima, Antirrhinum ‘Overture Rose’ and Amaranthus viridis:

Behind them are first-time-of-sowing Leonotis leonara in both orange and white versions, just budding up, Calendula ‘Indian Prince’ and 4 different types of cosmos:

Next are various dahlias with Zinnia ‘Summer Bouquet’, Aster ‘Strawberry Crush’ and Antirrhinum ‘Admiral’s Purple’ to come:

More dahlias, bupleurium and Malope triffida ‘Vulcan’, with Antirrhinum ‘Royal Bride just creeping into the picture:

More dahlias, with sweet peas behind and Amaranthus caudatus in front, Godetia ‘Crown Mix’ not quite visible:

MORE dahlias and sweet peas:

And yet more dahlias, more sweet peas and Rudbeckia ‘Irish Eyes’ in the foreground, with Aster ‘Star Violet not quite in bloom – and a glimpse of the sunflowers:

And just LOOK at those sunflowers…! Italian White, Earth Walker, Ruby Eclipse and Vanilla Ice – all just lapping up that sunshine! Hold me back, hold those secateurs!!

 

This entry was posted in annuals, cutting beds, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Hold Those Secateurs!

  1. rickii says:

    This is what my cutting garden wants to be when it grows up!

    • Cathy says:

      It is excelling this year, rickii – I feel so blessed as essentially all I do is sow the seed and plant the tuber…the garden does the rest

  2. pbmgarden says:

    The cutting garden is delightful Cathy. The dahlias and sweet peas are thriving. Glad you had success with the zinnias too. My first one began to bloom this week.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks – and I am so excited about the zinnias, Susie, as they just haven’t performed for me before now. I am still not in a good habit of picking sweet peas regularly enough and sadly many of the flowering stems are quite short now

  3. Hi Cathy, gorgeous post. Your cutting garden is a credit to you. I wish I could say the same for mine but we went away on holiday and the neglect is now plain to see. I’ve trying to rescue it since we got back but deluge after deluge has not helped at all. I’m to early for your In A Vase on Monday today – something else I’ve neglected of recent weeks – but here’s my link in advance: https://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2017/07/in-vase-on-monday.html

    I’ll try to link in the right post later, if possible.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Elizabeth – I was quite pleased with the cutting beds last year but this year the dahlias were in bloom much earlier and then there are those zinnias! No deluges here at all, sadly – we could certainly do with some, even if they do temporarily flatten the cutting beds!

  4. What a riot of color. Seeing your cutting garden makes me want to plant, plant, plant….so I can snip snip snip. Yet, when I see that riot of color there I might would leave it for it is so beautiful.

    • Cathy says:

      When I first started having separate cutting beds I had not factored into it just how good the borders would look in themselves – they have certainly proved to be more than just functional and I love having them 🙂

  5. Gorgeous blooms. Your green thumb must extend up to your elbow. 🙂

  6. Cathy says:

    Wow, it’s fabulous Cathy! 🙂

  7. Peggy Riccio says:

    Susie at pbmgarden just told me about this so I posted it on my website https://pegplant.com/2017/07/11/in-a-vase-on-monday-black-eyed-susans/
    Great idea!

  8. Anna says:

    Oh it must be so so hard not to snip Cathy but the time will come 🙂 Zinnias are to me what dahlias were once to you. I intended to sow some in May but forgot to do so. Did you do anything different this year?

    • Cathy says:

      I went back to an April sowing – leaving it till May as I did last year meant they were only just flowering as the season was ending. I also pinched them out this time which I may not have done before

  9. I admire your patience Cathy! I too have struggled with Zinnia in the past and indeed was struggling with them again in the greenhouse this year until I lost my patience and stuck them in the ground, thinking they were far too small and wouldn’t survive. But they have loved it! Do you have any theories as to why you’ve been more successful this time?
    I love the green Amaranthus, I think this will have to be on my list for next year. Is it easy to grow?

    • Cathy says:

      I sowed them in early April this year, pinched out at a few inches high and planted them out relatively early – probably May (I have got it written down). The weather was so mild from early May though with no late frosts

    • Cathy says:

      And yes, both amaranthus were really easy to grow 😀

  10. Cathy’s cut beds overflow with beautiful flowers: they are magnificent. I could not bear to cut a few. Greetings from Margarita.

Something to say after reading this?

